We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Two stars for the food” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Via 70

Via 70
Ranked #7,633 of 9,333 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: $11 - $43
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: La Rambla
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
107 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Two stars for the food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

The only friendly person we encountered in this restaurant was the man out the front coaxing us in. We only saw him for a moment, after that it was just not a very pleasant experience at all. We wanted to sit outside but even the man with the menu admitted that the outdoor prices are much higher, telling us the same pizza eaten indoors would save us 5 euro!

The wine menu for a glass was terrible with very cheap wine at not so cheap prices.

A few selections for vegetarian...not many but the paella was nice.

We were really disappointed we stopped here, the waitresses were particularly unfriendly

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank MDSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    47
    57
    48
    192
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“'English people complain'”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

From the offset the waiters looked bored. Our 15 Euro calamari then came to the table absolutely freezing cold so sent that back... It was adequate but nothing special. When our mains arrived, two different varieties of paella and a pizza for the kids, my partner straight away questioned wether the food was fresh. It appeared to have been reheated. The pizza edible but crust rock solid. The paella was totally unconsumable so we left it after a few mouthfuls each. The waiter proceeded to inform us we didn't know what paella tasted like and that the only people who complain are English. They refused to give us anything off the uneaten meal and said they 'didn't care' if customers were left unhappy..... Great start to our break! The problem is they do not rely on customers returning as it's all about passing trade.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gingicles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tourist trap, bad service, bad food.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

My friend and I were looking for a place for dinner. Walking down La Rambla we randomly looked at menus when the waiter pretty much dragged us in! Say no, when they do... my friend was unwell so we kind of didn't care. The place looks quite nice, the dishes are below any take away though and very much overpriced. I had the most awful pizza I have ever eaten in my life and I am pretty sure 90 percent of their food is the cheapest frozen food heated up. When we wanted to pay we asked for the bill 3 times until they gave it to us, this is one of the worst places you could ever go. Don't! I am still furious for that rip off... go anywhere but there!!!!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steph13787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Yummy Paella”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

We happened across this outdoor restaurant and cafe while walking down Las Ramblas. We ordered a beer and got a huge serving! We enjoyed the tastiest seafood paella of our entire 10 day vacation. The service was good. Thoroughly enjoyed our meal and surroundings!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KatherineD4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Funen and Islands, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pricy considering what you get”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

Food was expensive, but below average in quality. I counted 4 small pieces of meat in my paella. The sangria was okay though. The restaurant is good looking and lures you in like the good turist trap it is. The service was average. Not recommendable!

Helpful?
Thank tohan08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Via 70 also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Via 70? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing