We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful museum”

Museu de Ciencies Naturals de Barcelona
Book In Advance
More Info
$51.02*
and up
Barcelona Card with Guidebook
Ranked #126 of 700 things to do in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a wonderful museum”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

My wife and I came upon this quite by chance. We are living in Barcelona for three months and are slowly exploring the various visitor options and experiences. Yesterday we decided to use the tram from Vila Olimpica for the first time, an interesting trip in itself, stayed on to the end of the line but decided to return a few stops to look at the new shopping centre at Forum and the fantastic Telefónica tower. We noticed the Museu Blau, but thought it looked closed. However, on closer inspection, it was open. And what a surprise. The exhibition 'Planeta Vida' is just superb, and a must for anyone who is the slightest bit interested in geology, natural history, the environment, the history of the planet, taxonomy etc. Intelligently laid out with excellent films and commentaries, we spent an enjoyable few hours at no cost because the museum is free on Sundays from 3 o'clock and all day on the first Sunday in the month.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mendes219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    68
    34
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great for a rainy day”
Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

What to do on a rainy day? This! Really cheap and well planned museum, great for kids. Amazing playgrounds outside if it brightens up.

Helpful?
Thank poiredamour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
170 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We went to see the relatively new 'Museu Blau' yesterday afternoon, since it's FREE every sunday between 3PM and 8 PM. We loved the 'creepy' cases with mounted animals and insects in formaldehyde. Also worth it for the big collection of precious stones.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank PoisonedIvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“susiedoop”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

A fantastic Natural History Museum. It takes you on a journey from the big bang to the formation of the earth as we know it. It is very interactive and has cool touch screens that are multi-lingual. There are even screens that you slide over exhibits to give more detailed information. There are cases of stuffed animals, birds and fish and they are set out to explain different types of animal behaviour. Worth at least two visits - which is what your tickets allows you to do!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Susiedoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

The permanent exhibitions are stunning. The exhibitions are professional, using the latest technology. The fossil and mineral displays are among the most impressive I've seen. The video interviews scattered throughout are very informative. Overall, really good. Too bad its so far away, but considering the low price, adding the bit for the metro is reasonable.

Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Museu de Ciencies Naturals de Barcelona also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Museu de Ciencies Naturals de Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing