We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Barcelona Turisme - Afternoon in Montserrat Tour
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Reviews (1,782)
Filter reviews
1,162 results
Traveler rating
810
275
66
7
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
810
275
66
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boys choir cable car day trip black madonna cog train rock formations views are spectacular tour bus julia travel monastery hike statue mass peak placa
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,162 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great way to get out of the city, Barcelona, and see the countryside. Montserrat is an unusual rock formation. We had a perfect weather day. The history of the Catholic Church is interesting. The boys choir was fantastic. Lunch was OK. Our touring partners made the day. A fun group led by a really great tour guide, Sandra. Our tour was done very well.

Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2018 via mobile

One of the best place not to be missed . Our guide was Mary who was well aware of history of this place , just love this place and the train trip

Thank Voyage_De_Plaisir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2018

This is an amazing experience. Serene and majestic. A location tat should not be missed when visiting Barcelona.

Thank copperbluey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2018 via mobile

I recommend this tour my dear friend.specially ,the magic fountain is a masterpiece which a combination of light , music and water.I really gave me a sense of pleasure.

1  Thank ktparsa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2018 via mobile

We took the bus tour from Placa de Catalunya up to Montserrat. Carlos Picasso was a bubbling fountain of information about both Barcelona and Montserrat. He also played appropriate music selections when not giving info. The rocks on the mountain are fantastic mystical shapes. We were lucky to also view a Good Friday mass in the ornate Basilica.

1  Thank caml77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2018

A multitude of rock formations that are very unique, pink conglomerate sedimentary rock.there is a museum with new and old collections, monasteries, and a hiking trail. The cafeteria and tourist store are a bit pricey with staff that are not very personable. We used the Julian travel tour services to organize the bus ride to the site, took the cog train down the mountain. This is a must do when in Barcelona....

2  Thank HomeSweetOmaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2018 via mobile

Absolutely incredible scenic hike to the peak. We’ve been there end of December and the weather was perfect, sunny and warm enough to just wear a sweater.

It was not so busy at this time and we saw quite some wildlife including wild pigs, mountain goats and a multitude of birds. We enjoyed it a lot

Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2017 via mobile

We joined a half day tour by Julia Travel (booked through Viator). Trip was well worth the 1.5 hour bus ride to the Montserrat. The view is stunning, looking at the natural rock formations. The tour guide explained the history of the Monastery which was interesting. At 12 o’clock when the Basilica opened to the public, we queued to view the image of the Black Madonna or Virgin of Montserrat (queue was fortunately quite short).

We then had 1.5 hours of free time. We decided to take a 20 minute walk to the cross at the edge of a cliff opposite the Monastery. The view there was fantastic and a perfect photo stop. The walk up can be slightly longer for some and it’s uphill - also take note of the SMALL sign on the left of the path indicating “Creu de San Miguel” - see picture. It’s very easy to miss the sign as the path continues uphill and there are many others who make the trip further up. I actually missed the sign and went up further for another 5 plus minutes before doubling back!

Overall a very enjoyable experience for the family. The tour was well organized and efficient - albeit there was little “personal touch”.

Thank JohnSG911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2017

The views up there are fantastic. However, that's kind of it. We toured the church for a bit, but there is not a ton to see. You can buy local cheese and honey from vendors outside. If we had more time, we could have ridden the venicular. Pretty views, but not much else, in my opinion.

1  Thank MTNKRISTIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2017

Religious and not religious people will always find this place interesting, mysterious and full of nature beauty. The unique stone forms within the heart of Barcelona province are magical and some people say that the Holy Grail is here. Even if you believe or not, it's exiting to feel the fresh air and the stones perfectly polished by the time. Enjoy your trip to Montserrat

Thank Sergio V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews