We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great B&B” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belle Epoque 1904

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barcelona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Belle Epoque 1904
Ranked #188 of 325 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
“A great B&B”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

This bed and breakfast is really nice. We had the Rose Room, which is more like a suite, with a good view. Beds are veryyy comfortable. The whole place is decorated with taste and a bit of luxury, and is clean.
The bathrooms are outside the rooms, but there are enough to make you feel you're not really sharing it with anyone. Again, they are comfortable and luxurious.
The breakfast is good - it's continental, there's a lot of choice, including fresh fruits. You can go for a snack and coffee anytime, which is nice.
The owners are very welcoming, and they're available to answer any question.
Building is impressive. The location is nice, quite central, in a good neighborhood, not too lively, but about 15 minutes walk from the more lively spots. La Rambla is 5 mins away.
The only drawback is the poor sound insulation. You can hear everything in rooms next to you.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 269anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    17
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
9
11
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

Just stayed here for four nights in the fresco room which was beautiful, comfy bed, beautiful decor and the private terrace really made it feel like our own little hideaway! Brilliant location and loved the fact that the breakfast was self service so you didn't have to wake up at any particular time. The room was a little noisy from the appartment above but it didn't bother us at all. You must stay here!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ikklejoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

(English translation below)
Primeramente, para entender la experiencia de alojarse en Belle Epoque,se debe hacer caso a la frase; alojarse allí. Podría pasar horas escribiendo sobre la maravilla estílistica o la máxima atención que nos ofrecieron Xavi y Milena, así que intentaré hacer un resumen ameno de leer.
Milena, ha recreado un trabajo excelente en el interiorismo del lugar, es una belleza clásica, sencilla, pero a su vez con muchísimo mimo, esto es evidente en casi cada uno de los rincones del B&B, un proyecto de restauración increíble ha dado como resultado una armonía y un equilibrio de estilos que dejan al viajero, y a mi personalmente sin palabras.
La limpieza es impecable, recuerdo el momento de meterme en la cama y el olor de las sabanas, frescas, preparadas para tí. El desayuno es un concepto muy libre, siempre hay alimentos de calidad preparados para madrugadores o para trasnochadores que no desean ser molestados por el estricto horario de algunos lugares.
En cuanto a la localización es inmejorable, realmente en el corazón de Barcelona, Pau Claris, una de las calles burguesas con más estilo de Barcelona. Mi novio y yo somos jóvenes, 25 años, hemos tenido mejores y peores experiencias en hoteles, hostales o B&B pero los dos estamos de acuerdo en señalar que Belle Epoque será un lugar que recordemos por mucho tiempo. Un lugar donde prácticamente nos gustaría vivir..¿Una desventaja? La cama era tan cómoda que algunas mañanas teníamos serios problemas para levantarnos!
Laura & Pieter ////
Firstly, to understand the experience of staying in Belle Epoque, it should heed the phrase; so you must stay there. I could spend hours writing about the great stylism or the attention offered by Xavi and Milena, so I'll try to summarize in a nice way to read.
Milena, has recreated an excellent job in the interior design of the place, is a classic beauty, simple, but in turn with a lot of class, this is evident in almost every corner of B & B. A restoration project has resulted in harmony and balance of styles that leave the traveler, and I include myself speechless.
The cleanliness is impeccable, I remember when I went to bed the smell of sheets fresh, ready for you. The breakfast is a very free concept,quality food is always prepared to early risers or night owls who do not want to be bothered by the strict schedule of the place where you are sleeping.
As for the location is unbeatable, really in the heart of Barcelona, Pau Claris, one of the most stylish bourgeois streets of Barcelona. My boyfriend and I are young, 25 years, we had best and worst experiences in hotels, hostels or B & B but we both agree in stating that Belle Epoque 1904 will be a place to remember for long. A place where we'd practically live .. Any downside? The bed was so comfortable that some mornings we had serious problems getting up! Laura & Pieter

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 49Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenero, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

"Lovely apartment, great location in the city center of Barcelona"
Great room, amazing building.
Main sites reachable in few minutes by walking.
The only thing we can say in negative is about breakfast, very poor and we had to prepare everything.
No owners untill 10.30-11am every day we stayed there. So if you need help before this hour you must call them at the telephone.

Room Tip: The Fresco room is the best one, also the Rose room is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lodovico A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyprus
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

Just came back from a 10 day stay at this lovely bed and breakfast! Lovely building, great room, very clean, in a very nice and safe neibourhood which is very important in this city..
The only negative was the lack of internet. They had Wi Fi but most of the times wasn't working. Oh, and it's a non-smoking building so if you want to smoke you should go downstairs which is a problem if you are addicted to smoking like my friends. The other think is that the rooms are not sound-proof and we could hear the couple in the next room doing their stuff, so you need earplugs if you don't want to hear anything.
The very positive think is that you can have breakfast anytime you wake up, the beds were great, the hosts were absolutely great with us and we would definititely go back again...
Thank you Milena and Xavi!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simelaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

I stayed at Belle Epoque in September and loved it. As a single woman traveller, I was keen to stay in a safe area of Barcelona (even though - or precisely because - I know Barcelona well, having lived there a few years ago). The Eixample is a wonderful area, the building is amazing and the flat is just lovely! My room was spacious enough for one person and the whole flat was immaculately clean - the bathrooms are high-spec with very good showers. Everyone was very helpful and since the room was already free, I was even able to check-in early. As a coffee-addict, it was good to have a dining area equiped with a Nespresso machine to get good coffee (a fridge and microwave were also available to guests). A great place to stay in a fantastic city, and a must for any fans of 'Modernismo' out there.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DidiRW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

Beautiful building in a great location - very handy for city centre and some of the main sights. Both owners were extremely friendly and welcoming. Unfortunately another girl who works there was quite rude, but the owners were lovely.
The downside was that we requested a private bathroom but didn't realise it was not connected to the room - we had a key so did have private access to it, but would have liked to have been told ahead of time that it was down the hall. A bit annoying having to keep locking and unlocking the bathroom door - leaving it unlocked meant it was seen by other guests as a public bathroom.
Also, I guess there is no sound-proofing as you can hear every single noise from the corridor - some fellow guests were particularly noisy at 6am a few times - fine if you're an early riser but the noise meant getting back to sleep was impossible.
Very much a home away from home feel - breakfast is self service and you are given keys for apartment and main building door. If you want independence and something cosy, this is perfect, but expect a no-frills stay.

Room Tip: Cotton room has no bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lily_D1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Omm
Hotel Omm
#60 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Royal Passeig de Gracia
Eixample
Hotel Actual
Hotel Actual
#171 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Alcam Paseo de Gracia
Alcam Paseo de Gracia
#531 of 760 in Barcelona
3.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Eixample
Hostalin Barcelona Passeig de Gracia
Eixample
Quartprimera Apartments
Quartprimera Apartments
#53 of 760 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belle Epoque 1904? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belle Epoque 1904

Property: Belle Epoque 1904
Address: Carrer Pau Claris, 161, 08037 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #188 of 325 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Belle Epoque 1904 Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing