We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
MEAM Museu Europeu d'Art Modern
Open today: 11:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience MEAM Museu Europeu d'Art Modern
from $56.06
More Info
Reviews (349)
Filter reviews
349 results
Traveler rating
226
81
22
13
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
226
81
22
13
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews modern art picasso museum permanent collection small museum paintings and sculptures grand salon blues jazz fantastic museum great works ticket price worth a visit figurative realistic nudes concert century photographs
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 349 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2018

Museum situated in a very interestingly looking building - there's much more to lay eye on than just canvases. Generally paintings show a great asset of artists technical skills, most of them are portraits what makes the exhibition accessible for everyone.
Museum itself isn't big, however its size is just right for visitors to keep attention and get satisfied. Stuff is very friendly - I appreciated listening Olafur Arnalds music when contemplating art pieces, thank you MEAM for making my birthday even more special ;) Would certainly recommend it to everyone.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank Dominika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2018

We were here at the opening so almost all alone. We really enjoyed the museum - and the building is beautiful. Only be aware that the museum is a really small one.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Oslo-travelmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2018 via mobile

We visit this small museum every time we are in Barcelona.
The exhibits are well worth a visit as is the building itself.
It is located very close to the Picasso museum.
It does not have large crowds so one can easily enjoy the artworks in peace.

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank Belgiananddane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2018 via mobile

Being a lover of contemporary art I had high hopes for this place based on previous reviews. However, on reading the pretentious statements on the walls of the stairs leading into the exhibition my expectations dropped... "We must achieve a language to create a genuine art of our century. And this we have not yet achieved"...certainly not if the contents of this place are anything to go by. It is essentially a portrait gallery with a little bit of sculpture. Some of the hyper-realism paintings are great but most are very very dull indeed, sometimes bordering on kitsch. There were so many fuzzy nudes it sometimes felt like I'd walked into a live 'Mills & Boon' book cover. I also couldn't bear the 'musak' being pumped in throught the gallery. I'm a classical musician by trade and whilst I like a bit of minimalism, with no context or information of what was playing, it all sounded a bit 'beige' and added nothing to the enjoyment of the art. If you're a lover of contemporary art, give this place a miss and visit MACBA or CCCB instead - they both do it SO much better than this place which delivers quantity over substance and with its choices dominated by someone with questionable and incredibly conservative taste...

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2018

we bought a pass for this musee as its small and interesting and fun. the art is modern and exhbits are changed often to keep it interesting. Nice intimate spot for classical music on Saturdays and Jazz/blues on Fridays at 6 for a very reasonable fee. friendly staff and nice cava available at the shows.

Date of experience: June 2018
2  Thank magnamosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews