We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come here and leave happy.”
Review of Churreria Laietana

Churreria Laietana
Ranked #1 of 216 Dessert in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: El Born / La Ribera
toronto, canada
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Come here and leave happy.”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We had a snack at this place on the way to the Palau Musica. Am I ever glad we stopped by. It's a small mom and pop operation with delicious food & drinks. We had the churros, the porras (fat churros with no ridges), hot chocolate and orange juice. The churros and porras were made on site. Super fresh. Goes fantastic with the hot chocolate that's super thick. Dunk 'em in, have a bite. Bliss. The oj was squeezed fresh from real oranges.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank julia1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    357
    66
    17
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Now I understand churros”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I never understood churros, nor thick hot chocolate before this experience. This made it all fall into place. Fresh crispy churros dipped into hot, thick but not overly sweet chocolate drink and I was hooked. Still dreaming about it. Don't expect a fancy setting, just a great spot without frills.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JoLeeT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic churros”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Part of my mission during my visit to Barcelona was to chow down on some churros. I came across Churreria Laietana; a heaven-sent, hole-in-the-wall dive on the prominent Via Laietana. The staff were very friendly despite our language barriers. The kindly lady told me the price in Spanish. I helplessly started to fish out some Euros,and then she wrote down the price on a napkin and held it up to me.

I could tell this was an authentic place. Wizened old men, that seemed like regulars came in and ordered the fried doughy sticks of goodness. After I polished off the churros I shamelessly scooped up the remaining melted chocolate with my spoon. That’s a testament to how delicious it was.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveljunky973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“The best thing about Barcelona!”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This place is incredible. They seem to only cook different varieties of churro and hot drinks, which they churn out all day. There are just two people working in this nondescript churreria. I don't think they speak English, and certainly most of the people in their spoke Spanish. Hunt this place down, it is amazing, after one serve you won't want to stop.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank roopinoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Authentic, tiny churro shop.”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Easy to miss little shop that always has a few locals inside. Amazingly good churros for next to nothing. The hot chocolate is incredible too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Woosley00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Churreria Laietana also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Churreria Laietana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing