We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for a quick breakfast”

Il Caffe Di Francesco
Ranked #3,427 of 9,411 Restaurants in Barcelona
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Eixample
Dublin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good for a quick breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

Visited this cafe twice for breakfast while in Barcelona as it was close to our hotel. Good selection of pastries and nice freshly squeezed (expensive) orange juice. A lot of locals seemed to be eating here as well which is always a good sign.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank qwijybo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    82
    40
    24
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View, Arkansas
Level Contributor
1,170 reviews
597 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 524 helpful votes
“Capuccinos were rather weak”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

My wife and I stopped in at Il Caffe de Francesco in the late afternoon for a couple of capuccinos. The service was quick but the capuccinos were really weak. A lot stronger milk than coffee flavor.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Razorfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“yummy hot chocolate”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

We visited this place a number of times and really liked it. They serve nice coffee and cakes, and a yummy hot chocolate. The staff were friendly and the service was very fast. It's a busy place, so no frills, but we thought it was perfect for a quick coffee at a reasonable price.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TomAndMarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanjarke, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Il Caffe Di Francesco, responded to this review, August 26, 2015
Dear costumer,

We are pleased to hear your comments.
Thanks for commenting, it’s always good to know what our clients think about our service and food.

Welcome back anytime. We will be happy to serve you again.

All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Ripped Off?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

Watch out for this one. I submit this review almost two weeks after visiting the place and I still feel very, very incensed at the treatment I received there.

It is not often that I leave a cafe or restaurant feeling as if I have been robbed, but that is how I felt about this place, so much so that I refused to pay the bill until the police were called.

Despite the staff making play of calling the police, the police never arrived, for whatever reason, and suddenly the staff no longer spoke any English other than to decry foreigners who could not speak Spanish.

Eventually we had to pay and leave. After we paid, English was suddenly back on the menu again as the staff grinned and sneered at our departure.

As soon as we returned to our accommodation, we emailed the head office of this company expressing our very grave concerns about our perceived treatment. Their head office did not feel that tour concerns warranted any sort of a reply.

A one off, unfortunate personal experience? Maybe. But a walk of a couple of dozen yards will take you to several other competitor cafes where, for example you could buy an ice cold drink laced with spirits for around 1/3rd the price this place charged us for an identical drink without spirits.

Our iced drinks cost 9 euros without liquor, despite their menu price apparently showing 7 euros with liquor. We could readily get them liquor free nearby for 3 euros.

Barcelona was a great place to be, with lost of interesting things. How sad that this place is one of the strongest memories of our trip to this great city.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Avery-Little
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Caffe Di Francesco also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Il Caffe Di Francesco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing