We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful way to learn about Barcelona History” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barcelona Time Detectives Tour - CLOSED

Barcelona Time Detectives Tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Is it a tour? Is it a game? Is it theater? It's all of these things and more: Explore the charming Gothic backstreets of the city, and meet famous characters from Barcelona’s history, played by professional actors. Listen as they tell you their tale and be entranced as they bring history to life. But take care – within their story lies the clues that will lead you to your next destination and your ultimate goal- the villainous Time Bandit.This is a treasure hunt with a twist! Tours last 3 hours and are based in the centre of Barcelona. See the website for more information
Sidney, Ohio, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful way to learn about Barcelona History”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

This was the first tour we took on a trip to the Western Med. We had a group of 16 people who took this tour, split into 4 groups. It was fun and the information helped explain Barcelona history in a way no other tour could. The actors were fun to engage with. Ben and his team were awesome. The tour is not exhausting and we learned to navigate the old part of town. Most tours feature Gaudi and Las Ramblas but there is so much more to Barcelona (we learned through the Time Bandits).
When we returned to Barcelona at the end of our trip, we called Ben for another tour to Figueres and the Dali museum. Our other guide had blown up on us and Ben graciously agreed to help us through the day trip to Figueres. We not only learned more about Catalonia but also got a short lesson on being an American actors in Spain and the movie industry.
Don't miss an opportunity to engage this troupe. Its a blast and they are great people.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Murrieta, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Engaging Interactive History”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

Our family had a Fabulous time today enjoying the history of Barcelona, portrayed in an engaging and interactive way. Ben and his crew of actors were able to reformulate history in what people often find distant in book format, to an experience where history literally comes to life.

Not only are the actors well-versed in their roles but the plot was interesting, including (to our family) some surprising twists. And the venue of the Barri Gotic is simply unbeatable as a backdrop.

An excellent tour, which was enjoyed by all of us, including both daughters aged 12, and 14. If your child is interested in history, it's a great way to have fun (and learn at the same time.) I would say 12 might be the youngest, but perhaps as young as ten depending on your child.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best way to discover Barcelona”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

Even if you're a guided-tour sceptic like me, Time Detectives is the perfect balance to hit the spot and show you the real insider story to Barcelona's history.

The actors littered throughout the city (marvelously played) immerse you into a tour where you have to find the next steps on your own. My favourite way of discovering a new city is to get lost in it and Time Detectives allows you to do just that, leisurely and at your own pace.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Adri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“If you are going to Barcelone, don't miss the Time Detectives Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

During our visit in Barcelone we took the Time Detectives Tour. It is a great way to spend an afternoon, have fun, learn about the rich history of Barcelona and Catalonia and feel like a timetraveller. The actors are really great, very dedicated and they know their stuff. It felt almost like talking to the real people from the past, who fortunately all are fluent in English. The locals don't twitch when they see some tourists running around and they are very helpful when necessary.
If you like gaming this is a must, Bring good shoes and plenty to drink and off you go through the oldest part of Barcelona. You may loose a few ounces from running around, but you definitely gain some good insight into the past of Barcelona.

Cheers!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Wouter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best way to see Barcelona!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

Overall, A+ tour. Extremely creative, interactive, and all around enjoyable. Enthusiastic guide and a great way to see the city center. I definitely recommend it especially if you like games, scavenger hunts, and solving puzzles.

Helpful?
2 Thank AdvntrTrvlr123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barcelona Time Detectives Tour also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing