We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place for a beer!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cat Bar

Cat Bar
Ranked #440 of 9,412 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $16
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: El Born / La Ribera
Description: No table service order at the bar. We do NOT take reservations. Max table 6 people. CatBar is a small dark backstreet vegan craft beer BAR, without AirCon, you won't like it, especially if you expect a restaurant.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice place for a beer!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Popped in here while in Barcelona. The bar is pokey and has a very nice, comfortable atmosphere. The bar itself Is a great spot if you are looking to try some new beers. I had some nice (and strong) local brew which was a nice deviation from the San Miguel that you see everywhere in Barcelona. Well worth a visit if you are interested in beer.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    130
    29
    11
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Solid Beer Bar in an Otherwise Beer Challenged City”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

If you are like me, and prefer ales, porters and stouts than the clear, thin, light local beers, then you have found a refuge. The Cat Bar has at least 50 bottles of drinkable beers, plus about a half dozen on tap. There were a lot of English speakers when I was there, which was a little respite, but even if it had been 100% Spanish it would not have diminished the beer selection. So, if you are looking for a place to kick back and down a few quality beers, this is your bar.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Truffled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quirky bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Like: Youngish mix of nationalities, good feel about the place, serves one or two unusual beers, the Cat Burger speciality + trimmings very tasty - and filling, friendly staff, has an English book exchange.
Sighs (rather than dislike): I think we were charged for an extra round at the end of our second night when the bill was tallied, but that's down to the one-girl bar-staff being rushed off her feet serving food drinks, squeezing past customers - so don't take this as a downer, we really liked the place.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Tyneside
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Small, friendly place with good food and great beer.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

We visited here for both a lunch time drink and returned in the evening for a quick bite, eventually staying for the whole night as we very much enjoyed the evening atmosphere and the guitar/piano music which was part of a small jam session.

The bar sells artisan beers/ales from all over Europe. If you are a fan of Brewdog style drinks, you will love the selection here.

We are in no way vegan or even vegetarian, but we both loved the home made bean burgers with amazing home made chips and bravas. There was plenty of other selection too for those who are vegetarian or vegan including quinoa salads and vegan ghoulash. Food service is not quick, but nor is it overly slow, considering everything is cooked fresh and in such a small premises.

The decor of the bar is quaint and the only real downside of the place is the toilets leave a little to be desired, they could definitely use a makeover!

We found the staff to be very helpful and genuinely nice people. We noticed several lone diners on tables for 2, no lone diners were turned away during our 2 visits. This was one of our favourite bars in Barcelona.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SwanBull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunmore East, Ireland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Yummy vegan food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

I'm not a vegan nor a vegetarian but was very impressed with the food here. We ate here twice during our stay.

First time for lunch - we all had the bean burgers - very delicious. I had patas bravas with mine - very tasty with lovely dip.

Second time for dinner - hummus to start was nice. Polish stew with vegan 'meat' balls was divine. Cakes for desert were good too.

It has a nice relaxed ambience. Very quirky but cosy.

Their menu-del dia has to be one of the best value meals in Barcelona at 10euro for 3 courses! I'm looking forward to returning here when I'm back in Barcelona.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cat Bar also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Cat Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing