We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flawless stay”
Review of Alma Barcelona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Alma Barcelona
Ranked #17 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Can't really come up with anything negative. The check-in with a glass of cava, the room, the breakfast, the roof terrace, the location... I'm just repeating all the other reviews; everything was top-notch.

We stayed in an executive room which was very spacious and super quiet even though it was on the street side on second floor.

We visited also two neighbouring roof terrace bars, "Alaire" and "Terraza 83,3", but Alma's terrace was way nicer.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank kyyhky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,852)
There are newer reviews for Alma Barcelona
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

690 - 696 of 1,852 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2014

My wife and I loved every minute of our stay at the Alma Barcelona. We were welcomed at check-in with a glass of cava and an efficient tour of the modern property, which has a very clean and trendy feel, akin to a more refined W Hotel. Our room was large and comfortable, with an oversized bed, a large bathroom, commodious closets and a refrigerator stocked with several gratis beverages. The common spaces were even more striking, notably the roof deck on which we passed several hours drinking Alma's reasonably-priced cocktails and eating a pizza ordered for us by one of the hotels many helpful staff members. The breakfast, while ambitiously priced, was phenomenal, with a wide selection of local meats, cheeses and yogurts. Finally, the internet was blazing fast. If back in Barcelona, we'd return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Super friendly staff, good food and basically no negatives rendered us very satisfied with the experience! The location is nice with walking distance to La Rambla. The hotel is very neatly decorated and exorts a calm feeling.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Fabulous hotel with very friendly staff. This is the perfect place to stay in Barcelona, short walk to Sagrada Familia (20 min), La Pedrera and Casa Batllo. Beautiful view from the Roof terrace over the city.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hofstad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

We just came back from a 5-day stay in Barcelona. The stay couldn't have been better. The location is superb. It's in the midst of a beautiful Eixample neighborhood, and only a short walk (less than 5 minutes) from The Pedrera. Unfortunately, The facade of The Pedrera is completely covered while it is undergoing renovation. But just being a stone's throw from the Passeig de Gracia is a huge bonus. Every important sight is either within walking distance (for example, the Sagrada Familia), or a short taxi ride away. The rooms are indeed minimalist by design, as other reviewers have noted. The design of the shower and bathroom may take a bit of getting used to for some people, but we had no problem with it. The beds are very comfortable and, despite being so close to the action, the room felt like an oasis of calm. By the way, the service is outstanding. Always friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank SaulD554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014

This was the perfect place to stay in Barcelona, so glad we made this choice. We actually stayed two times once at the beginning of our trip to Spain for 2 nights and then one more night at the end of our trip. The staff was so incredibly helpful, nice and accommodating. The rooms are sort of minimalist modern but very nice and comfortable and we found the location to be very good as well. Walking distance to many sights/shops and easy enough to get around by cab if not. We had three great dinner recommendations from the staff each night. The first night we ate at Toto which was really good and within walking distance. The second night we went to a traditional, old style Paella place called Cheriff. Incredible Paella and nice area to walk around after dinner. The last night we went to a more modern Paella place on the water called Barraca, the food was amazing and the view was perfect! There is also a really cute rooftop bar at the hotel which we enjoyed one night. You can't ask for better service than we received at this place. I don't have any complaints and I wouldn't hesitate to return to this hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank jillsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

This is centrally located, making it a great base for walking or taking the metro. Our check-in was done by someone who seemed rather distracted. I couldn't help but overhear rhe check-in next to us - the receptionist was warm, welcoming, funny and informative. In contrast, we were just registered for the fingerprint key system and handed a map. We stayed in an Executive Suite which had good space and a nice bathroom. There were a few design featurea that I did not find appealing. The hotel common areas, halls and the suite itself were all painted very dark colors and were also dimly lit. This was somewhat oppressive. In addition, the bedroom outlets were in short supply. However, these aren't huge issues and this is a solid choice in Barcelona.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank 2teens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#9 of 513 in Barcelona
1,738 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Claris
Hotel Claris
#65 of 513 in Barcelona
1,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
H10 Casa Mimosa
H10 Casa Mimosa
#3 of 513 in Barcelona
266 reviews
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#1 of 513 in Barcelona
1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alma Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma Barcelona

Address: Mallorca 271, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#3 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#4 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#14 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $252 - $1,111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Alma Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AlmaBarcelona hotel is housed in an elegant building which dates back to the start of the 20th Century. Located right in the heart of Barcelona, just a few metres from the famous Passeig de Gràcia. With its proximity to the Batlló house, La Pedrera, Las Ramblas, Plaza Catalunya, Barcelona Cathedral, Palau de la Música, L'Auditori and numerous other popular tourist attractions, the AlmaBarcelona has one of the best locations in the city. Its 72 rooms are separated into classical and modernist accommodation, providing an interior unlike any other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Mirai, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alma Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alma Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Alma Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing