We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They are very close”
Review of Alma Barcelona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alma Barcelona
Ranked #17 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
North Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“They are very close”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

I always try to be 100% honest on any review and admit to finding it hard being decisive on the comments to submit.
Negatives first. The reception area is dark and dismal, not welcoming in any way. This should be looked at. The bedroom card (Do not disturb) has just one side to use and once you hang on your door, either way, your room will not be serviced. Breakfast, if you are room basis only, seems a little expensive, so study carefully hotel offers available.
The positives far exceed the above. Rooms are carefully designed with clever little modern touches and quiet. The restaurant very good with an excellent menu to choose from. There is a wonderful garden area in which to relax or have your drinks/ meals and also a splendid roof terrace, divided into two sections, one on the city side and one on with a sea view.
The best left till last. All members of staff were brilliant. Helpful, extremely polite and willing to provide assistance wherever they could. A credit to whoever is responsibly for their training.
They are very close to becoming a top class city hotel and we would most certainly stay here again when visiting Barcelona.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Scrubber077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,450
    276
    64
    14
    14
See reviews for
280
1,010
64
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for three nights last week as a bit of birthday treat and overall it can only be described as a wonderful experience. As soon as we arrived our luggage was whisked away to our room and as we were booking in we had chilled drinks offered, our receptionist was a font of knowledge who seem to genuinely enjoy helping us. The rooms are big enough, the layout is not exactly my taste but my wife thought the whole open plan look was wonderful. The bed was very comfortable the furniture very modern and smart, of course another soft chair wouldn’t have gone amiss. All throughout our stay the staff were courteous, smart, helpful and they really did seem to care how much we enjoyed our trip. The location is about 10 mins walk from Plaça de Catalunya which must be one of the nicest roundabouts in the world. Which leads into the old area of Barcelona with wonderful architecture and great pubs and restaurants, you will be spoiled for choice. Honestly I am a new fan of Barcelona which means we will return as soon as possible and when we return we will be staying at the Alma again.

Room Tip: We had a few small problems with the wi-fi, when you are given the logon/passowrd ensure you have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stayed three nights in July 2014 to celebrate our Silver Wedding Anniversary. The staff were amazing, friendly and so helpful. They recommended and booked fantastic restaurants for us and even gave us a complimentary bottle of wine for our special occasion.

All the receptionist staff and concierge were really kind and remember us each day - you felt you had personal treatment at alll times. Our room was ready earlier than planned and we were greated with a welcome drink which was very nice.

The hotel facilities were clean, tidy and inviting. The bed and pillows were so comfortable after a day sightseeing. Cannot fault anything at all. Hotel ot to be missed.

We will definitely return soon.!!!

Room Tip: Asked for a quiet room away from Street and they didnt disappoint. We were in a corner room overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida, United States
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

At over $500 a night, the suite was great... but we could not get basic service each day. For some unknown reason, they would remove 1 day old bars of soap, so even when we asked for an extra, we were back down to one the next day, and every day. 2 sinks and a shower and a bath require more than a single bar of soap. Each day we would need to talk housekeeping (my wife is a native spanish speaker) and it made no difference. Extra towels, whatever, it was never consistent. They also recommended the Cheriff restaurant, amongst the worst we have every been to, it was awful. Speaking to the front desk made only temporary differences. Do yourself a favor, and get a different better hotel.

Room Tip: get a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paul_Woods_Algenol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

My husband and I stayed there for 4 nights weeks ago. it was a blast! We were first welcomed by the cheerful faces of the staff and the welcome drinks! We arrived much earlier than our expected arrival time, but the room was ready when we checked in. The staff was excellent, frendly and attentive to details. The room was spacious. Our room was on the 6th floor facing the courtyard. It was so quiet and defintely helped for a deep sleep. The complimentary mini bar was a bonus. The location was just perfect. Its only a 2 min walk from the hotel to the nearest metro station (Diagonal) and you could find all luxury brands you want downstairs along Passage de Gracia. We just simply love this chic hotel. Will definitely recommend to our family and friends!

Room Tip: you may consider to request a room with both bathtub and shower as some of them only have either one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misscharis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stayed at the Alma for 2 days and it was wonderful. The staff was excellent, they made numerous reservations, recommended restaurants and activities that made our stay in Barcelona perfect. The rooms were spacious, had a complimentary mini bar and windows that opened to a beautiful courtyard.

We loved this hotel and can't wait to return.

Room Tip: room 306 and 307 were large with a windows that opened to the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

This hotel is prentensius, overpriced and badly managed.
On our entry to the much advertised garden terrace we were turned around, saying it was reserved for a private party, but were advised to go to the roof terrace. Once there we could not get a proper chair because it was ' reserved' so much for 5 stars

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Arni W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
almahotels, Director Comercial at Alma Barcelona, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Mr. Arni W,

I am sorry you did not have the chance to enjoy our terraces on the day of the FIFA Brazil 2014 World Cup Semifinal.

It is certainly true that the different open spaces at our establishment, both the Restaurante del Jardín del Alma and the hotel’s two roof terraces, with their 360º views of Barcelona, the Sagrada Familia, La Pedrera and the sea, are proving highly popular with our clients.

This is why it is advisable to make a prior reservation to make sure of getting a table in either of these areas.

Should you return to Barcelona in the future I will be delighted to meet you and handle any reservations you might need.

Yours truly

Consol Garcia
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#11 of 513 in Barcelona
1,712 reviews
Eixample
H10 Casa Mimosa
H10 Casa Mimosa
#3 of 513 in Barcelona
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 513 in Barcelona
1,304 reviews
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Eixample
Hotel Claris
Hotel Claris
#64 of 513 in Barcelona
1,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alma Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma Barcelona

Property: Alma Barcelona
Address: Mallorca 271, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#3 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#4 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#14 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Alma Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AlmaBarcelona hotel is housed in an elegant building which dates back to the start of the 20th Century. Located right in the heart of Barcelona, just a few metres from the famous Passeig de Gràcia. With its proximity to the Batlló house, La Pedrera, Las Ramblas, Plaza Catalunya, Barcelona Cathedral, Palau de la Música, L'Auditori and numerous other popular tourist attractions, the AlmaBarcelona has one of the best locations in the city. Its 72 rooms are separated into classical and modernist accommodation, providing an interior unlike any other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alma Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alma Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Alma Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing