We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great customer experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alma Barcelona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alma Barcelona
Ranked #17 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Como, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great customer experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

We enjoyed two beautiful days at this amazing hotel. Quality of service, attention to details, comfort of rooms, hotel design and amazing staff provide for one of the best customer experiences I have ever had. Highly recommended for couples and romantic getaways.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ale_Suz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,358
    257
    63
    14
    12
See reviews for
254
962
59
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

We throughly enjoyed our 6 night stay at the Alma. It's main feature is the staff who are so welcoming from the moment we stepped out of our cab. Just wonderful and nothing is too much trouble.
Hotel is stylish and minimalist blending modern fittings with older style.
Fantastic position, funky rooms. Love the red phone, balcony and the bed was sublime. Roof top bar what a treat.
Breakfast first rate but as others have said a little pricey.
Would definitely recommend.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed at the Alma by chance. Didn't get a room at our hotel of choice and this looked like a good option. delighted thoroughly by everything we experienced, from the super friendly check-in and the rooms to the location. My daughter was delighted most of all by the finger print recognition room access utility. The only downside is a pricey breakfast. Would be nice if that was included in the room rate.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tariq A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Short Hills, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Alma has amazing staff that were so helpful. Gave great recommendations for restaurants and entertainment. Rooms were spectacular, clean and quiet! the roof-top had a great bar and were able to see terrific sights! We had breakfast in the courtyard and was nice. Alma is in a great location, amazing shopping and a close walk to Los Ramblas. Would highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank synchromom18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, New Jersey
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Booked the Alma using on-line discount hotel service with relatively short lead time. Needed suite to accommodate visit from 21 year old son for weekend. Hotel met our needs and more. Staff was incredible, and the hotel entrance is designed to facilitate interaction with terrific "front desk"/concierge team. Alma does not distinguish "check in" from concierge--the young but knowledgeable staff "do it all." Restaurant recommendations, tour guides, tickets, suggested activities? All are handled well. Room was very large and well designed, combining great Barcelona modern (very high end bath room) with wood internal shutters on older windows, looking out on beaux arts iron and flowers. Beautiful and quiet internal courtyard. And piece de resistance--the totally "cool" roof-top bar open only to guests. There was never a crowd, always a great summer breeze, and sight-lines to the Sagrada Familia and other Gaudi buildings. Great location--easy to get everywhere (excellent subway system; abundant cabs). Neighborhood more upper east side than west village--which was more than OK.

Room Tip: Rooms of inner courtyard may be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

From the minute you step into the Alma hotel we were embraced with an gracious smile and an invitation to sit down and chat. Tired from traveling and kids in tow, the front desk ( we were greeted by Michael) just wanted to get to know us, they offered us some cava and literally got us relaxed within minutes. They got down to business in a gentle fashion, figured out what we needed for the stay to be a good one and provided us all with all the necessary information, reservations and directions of the city we wanted. This hotel should be proud to know that all the staff worked so well together, they provided the same interest in our stay as they did for the numerous other clients that walked in the door after us. Our children (14yrs, and 6yrs ) were met with the same respect and loved the whole ambience of the hotel and its staff. Great decor , super location and fabulous food too. We are a family who is absolutely going to stay at another ALMA. Bravo.

P.S. Our rooms ( 505 & 506 ) were close enough to hear the Jazz at Gaudi's La Pedrera roof top.

Room Tip: A room with a view of the La Pedrera's roof top. But let face it, you are there to see Barcelona...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SelinaW124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
144 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

I stayed in a suite which was well designed and nicely laid out. It reminded me of a typical Aman room with a sleeping area, a living room, and a giant bathroom. Everything about my stay exceeded my expectations, and all at very good value. I did find the breakfast a little disappointing—the pastries didn't seem fresh or locally made, the fruit was skinned over by 10 am when I ate. The midlevel breakfast was beautifully presented and the service was great, but I wish the quality of food had been higher. It would fit with the high standards everywhere else in the hotel.

The fingerprint key was great, worked better than the card systems often do, and there was nothing to lose while I explored the city.

All around wonderful hotel, and base from which to enjoy the city.

Room Tip: go for the suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gandaratravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#6 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,600 reviews
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 522 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#13 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,949 reviews
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alma Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma Barcelona

Property: Alma Barcelona
Address: Mallorca 271, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#4 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#4 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#15 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Alma Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AlmaBarcelona hotel is housed in an elegant building which dates back to the start of the 20th Century. Located right in the heart of Barcelona, just a few metres from the famous Passeig de Gràcia. With its proximity to the Batlló house, La Pedrera, Las Ramblas, Plaza Catalunya, Barcelona Cathedral, Palau de la Música, L'Auditori and numerous other popular tourist attractions, the AlmaBarcelona has one of the best locations in the city. Its 72 rooms are separated into classical and modernist accommodation, providing an interior unlike any other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Alma Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alma Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Alma Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing