We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool relaxed atmosphere inside, city buzz on the doorstep”
Review of Alma Barcelona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alma Barcelona
Ranked #17 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Cool relaxed atmosphere inside, city buzz on the doorstep”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stayed here on the back of the glowing reviews and certainly wasn’t disappointed. I went for the ‘basic’ room (Grand deluxe) which has plenty of space, one of the comfiest chairs I’ve ever sat in, a large bed and big walk in shower. The toilet is separate, a nice feature, and, by having an open shower/sink area, the room avoids the classic hotel design issue whereby you walk into the room down a darkish corridor because they’ve carved out a separate bathroom. However the open plan sink/shower might not be for everyone. The staff are every bit as friendly and helpful as the reviews suggest and, without exception, spoke great English. Finding an adapter for my 3-pin plugs was no problem and, having hung my rain-marked shoes on the door at night, a shoe-cleaning fairy returned them to me pristine (and without charge) by the next morning. My room at the back of the hotel looked out at the Gaudi chimneys a block away and was perfectly quiet: I suspect rooms at the front on Carrer Mallorca might be noisier. Otherwise the room could have been lighter – reading in bed was fine with a bedside spotlight on a bendy stem. At a pinch that would have lit up the comfy chair too, but anyone with an elaborate make up routine would have struggled with the rather dim lights over the bathroom mirror. The spa is a nice feature – didn’t try the massages etc, but the pool was good for a wake up dip. I tried the 25 Euro breakfast because by day 3 I was itching for something with more roughage than a croissant but the only museli option came with bits of chocolate – a Spanish feature I think. The many local restaurants and cafes offer better value if not great health benefits. Finally the English language TV options could have been better: the BBC news channel had a wobbly picture and jumpy sound so I watched news of Mrs Thatcher’s death on Al Jazeera which came through perfectly! As I could get Radio 4 through the free wifi I didn’t care enough to whinge but it might be more important for others.

Room Tip: If you want to relax in a bathtub you need to upgrade from the Grand deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Munrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,437
    272
    64
    14
    13
See reviews for
278
1,003
62
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed at the Alma in Barcelona for three nights at the end of March based on the TripAdvisor reviews the property received and I am glad we did.

This hotel is a real gem; its location in the city is perfect just off one of the luxury retail areas/boulevards of Barcelona and within walking distance to the harbour and other attractions such as the Picasso museum. The Big Bus Tour (as well as the metro and regular public buses) stop two blocks from the hotel which is convenient too. As it's in a side street the rooms are really quiet which is great.

We stayed in an Executive Suite as we travelled with our 7 year old daughter (they don't allow an extra bed in their standard rooms) which was very modern, minimalist, spacious, quiet and comfortable. I am slightly surprised that they charge Euro 60 for an extra bed per night though which in my view is expensive, especially given that we already booked a more premium room category.

The room had free WIFI (slow at times), a free mini bar, complimentary water and nice Bulvgari amenities in the bathroom which featured a large walk-in rain shower, separate bath and separate toilet as well as a double sink.

Breakfast is not included and slightly expensive at 25 Euro per person, but worth it. It is served in the cosy lobby lounge which is very modern and you can sit outside in the courtyard when the weather is nice, a perfect start to your day. The offering at breakfast was good and included made to order eggs, pancakes, etc. so an extensive offering.

There is a gym and indoor pool, small but quirky design and has everything you need. The room access is cool too as it's done with your finger print or a regular keycard, whichever you prefer.

What makes this hotel really special is the service. When we arrived someone immediately came outside to greet and assist us and check in was smooth, personalised and friendly and the team used it as an opportunity to introduce us to all the services of the hotel, they made restaurant and museum bookings for us on the spot, all whilst we enjoyed a lovely glass of cava, courtesy of the hotel. All the staff were great and super helpful throughout our stay.

We would definitely return to this hotel when next in Barcelona and can highly recommend it to those that enjoy luxury boutique design hotels.

Room Tip: Executive Suite was very spacious and featured great design.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alnmouth
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This hotel is just wonderful. Elegant and chic, located centrally, fantastic customer service, facilities brilliant including pool, gym, indoor and outdoor bar area. The glass of Cava when we checked in was a great touch. The finger print scan for room access is really cool, and means you dont have to worry about where youve put your key ;-)
Check out Cafe Josephine for breakfast one block from the hotel. For lunch or dinner Llamber and Cafe Kafka are fantastic. You wont be disappointed staying here.

Room Tip: I would recommend floor 6 to avoid any street noise, both rooms 604 and 605 are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 651AndrewS651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Very friendly and approachable staff in this amazing hotel. It is ultra modern and minimalist but that seems to make it totally relaxing and stress free. The room we had was a grand deluxe and fantastic, light, plenty of space, lots of storage, huge bed, fabulous large shower and room for storage of own toiletries. Plenty of fluffy towels and separate loo. The design of the hotel is so different but clever. It looks sparse but is actually incredibly warm and inviting, just like the leather chair in the room. The finger print key system seems gimmicky (and unfortunately didn't work for me for some reason) but it was great not to have to worry about a key and security.

The beds have to be the most comfortable ever! It was so hard to leave the wonderful feather duvets and we really did have a hard earned rest.

The only criticism I could think of would be that we couldn't use the pleasant bar/lounge or restaurant area due to a number of vases full of lilies that I could smell very strongly throughout the area. They looked beautiful but as I have an allergy to them I avoid them like the plague! I did mention the problem to a member of staff who said they'd be removed. I didn't really expect this just for me but did say that I don't think the reaction is that uncommon with people who suffer from hay fever. Unfortunately they weren't removed which meant we couldn't enjoy the facilities as much as we may have done otherwise.

It can be hard to find. We walked the wrong way down the Carrer de Mallorca and back again! We also found that taxi drivers hadn't heard of it. It was mainly our fault just not doing our homework properly. After that though we enjoyed fresh orange juice on arrival and escaped the snow back home of course. We did also use the excellent bus service after that which meant we saw a lot more of the city than we could have done otherwise.

This is a wonderfully peaceful quiet (we did not hear a thing for our stay from other guests) and relaxing hotel. If like us you work long hours and need a rest sometimes, this hotel is perfect!

Room Tip: Get the best one you can afford, it's worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank justhadtosay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I have stayed at many hotels in Barcelona. The Arts and Pulitzer used to be favorites. But neither compare with this hotel. As others have noted, the staff is personable and very accommodating. Rooms are imaculate, large, and modern. And the place has a vibe. I am very judgmental and could not finda flaw.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blackJackalexandria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

This is a fantastic hotel in a great location. Every interaction with the staff was extraordinary. The hotel is new, sleek, modern and comfortable. We did not use the spa but did check it out and it looked great. Close to great restaurants, shopping and tourist attractions. For a first class stay - you must go here!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SanRafael2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Yet another glowing review for this tranquil oasis of a hotel.
With non existent Spanish and 21 hours of travel under our belts, Alma was paradise. Gracious reception staff, professional, accommodating and informative service, luxurious, quiet rooms. This is an excellent hotel. Breakfast is a broad array of delicious food and juices, perfect to fuel Gaudi expeditions and shopping. The location is great, central to the main attractions and a decent yet completely "do able" walk to the more medieval barrios. For us, staying here helped us enjoy Barcelona even more.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Janine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Eixample
H10 Casa Mimosa
H10 Casa Mimosa
#3 of 512 in Barcelona
215 reviews
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#9 of 512 in Barcelona
1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 512 in Barcelona
1,279 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#15 of 512 in Barcelona
2,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alma Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma Barcelona

Property: Alma Barcelona
Address: Mallorca 271, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#3 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#4 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#15 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Alma Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AlmaBarcelona hotel is housed in an elegant building which dates back to the start of the 20th Century. Located right in the heart of Barcelona, just a few metres from the famous Passeig de Gràcia. With its proximity to the Batlló house, La Pedrera, Las Ramblas, Plaza Catalunya, Barcelona Cathedral, Palau de la Música, L'Auditori and numerous other popular tourist attractions, the AlmaBarcelona has one of the best locations in the city. Its 72 rooms are separated into classical and modernist accommodation, providing an interior unlike any other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alma Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alma Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Alma Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing