We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Perfect hotel!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alma Barcelona

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alma Barcelona
Ranked #15 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

We absolutely loved this hotel. Stylish design, fabulous location, comfortable beds, great service and a quiet night's sleep. Perfect!!!!

The only cons were that they didn't have shower caps (handy for us ladies) and there was no door on our shower room, so if you're not travelling with a partner you have to avert your eyes.

We loved the location of this hotel as it is a block away from Gaudi's La Pedrera and Casa Battlo and easy walking distance from Sagrada Familia and the Gothic quarter. It's off the very elegant Passeig de Gracia so you can enjoy an evening stroll with the locals the moment you step out of your hotel and is an easy walk to the more touristy La Rambla and Gothic Quarter. This area is the optimal base for a Barcelona trip.

Other than the hotel - book your tickets to Sagrada Familia online and save queuing round the block. Also worth getting a BCN ticket special as the Gaudi museums all have entry prices of about EUR20/adult.

Eating
- Cervecería Catalana is great atmosphere for tapas but be prepared to wait at busier times.
- Torre d'Alta Mar has amazing views but VERY average food for VERY fancy prices. If you want to enjoy the view of Barcelona go for a drink at the top of Hotel W or go for the night visit at La Pedrera and then go for dinner at a top notch local restaurant. This is certainly not the place for good food or service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBeeUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,314
    250
    62
    14
    12
See reviews for
247
937
54
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Very nice quiet discreet 5 star hotel. All dark wood low lighting and excellent staff all with good English and very helpful. We didn't have time to use spa etc as too much sightseeing. Only gripe is that at a 5 star hotel you would think they could include breakfast as this was EUR25 each!
Beds were huge and the most comfortable hotel beds ever. Very central only 10 mins walk from tube and then direct train to airport taking 25 mins.

Room Tip: Higher room may have a view but we were on 3rd floor which looked on to the courtyard garden which w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShadySurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

We have enjoyed this hotel the last couple times we were in Barcelona and have been very impressed. It has great location, service, nice open concept rooms, and reasonable prices given how nice it is. The service really stands out with a personal touch, you see similar faces who do a lot of the little things that many hotels overlook. I'm also always concerned about bedding in Europe and this hotel is great in that area, crisp white sheets, non-split king beds, and down bedding. Great find!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gflight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

It's a fantastic hotel in a great location. The staff are friendly, very helpful and very knowledgeable.They made our first trip to Barcelona special and memorable. The hotel room and the hotel itself is one of understated elegance. The bar is great and the restaurant is very good as well. It is one of the nicest hotels we have ever stayed in. I cannot recommend it enough.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the courtyard and was very quiet at night which we appreciated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 951traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed at this hotel over a weekend in November. The hotel is situated in a central position with easy access to local transport and within walking distance to main attractions such as La Sagrada Familia (15 minutes walk). The rooms are clean, modern and spacious...and I loved the idea of entering the room by simply placing my finger on a sensor by the door. The hotel staff were outstanding! They helped us to plan our days, booked tickets for us and recommended great restaurants. Everything was done with a smile and you never felt rushed. This is an excellent choice and no doubt I will stay there again on my next trip to Barcelona.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jano2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
97 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Thought the colour scheme a little dowdy on first impression but turned out to be wonderfully restful after the colour and chaos that is Barcelona. Particulally liked the garden out the back to sit before bed and have a nightcap.
Our room was wonderful - great bathroom and plenty of wardrobe space. The front desk staff were very helpful doing the online 'touristy' bookings for us.
Very central and made our visit a special one.
One word of warning though - no irons or ironing boards and ironing takes a day to come back!
Small problem though - just buy another shirt!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank merlintrust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We were met by pleasant personnel offering us cava even before we did check in. We calmed down immediately after a long flight. A perfect welcome! Throughout our stay, the entire staff showed us an excellent service. All our requests were pleasantly fulfilled with a smile. We can absoultely recommend the fantastic massage threatment "Voyage of Alma" - fantastic. Our room was great, quite spacious and modern. The housekeeping did a wonderful job.

This is an excellent choice. We doubt if you´ll find a better hotel in Barcelona.

Room Tip: Next time we will ask for a room facing the back - quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sven Erik K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#4 of 518 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,532 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#3 of 518 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel DO
Hotel DO
#5 of 518 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alma Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma Barcelona

Property: Alma Barcelona
Address: Mallorca 271, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#4 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#4 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Alma Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AlmaBarcelona hotel is housed in an elegant building which dates back to the start of the 20th Century. Located right in the heart of Barcelona, just a few metres from the famous Passeig de Gràcia. With its proximity to the Batlló house, La Pedrera, Las Ramblas, Plaza Catalunya, Barcelona Cathedral, Palau de la Música, L'Auditori and numerous other popular tourist attractions, the AlmaBarcelona has one of the best locations in the city. Its 72 rooms are separated into classical and modernist accommodation, providing an interior unlike any other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Orbitz, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Alma Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alma Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Alma Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing