We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely amazing and quiet!”
Review of Alma Barcelona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Alma Barcelona
Ranked #17 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing and quiet!”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

I'm writing this review while still at the hotel. This is an incredible place, as great as the other Trip Advisors claim. Its modern design is clean, crisp, and yet exudes an incredible warmth too. Starting from the lovely welcome at check-in, to the James-Bondian fingerprint key system, to the beautiful lobby, to the large room with high ceilings, a large, super-comfortable king-sized bed with a duvet like a cloud and large, comfortable pillows, HD TV, AC, free wifi, a free mini-bar which is restocked daily with waters, juices and sodas. Really nice, large bathroom too. A nice spa with pool, steam room and sauna. The furnishings are lovely, with simple clean lines and the whole hotel is very, very clean. The best part though is that the staff goes out of their way to be charming and helpful. Our room overlooks the courtyard in the back where you can have breakfast or afternoon drinks or dinner, or just hang out. This is a VERY quiet hotel, yet near most of the main tourist areas. We walked about 15 minutes to the Sagrada Familia. The Casa Barllo is about a 10 minute walk. The metro (subway) is close so you can get to other neighborhoods like the Gothic quarter or the Ramblas easily without having to actually stay in those busy areas. The neighborhood around this hotel is a bit like the Champs Elysee in Paris -- fancy, bustling, but not crazy. We did not hear any noise at all while in the hotel. We've traveled all over the world and stayed in nice hotels -- this hotel is one of the best we've been at. Not extra-fancy, nor snooty, but very welcoming.The hotel price is comparable to other nice hotels around the city, but I really can't imagine that any other hotel is this great for the price, location, design, comfort and fantastic staff. I would stay here again anytime and HIGHLY recommend it.

Room Tip: Our room facing the courtyard was quiet. I would ask for one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank esrtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,388
    263
    64
    14
    12
See reviews for
263
980
60
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
152 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

The Alma is as good as earlier reviewers have indicated. The staff was helpful, friendly, competent. We felt welcomed from the moment we came in the door and every time we came back into the hotel for the 4 nights we were there. It is a different kind of aesthetic from the typical,hotel, sort of zen monastery if the monks were into luxurious beds, excellent showers, free beverages in the mini bar (very nice that) and very cool keyless door locks. We skipped the very expensive breakfasts but took advantage of the bar for a pleasant drink in the afternoon. There are many breakfast options within a block or two. The location is excellent for the Segrada Familia and Gaudi buildings, less so for the old city restaurants and Picasso museum. But the subway is easy and frankly, we walked everywhere anyway. Don't miss tapas at Catalonia, a couple of blocks away-- which the staff at Alma recommended.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank WhereAreMyGlasses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We found the hotel to be in a great location within walking distance to most of the tourist attractions. The rooms were modern, with very comfy beds. The staff ( especially Pau) was very helpful in all aspects of our visit, from advising us about restaurants,transportation, and the local attractions to helping us plan for an overnight trip to the Pyrenees. The breakfast was plentiful with nice variety of food, though I felt it was overpriced. My only negative is that the fitness center really isn't much, though I got adequate exercise walking.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sd
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

This is an incredible find. The staff were uniformly attentive, kind and helpful with all of our needs. They went way out of there way to help us navigate Barcelona and ensure our comfort. The property is peaceful, quiet and elegant. There is a ground level terrace that is a lovely place to retreat to, especially in the evenings. We hope to return someday.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tedt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Dear Alma staff...you rock! Thank you for the best Barcelona trip I have experienced yet. As an American living in Europe, I am spoiled and humbled...traveling to my fav European cities multiple times throughout the past five years. You took such great care of my family when we visited in March 2012..we will definitely return to stay at the Alma. Not only did you guide us with great restaurant suggestions, but your friendliness was unsurpassed. We fell in love once again...not just with Barcelona but with your beautiful hotel and your most excellent staff.

Dear fellow traveler...the Alma appears minimalistic and very modern when you first step over the threshold. Don't be fooled by first impressions. The staff are far from Minimalists when it comes to customer service. The rooms are very well appointed and large by even American standards. The beds are excellent...not rock hard, as you will find in many European hotels...but just right. Bulgari bath products to pamper yourself. Breakfast selection was the same each day but plentiful. There is no buffet...the staff simply serve you when you arrive. You may order eggs which is included in the price of the breakfast. Of course, all European hotels charge a small fortune for breakfast each day...so this is typical and to be expected. There is always the option to find breakfast out in the city.

I felt very pampered at Alma and even relaxed, in spite of the bustling city just outside the door. I cannot recommend the Alma enough. It is not a low budget hotel but I most definitely felt my Euro was well spent. The fortunate traveler who visits Alma will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Suite was extremely spacious...great for family. Room at front of hotel facing street but noise was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karenvZ9931VO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisane.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

At first I wasn't sure about the minimalist look and feel of this hotel, although very soon we felt so comfortable with the whole experience. A lovely hotel with excellent customer service, some of the friendliest I've experienced anywhere in the world.

I loved the discreet entrance to the hotel (so discreet the taxi driver didn't know of it). A very different experience than any of the normal up market chain hotels (of which I use a lot through work) even upon entering the reception.

A very warm welcome and we had e choice of room key or fingerprint technology for opening the door. While a bit of fun frustratingly my print never seemed to open the door although my wife was able to.

I wasn't sure about the room at first but after our first night sleeping in the faboulously comfortable bed and using he great shower we were converted again to the minimalist layout (although would have loved a kettle and tea). The free mini bar was good although sadly no alcohol! Our room overlooked the courtyard which with the large opened windows was a place we sat and caught the sun.

We used the bar on a couple of nights and had a lot of fun with the barman, Thomas who was very attentive and looked to engage with us if we wanted. This is something we found with many of the staff their willingness and ability to interact and engage with us. This was especially true for the wonderful Irena in the restaurant and Xavi on reception.

We ate in the restaurant twice as it was so good. Fantastic menu that was simple but with a beautiful combination of flavours. The hotel recommended a range of restaurants for us to visit including Michelin but this was too good to miss. And not expensive ( well not compared to dining in Australia!).

Really everything about our stay was just great. And again (and it's the business I'm in) the service was first class. Thank you for the experience. I truly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MartD56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Amazing Hotel in Barcelona. On our way in to we stayed at the Mandarin Oriental and I preferred this hotel over the Mandarin which is not nearly as expensive. The staff are extremely helpful, the rooms are large and nothing is a problem.
The ambience is very cool and sleek and the their most basic room is large with amazing bathroom amenities.
On our last morning we were advised to be downstairs for breakfast at 7am as we had a 7:45am pick up to the airport and breakfast had not started as it is between 7 - 7:30am and the staff in the breakfast area did everything that she could to bring us eggs, fruit and yoghurt to send us on our way fast.
I would definitely stay there again despite the small breakfast mistake.
I would also request a firmer pillow next time as the one provided was very soft.
Highly reccommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#9 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,638 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#16 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,072 reviews
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 514 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alma Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma Barcelona

Property: Alma Barcelona
Address: Mallorca 271, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#3 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#4 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#14 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Alma Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AlmaBarcelona hotel is housed in an elegant building which dates back to the start of the 20th Century. Located right in the heart of Barcelona, just a few metres from the famous Passeig de Gràcia. With its proximity to the Batlló house, La Pedrera, Las Ramblas, Plaza Catalunya, Barcelona Cathedral, Palau de la Música, L'Auditori and numerous other popular tourist attractions, the AlmaBarcelona has one of the best locations in the city. Its 72 rooms are separated into classical and modernist accommodation, providing an interior unlike any other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Alma Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alma Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Alma Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing