We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chic & Basic Ramblas
Nearby Hotels
$149
$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel(Barcelona)
$195
$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona(Barcelona)
$377
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Granvia(Barcelona)
$240
$211
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Claris(Barcelona)
$230
$224
Derby Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
El Palace Hotel(Barcelona)
$442
$409
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel 1898(Barcelona)
$225
$180
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$144
$133
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya(Barcelona)
$150
$140
Torre Catalunya
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,175)
Filter reviews
1,175 results
Traveler rating
415
550
151
38
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
415
550
151
38
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdrassanes metro stationla ramblagreat locationport endsmall kitchenettefunky hotelrooms are cleanfamily roomcentral locationfour nightshotel barstaff was very friendly and helpfulreception deskquiet streetdefinitely stay here againair conditioningtapas
Filter
Updating list...
375 - 380 of 1,175 reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Great hotel friendly staff fab location would definitely recommend it.
It is was it says on the tin chic& basic but just has that little bit more would book this again if ever in Barcelona.so close to everything try the walking tours that can be booked at reception @ 10euro for 2 hrs well worth it.
The staff are great from reception to bar staff who do great cocktails ( they do a mean cosmopolitan)

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Trish119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We recently stayed for 5 days and loved it here. The decor is really funky with a sixties theme through out. Rooms are quite spacious with simple decor, the bathrooms are small but adequate. Our room was always cleaned well and we found the bed comfortable. There is a cafe which you can have breakfast at which had a good variety and was reasonable priced. It also had the cheapest coffee and beer that we found in Barcelona. Wifi is free and available throughout the hotel and it worked well.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KylieRuscoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Using directions from the hotel after emailing them, we found this hotel very easily, a few minutes walk from Drassanes Metro station (L3). It is located behind a tower block, which is a very useful landmark for finding your way home when wandering around the roads off La Rambla.

We were on the fith floor, and we had asked for a room away from the lift and stairs. We got exactly that, room 510. It is spacious and the kitchenette was such a great addition to the room, being able to make a coffee in the morning and have a light breakfast before our day out. The only niggle was on the first day, there was a bad smell of drains from the bathroom, but we rectified that by keeping the bathroom door shut so the rest of the room did not smell.We didn't notice it for the rest of our stay.

The room was cleaned well every day. Perhaps the maid could have been more sensitive to guests who wanted to sleep in past 8am when she started the vacuuming. This didn't matter to us as were always up so were not disturbed by the early cleaning. The walls are quite thin, and you can hear other guests however, we were so tired from walking around this beautiful city all day that this did not keep us awake, it was simply an acknowledgment that we could hear next door, then we fell asleep!

There is a free safe and a good hairdryer too.

The location is perfect. A few minutes walk from La Ramblas and very easy to get to La Ribera/El Born and Gothic Barris. We found amazing Tapas about a 15 minute walk towards the El Born area - along with some bars that were fun.

I would definitely stay here again. Thank you to the reception staff for giving us the room we requested. It was perfect! We will be back next year!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GeorginaLondon7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

The hotel location is perfect; 50 m from a Metro Station and 100 from the Ramblas but located on a quiet street.
The decor is fun and chic, and is very clean and well maintained. The staff were friendly.
The room had a tiny kitchenette if you feel like making coffee or snacks.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

This hotel has amazing charm and character and just feels like a fun place to stay. The thing that drew me to this hotel was the gorgeous Fiat 500-Bambino in the lobby and the creative suitcase stacked check-in desk. On arrival, the charm and quirkiness continued and we weren't disappointed. There were tall cabinets with old-fashioned books, 60's (I think) inspired furniture and walking into the rooms was like walking into a time warp. We stayed here twice within a week (as we visited another city in between) and the staff were so friendly and helpful every time. One lady recommended an amazing authentic Spanish Bar (Bar Carante) and they were always willing to help (and seem to speak many languages). It is located in a fantastic part of the city for exploring beautiful Barcelona. Just a short stroll away from the gothic quarter, there's plenty of shops to meander through, a stunning church and it's a stone's throw away from the beach. Getting around the city from this location is no problem as the metro is literally less than 50m away (and the metro is so easy to use- the hotel staff also helped us work out the best ticket- that gave us numerous trips). One of the highlights of our stay was when we got our free cycle hire from the hotel (which was included as we booked the accommodation directly through their website). We ventured along a great cycle path that followed the beach (this was recommended to us by the hotel staff) and we just disappeared for 2 hours. We felt like real locals and really got to take in the sites- surfers, the scenery and the many fanatical fitness locals.

The beds are comfortable and the hotel room is a great size. Clean, cosy and comfortable, we couldn't ask for anything more (although breakfast would have been nice if it was included- it was available at an extra cost of 9 euro). It isn't a 5-star fancy hotel, but it has so much charm and character, it really does make you feel happy staying here.

Room Tip: Book through the website to get free cycle hire for 2 hours- so worth it
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sash18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews