We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel itself is good but... Not the lying staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Chic & Basic Ramblas
Ranked #173 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hotel itself is good but... Not the lying staff”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

My check out experience was horrible. I had to catch a 6am flight so I did a search online before to check the night bus schedule. Then I checked out at 3:15, planned for a 3:50 bus at Pl de Catalunya (the terminal). I asked the staff to call a taxi to the terminal. After speaking on phone, he said there was no bus at the moment to the airport and we should take taxi. We asked them to check again for us online but they refused, just kept saying we should take taxi. Finally we ignored their advice and arrived the terminal and got on the bus and departed as scheduled. I had a feeling that the staff has some sort of connection with the taxi company and so they made up a story for us to give up taking night bus. Is this the standard of proper hotel staff? I have already launched a complaint to the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vyyhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicandbasicrambles, Gerente at Chic & Basic Ramblas, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
We highly regret that you had a negative experience after your check out regarding your travel arrangements. As you mention in your email, our staff’s english level was not sufficient to manage this misunderstanding better than it was handled.
As we have already explained to you when answering your emails, our staff misunderstood the type of bus you were referring to, since the one you took is very unusual to take, 1:45 minutes to the Airport and 38 stops, going through neighbourhoods that should be avoided at night, with no space for luggage. That’s why our night staff was COMPLETELY sure that you were enquiring about the AEROBUS, which starts at 5.30 (20 minutes to the Airport) and therefore not suitable for you.
They did not lie to you nor to any of our guests to get paid by the taxi drivers to steer them to taxis over buses or trains. To be sure, our staff is always trying to do its best under the circumstances, however we will continue to improve our ability to give better directions and transportation recommendations in the future in as many languages as possible.
Nevertheless, we are glad that in your own words to us, you enjoyed the hotel and your stay in Barcelona and do hope you can return to our hotel for another great stay and a fair opportunity for our staff to show you much they do care for your safety, quality of stay, and all other ancilliary needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    484
    133
    33
    20
See reviews for
192
499
29
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Hotel is not so big but they have very nice & friendly personel, clean ,quite big rooms with balcony and kitchenette. Great localisation close to metro, sea and la rambla. Not so far from famous club Opium which is very important for people like me :) i recommend this hotel especially for young people.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madzialen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
Reviewed November 23, 2013

I stayed at the hotel with 2 friends on October 2013.
Very spacious room, with a cute small kitchen. The beds were comfortable, and the room was very clean.
The hotel is indeed very Chic- everything is beautifuly designed. and Basic- if you want a swiming pool and spa it's not the place for you.
The location is PERFECT!!! one minute walk from La Rambla and a metro station, and 3 min. walk from the port (very close to the mall:).
There is a great restaurant at the hotel, not expensive, good service and the food is very nice.
The hotel staff were so lovely and helping. They helped us with everything we asked.

For conclusion- very good value for your money!
The hotel definetly upgraded our vacation!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iphat t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Hull, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

My partner and I came over for four days to Barcelona my partner saw the hotel online and sent me a link to look it over.I thought WOW when I saw what chic has to offer and what you see online is nothing to how it looks in real life.
The staff are lovely really kind polite and know just when to help out and not be pushy.The hotel is really modern with a rustic industrial look with a soft glow I would say hip and that's just being modest.The floors have different concepts to match your mood and style.You can rent their own bikes to ride around the city at a good cost and also they have a truly amazing breakfast on offer which yes you pay extra for but you are spoilt for choices so don't worry.
They also serve food during the day and have a great bar and cakes.
I found our room was huge very clean and has a little kitchen-ette that was nice but we only had one small pan a little odd however again I am sure has we asked we could of gotten another so not an issue.The room was cleaned every day also.

It is in a really good spot and just of the main drag so you are not amongst all the noise of it all.
Just a street away and there it all is!

I say go and enjoy the price is great for where you are you'd pay more if staying elsewhere that close to all the good stuff!

Room Tip: did not have a pool or room service.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sydell F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Friendly staff, great location, lovely hotel! Room was basic (as the name suggests) but we upgraded to the superior studio for just over £50/night and it was lovely - clean, spacious and with a little sun-trap of a balcony which we did manage to use despite it being November! I would definitely stay here again as it was in a great location for sight-seeing and exploring and was great value for money!

Room Tip: Floor five was quiet and superior room was worth upgrading to
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RKenyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We booked one hotel room one apartment room and was given 2 apartment rooms. The apartment rooms are so disappointing that I almost wanted to switch hotel. Upon our request, we were given the hotel room we booked, which is ok.
Location is convenient, breakfast ok. Agree with others, it is more basic than chic.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Wasn't sure about booking this hotel but as soon as we walked in I knew I was going to love it. It is what it says- chic and basic - but not only that it was comfortable , clean and a good buffet style breakfast could be purchased in the morning. The staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. Handy central location.

Room Tip: Take teabags and /or coffee if you want a cuppa in your room - 2 electric rings, pots, mugs, plates...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giraffe61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
chic&basic Born Hotel
chic&basic Born Hotel
#106 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Arc La Rambla
Hotel Arc La Rambla
#103 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,317 reviews
El Raval
Andante
Andante
#87 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
SERHS Del Port Hotel
SERHS Del Port Hotel
#163 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
NH Barcelona Barri Gotic
NH Barcelona Barri Gotic
#109 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
El Raval
Acta Mimic Hotel
Acta Mimic Hotel
#211 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chic & Basic Ramblas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chic & Basic Ramblas

Property: Chic & Basic Ramblas
Address: Pasaje Gutenberg, 7, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#98 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#129 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#180 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chic & Basic Ramblas 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
chic&basic Ramblas is inspired by the Barcelona of the 1960s. In chic&basic Ramblas, the same as in that age, the playful and the creative are strongly united. With a photographic exposition on the doors of the 85 rooms, the passageways overflowing with colour and history, a green Seat 600 in the lobby and a restaurant with bar and terrace, the c&b Ramblas is an entire experience that will delight you.chic&basic Ramblas has all the services that make chic&basic the perfect place to enjoy your stay in the centre of Barcelona. Reception 24 hours, locked room for luggage, bar and restaurant, parking, free WiFi and a PC with free internet access in the lobby. Also, if you want to move about the city at your own pace, bicycles are available to rent. Once you try them, you won’t want to use any other transport in Barcelona.You can also enjoy our chic&basic tour, a two hour walk through Ciutat Vella in which we will mix history with some curiosities, as well as gastronomic and nightlife suggestions. Enjoy it on Tuesdays, Thursdays or Saturdays at 10:00am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, MyHotelShop, Priceline, Hotel.de, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Chic & Basic Ramblas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chic & Basic Ramblas Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing