We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy hotel an excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chic & Basic Ramblas
Ranked #177 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Trendy hotel an excellent location”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This hotel is amazing. It's all in the name. We booked on a special offer of only £50 a night for 3 nights but when I tried to book the next time I visited Barcelona It was double that price.
Excellent location right near the water. 2 minutes walk to the nearest tube station. Rooms are quite small but with everything you would need. Exceptionally clean. Spotless in fact! It even smelt nice. Nice big TV with the option to change language to English on certain channels if you fiddle with the settings. Comfy beds. The facilities to cook a basic meal but not many utensils. Barcelona is VERY expensive to eat in restaurants but we just got take away food and ate in our room.
TOP TIP. If buying food from supermarkets (and especially alcohol) avoid purchasing from anywhere near Las Ramblas. Walk about 5 mins in the opposite direction and there are larger supermarkets at half the price.
Could not find one fault with this place. There is the quaintest bar just around the corner which had musical poetry being performed. Only seats 20 at a push. Didn't understand a word but so romantic. Very diverse area so must be open minded.
Great for young couples or groups looking to stay right in the centre of the action and have a little extra to spend on somewhere trendy.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rafelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    498
    138
    33
    19
See reviews for
196
504
30
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Booked here for a lastminute business trip on a day where everything else around the area was fully booked. I usually treat my self o a 4 star when travelling for business, but I hd no other options around. Despite my scepticism also use to the vicinity with tourist area, this nice 3 star hotel turn out to be quite nice, well decorated, welcoming and with nice staff! Thumbs up also for the bar and breakfast offered. The room. Was a basic nicely furnished room with kitchenette.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank spasci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stayed in this Hotel for 7 nights in September 2013. Loved it. As already said staff were excellent It is perfectly located. Rooms were very clean. Clean towels and rooms cleaned every day. Shower was good. Hot water all the time. The only slight moan is storage cupboard too small but you can manage.

We did have fire alarm go off 3 times the first night we stayed. Everybody trooped downstairs. It was set off by smokers who we were told were removed the following morning.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 304 which looked out over small road. No traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vera R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed here early September and I have to say it is a very cool place, Chic and Basic as the name suggests, but location is spot on and the staff are fabulous....And I have to add that the young girl in the bar makes the best sangria's, she is an absolute delite, a credit to the hotel. Thank you all so much for a fabulous stay, I would highly recommend this place to anyone, no matter what your age :D

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Itisallaboutservice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

There's lots of positive things about this hotel but unfortunately getting some rest and a good night's sleep (or even an afternoon nap!) is too high on my list of priorities to be anything but negative. You might look at the location of this hotel and think that the reason I didn't sleep is because it is close to La Rambla. Not so. The Hotel has a bar with tables outside and so if you are on that side of the hotel, all you can hear is people talking and drinking outside your window all day and night followed by the chairs/tables being dragged in when the bar finally closes. This is made worse by the fact that the windows are single-glazing - it sounded like the party was in my room most of the time. It also means that every delivery, bin truck and all the pot-smokers who hang around outside (the hotel is down an alleyway) also sounded like they were in my room. Add to this that I was woken abruptly at 8am every morning (including weekends) by the housekeeping trolley being slammed against my door and then the rooms on either side of me being, well, cleaned I guess but it sounded like they were re-decorating. I complained about this on the Saturday morning. I got a repeat performance with louder talking on the Sunday. I was here on business and tried a couple of times to catch up with some rest later in the day but housekeeping were parked outside my room for the entire day every single day I was here! I should note that I was wearing earplugs the entire time (even during the daytime) To be fair, I will list the positives: Nice spacious room, cool/trendy style, nice shower, comfy bed, great location, decent breakfast (although with an unnecessarily convoluted system to actually get it. You have to stand in line to get your coffee before you are given a plate to get the buffet food which can take anything up to 20 mins..) I wouldn't stay again.

Room Tip: DO NOT stay in room 111, 211, 311, 411 etc or the rooms either side as this is where housekeeping pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Headmills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallejo, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Swimming pool and room service are not available in this hotel. The front desk staff is excellent and so helpful in answering questions about almost anything. We even asked them if they could find info regarding the Barça game and they did. Location is excellent near metro and on the popular Las Ramblas location. Felt very safe, rooms as in all of Europe are pretty small but good and basic. Would definitely recommend for a basic, clean, no frills, location and value. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock City
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This review pertains only to the café and service.

Waitstaff unhelpful, rude and unfriendly. They don't even speak a good Spanish. It's not even busy for breakfast, and the server seemed annoyed to help me. Her face just expressed it all.

The coffee is bitter and burned. The pastries look dry and old.

The interior seems nice, but based on the service, I would not recommend it.

Also, although the location is good, if you choose to stay here, be careful at night in this area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pandapatrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
chic&basic Born Hotel
chic&basic Born Hotel
#101 of 513 in Barcelona
751 reviews
El Raval
SERHS Del Port Hotel
SERHS Del Port Hotel
#173 of 513 in Barcelona
613 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Arc La Rambla
Hotel Arc La Rambla
#102 of 513 in Barcelona
2,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Andante
Andante
#87 of 513 in Barcelona
1,654 reviews
El Raval
Acta Mimic Hotel
Acta Mimic Hotel
#215 of 513 in Barcelona
2,615 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
NH Barcelona Barri Gotic
NH Barcelona Barri Gotic
#109 of 513 in Barcelona
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chic & Basic Ramblas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chic & Basic Ramblas

Property: Chic & Basic Ramblas
Address: Pasaje Gutenberg, 7, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#98 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#129 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#180 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chic & Basic Ramblas 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
chic&basic Ramblas is inspired by the Barcelona of the 1960s. In chic&basic Ramblas, the same as in that age, the playful and the creative are strongly united. With a photographic exposition on the doors of the 85 rooms, the passageways overflowing with colour and history, a green Seat 600 in the lobby and a restaurant with bar and terrace, the c&b Ramblas is an entire experience that will delight you.chic&basic Ramblas has all the services that make chic&basic the perfect place to enjoy your stay in the centre of Barcelona. Reception 24 hours, locked room for luggage, bar and restaurant, parking, free WiFi and a PC with free internet access in the lobby. Also, if you want to move about the city at your own pace, bicycles are available to rent. Once you try them, you won’t want to use any other transport in Barcelona.You can also enjoy our chic&basic tour, a two hour walk through Ciutat Vella in which we will mix history with some curiosities, as well as gastronomic and nightlife suggestions. Enjoy it on Tuesdays, Thursdays or Saturdays at 10:00am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chic & Basic Ramblas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chic & Basic Ramblas Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing