We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Aircon and more basic than chic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Chic & Basic Ramblas
Ranked #176 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Aircon and more basic than chic”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Hi I have just shortly returned from staying here. I had a double room (2 people) and the bed was really comfortable and clean. The bathroom leaked water into the centre of the bathroom floor area (which to be fair, had a drain in the centre, so i guess this is normal) but not so cool. On arrival the passage way floor was wet?? There was no chairs or table on the balcony, and one chair in the room so no where to sit and talk to each other or eat together. Airconditioning did not work (and it was hot!) so they moved us to another room, but again the Aircon failed. The hotel is more basis than chic but does have character down stairs in the shared space and is very close to the main street Las Ramblas but in a back street so quiet if you can ignore the kncoking sound of some motor. I wouldn't recommend this for a couple but staff were helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms are spacious but no cupboards forr clothes and only a very small waldrobe. Cooking facilities...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    484
    133
    33
    20
See reviews for
192
499
29
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Does what it says...chic and basic. No frills, but everything you need like soaps and shower gels; really quirky and fun hotel. Big rooms that are clean, light and airy with a small, basic kitchen, good enough to cook small meals. We had a balcony but not much of a view! Still nice to sit out in the evening. Excellent, quiet position just off La Rambla, but be careful of the back streets around the hotel, bit of a dodgy area where pick-pockets operate! Buffet breakfast with limited choice, but good quality and good value at only 7 euros. No restauranr in the evening but so many good restuarants nearby meant it didn't matter. Most (but not all!) staff were helpful and friendly. We stayed for 7 nights and had a really good experience at this hotel and it was an excellent base from which we explored the City and beaches. Would have scored this hotel a 5 if not for one or two grumpy staff!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank consumersrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We (2 people) stayed at the hotel four nights, and had a good experience. The room was nice and clean, with a very good bathrom and a small refrigerator. The furniture seemed new.

The inside of the hotel was undergoing some renovations while we were there, but it seemed like they were almost finished. Its gonna look quite nice when they are all done - wich they must be soon.

You can buy breakfast for 7 euro a person. We did that a couple of times, and it was ok. Nothing special.

The great advantage of this hotel though, is the location. 2 minutes from the Ramblas, near the harbour and very close to the Metro. Its also close to the Montjuïc-mountain with some great viewpoints. And you can walk to the beach in 20 minutes.

All in all very recommendable if you want a central location, and a basic but nice hotel.

Note: When we were there, there wasn't a "Chic & Basic"-sign outside. The entrance said "Gutenberg Apartments" - you will find the reception in there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Waterless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

The hotel is very well-located and reasonably priced. We were too early to check in but able to get changed and leave our bags securely. The room was good and just like the pictures online - excellent shower. The room safe did not work but they were happy to hold our passports in the main safe and we were travelling with very few valuables so no problem for us. We did ask about the safe and they were happy to have a look if we wanted (although we preferred to go and explore the city than wait). The manager was very helpful and friendly. I would definitely recommend the hotel although it is basic; it is reasonably priced and I doubt that there are many other options so well-located in Barcelona. We did not have the breakfast as it is about 5 minutes to a bakery and 2 minutes to a small supermarket. I would definitely go back to the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modena, Italy
Level Contributor
146 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

It appeared pretty "scaring" to me in a first hand but inside it has very comfortable and spacious room, very clean with all comforts and free Wi-Fi. The position is awesome cause it's very close to the Ramblas but not enough to hear the noise during the sleep...very good.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blacks85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
chic&basic Born Hotel
chic&basic Born Hotel
#107 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Arc La Rambla
Hotel Arc La Rambla
#104 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,308 reviews
El Raval
Andante
Andante
#86 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
SERHS Del Port Hotel
SERHS Del Port Hotel
#162 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
NH Barcelona Barri Gotic
NH Barcelona Barri Gotic
#109 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
El Raval
Acta Mimic Hotel
Acta Mimic Hotel
#211 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chic & Basic Ramblas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chic & Basic Ramblas

Property: Chic & Basic Ramblas
Address: Pasaje Gutenberg, 7, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#98 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#129 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#180 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chic & Basic Ramblas 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
chic&basic Ramblas is inspired by the Barcelona of the 1960s. In chic&basic Ramblas, the same as in that age, the playful and the creative are strongly united. With a photographic exposition on the doors of the 85 rooms, the passageways overflowing with colour and history, a green Seat 600 in the lobby and a restaurant with bar and terrace, the c&b Ramblas is an entire experience that will delight you.chic&basic Ramblas has all the services that make chic&basic the perfect place to enjoy your stay in the centre of Barcelona. Reception 24 hours, locked room for luggage, bar and restaurant, parking, free WiFi and a PC with free internet access in the lobby. Also, if you want to move about the city at your own pace, bicycles are available to rent. Once you try them, you won’t want to use any other transport in Barcelona.You can also enjoy our chic&basic tour, a two hour walk through Ciutat Vella in which we will mix history with some curiosities, as well as gastronomic and nightlife suggestions. Enjoy it on Tuesdays, Thursdays or Saturdays at 10:00am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, MyHotelShop, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Chic & Basic Ramblas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chic & Basic Ramblas Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing