We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“from Vancouver, Canada.... Amazing Time in Barcelona” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inside Barcelona Apartments Mercat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inside Barcelona Apartments Mercat
Ranked #106 of 760 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“from Vancouver, Canada.... Amazing Time in Barcelona”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

I stayed with Inside Barcelona, Mercat, with my two teen age children 17 and 13 this August 2013 for six days. We could not have had a better choice of a place to stay. even before arrival Paula and Carme were so helpful to set plans for activities; my son was thrilled to go to a Barcelona FC soccer game...! Paula was amazing and helpful throughout! The apartment is very modern and spacious; the location is the best in Barcelona.. El Born is close to the beach and the city centre, while not in the middle of the noise of the overrated Ramblas.. The apartment at Mercat was very convenient with trendy shops and restaurants close by.. le Franca train station is a block away... overall incredible stay with Inside Barcelona!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazem S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
30
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

My experience starts, when i first booked this hotel, few days later i got a very friendly mail from Paula asking me if i had any requests, or any questions about Barcelona, if i needed help in any kind to prepare my trip.

Barcelona is a big city and if you are a first timer or u just love this city! the location of these apartments in El Born District is just perfect.

Quick facts about the apartments :
-15 min walk from barcaloneta (the beach area)
- Supermarkets and cafes all around
- Zoo 5 min walk
- La Ramblas 15 min walk
- 5 min away there is a big sports center where u can pay your daily pass
- The apartments are exactly as the pictures, duplex 65 square meter, spotless, safe, everything you need fridge washing machine, desk ,Tv , i felt like HOME...

Now let me talk about the staff, i have never seen friendlier people....and they are so organised. You arrive you get a small map with the location of everything you need around the hotel (supermarket , gym, restaurants, they will give you advice about anything and they will be pleased to help). They have an office just 5 min away from the apartments you can pass anytime of the day and they will be more then happy to accommodate you. They even had the trouble to put a manual in English to help you use all electrical devices in the apartment.
I don 't remember all the names, but i would like to thank Paula and the girl from sweden (sorry forgot the name) and all the rest of the staff for a terrific stay. I would like to congratulate the owner/manager for picking such good staff and i hope they keep providing the same quality and they expend even more!

If i have to give one remark, they only clean the apartment on Tuesday (if you are staying a full week it can be a bit of a problem) but again they figured out away, you can hire extra towels or ask for an extra cleaning for a very small amount!!! THUMBS UP

I will come back again to Barcelona next year , i stayed between 27 july and 3 august and i will stay here again! I can advise this place to anyone, solo traveler , family, couple or even buisness.

Thanks again and i ll see you next year! Jacob

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jacooob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is a perfect place to stay if you're visiting Barcelona. Location is superb, located in El Born, it's within walking distance to Las Ramblas and Barceloneta beaches and restaurants and Ciutadella Park. Close to the apartment is all you need: supermarket, pharmacy, lots of cafes, restaurants and tapas bars. Transportation is also very good, metro and Estacion de Franca are two minutes away from the apartment.
Park and Barceloneta are perfect for jogging, and there are two swimming pools and a gym, just around the corner.
Apartment itself is very clean, modern and well furnished with all amenities you might need (including washing machine and dish washer) and air conditioning. Beds are very comfortable, so we had excellent sleep, the area is very quite, so there was no noise outside during the night.
Special kudos go to InsideBCN staff and first of all to Paula for being one great host. From the moment we booked the apartment to the moment we checked out she made sure our stay was perfect. All the recommendations she gave were perfect and overall her assistance and hospitality were outstanding. I've been to Barcelona quite a few times (around 10 actually I think), and I can easily say, that one was one of the best.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
297 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in August 13 - terrific apartment right next to new cultural centre (old markets site) just a stones throw from the great bars and eateries of the El Born area.

Service was terrific (thank you Paula) - from emailed arrival advice, escort to apartment, welcome pack, advice from supermarkets to haridressers, ticket bookings (& printing - saves you lots of time queuing at Sagrada Famila) we could not have been better looked after.

Apartment had everything we needed - ours had a twin bedroom downstairs and a living area, kitchen (with dishwasher and washing machine - with a dryer built in) and another smaller bedroom upstairs. Airconditioned but also had a lovelly big window which meant you could open it up andet in lots of light and fresh air and you could also see the castle on the hill above the port at night. Good for couple of a family with two small kids.

The area is easily travelled on foot but for ease of accessing the rest of Barcelona's delights there is an underground station about 5-10mins walk away. You can also walk to beach I'm about 20 mins - great place to head if the heat gets too much.

Could not have asked for anything better - thanks Inside Barcelona!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canberrafella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed at the end of June for few days in one of Mercat apartments; we weren’t lucky enough to have the access to a terrace, but except that, we had everything we need it for a great stay: a very good location (very close to Las Ramblas and the beach); all the instruments for a self catering style; nice furniture. Speaking about furniture, this was one of the points that make me decrease the stars: the single bed in the small bedroom was making such a big noise that my little boy was not able to fall asleep, but only with difficulty. The same noise we could hear it from our bedroom. We did not ask for a change in this matter, so I don’t know if they would have been able to help. Another minus for the apartment is the fact that you have to pay in order the towels to be changed/refreshed. This is going only to increase their expenses, as the guests will use the washing machine in order to correct that…
Other than that, I would recommend the apartments to anyone looking for a great location and great staff (the girls are having the answers to all of your questions!).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We are a family with a young child (almost 2) and we decided that for our city break, we would pay a little more and have an apartment.

We seen the positive reviews on here and they really are not exaggerated. The apartments are spotlessly clean, bundled with nice little features and in a really great location.

Our taxi cost 35 euro to the drop off point suggested by the company and the apartments are approximately 10 minutes walk from their offices. We were given a thorough explanation on the features of the apartment, places to visit and general transport advice by the representative who assured us they were always available if we required anything.

Travelling with a young child, we did require a cot and a baby bath (as our apartment only had a shower) and they were there on arrival.

The apartments came with WiFi included and had automatic closing window shutters to keep out the early morning sunlight if you wanted to sleep in.

There is plenty of other information on what to do in Barcelona so I will not echo that. I would try and split your time between Las Rambles and the harbour, as both offer different things.

The apartments were ideally situated, with the park and zoo behind you and the market in front. It is around 20-30 minutes walk to Las Rambles and about 20 minutes to the harbour. The walking is the best thing as you get to take in the city and the quaint shops and cafes it has to offer. You are far enough away not to be amongst the liveliness of Las Rambles but close enough for it to be easily accessible.

To conclude, the apartments offer you a great self catering experience at an ideal location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnfash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Location is great, since it is right there in El Born that has nice bars and restaurants and an easy going atmosphere. The terrace of the apartment has a beautiful view and is perfect for sunbathing, dining and breakfast etc. The only down side is, that the shower tank provides hot water for only 14 minutes at a time and takes 2 hours to fill up a again, which can be tricky when traveling with family or more than 2 adults. Service was good, they provided us with a lot of information and offered to be at service in case we had questions.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aquanaut1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
chic&basic Born Hotel
chic&basic Born Hotel
#106 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Inside Barcelona Apartments Esparteria
El Born / La Ribera
Inside Barcelona Apartments Vidreria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Born / La Ribera
Allada Apartments
Allada Apartments
#143 of 760 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
chic&basic Zoo Hotel
chic&basic Zoo Hotel
#87 of 325 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inside Barcelona Apartments Mercat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inside Barcelona Apartments Mercat

Property: Inside Barcelona Apartments Mercat
Address: Carrer Comercial 15, Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Inside Barcelona Apartments)
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 760 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inside Barcelona Apartments Mercat 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda, HRS and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Inside Barcelona Apartments Mercat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inside Barcelona Apartments Mercat Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing