We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good professionally run hotel in a fantastic position.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Cortes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Cortes
Ranked #255 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Allonne, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good professionally run hotel in a fantastic position.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

We have just spent 5 days in Barcelona and found this hotel very good indeed. They even had a fridge in the room. Breakfast was basic but good fresh croissants & bread. Beds were comfortable and the rooms clean, our room was street side but it didn't matter as no traffic was allowed up it most of the time. Barcelona was a really interesting city to visit my son even left his phone in a shop and it was handed in and returned to him!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy49650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    245
    110
    29
    12
See reviews for
79
197
58
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

I stayed here in February 2013. We got this hotel really cheap from bookings.com.
We paid only 170 EURO for 3 nights in a really nice room with all accessories you need + balcony + breakfast buffet in the morning.
The location is 100 meters from La Rambla. And if you walk the other directions you will be after 50 metres in the old part of the villages. Great location.

This was really nice and I would for sure stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtouristcph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed in a triple room with 3 single beds, plenty of room and lovely bathroom. Room was at the front of the hotel so may be a bit noiser at busier times of year, however small price to pay as the location is excellent only 1 min walk from La Rambla and Plaza Cataluyna.

Contintenal breakfast was good, nice lounge and internet terminal.

Would definately stay there again.

Room Tip: Higher floors easy to get to as lift is available
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cathyo32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

We arrived in Barcelona on a Saturday morning via Swissair. This means early AM. Understandably the room was not ready at 10 AM. The person at reception kept our luggage and very abruptly and with "no smile" asked to come back at 1PM. We wandered around for a couple of hours on the Rambla and placa Catalunya near by and after a good coffee we came back around noon. "Come back at 1PM" "Nosmile" told us again. I understand that rooms cannot be ready all at once but knowing that people are waiting and on jetlag should be be an incentive to make things happen .... but not with Nosmile. (the person in the evening had a smile)

The room was on the 5th floor with a view on the street. Small elevator for 2 and one baggage. Cozy and comfortable beds. Bathroom was clean but needed some renovations. At that height we kept the windows open and the noise was not disturbing at night. I had read on Trip Advisor about this hotel and one tip I had read was to keep a second keycard in the electric slot to have air conditioning on when you are away and come back to a cool room. What I found was that any plastic card can do. But we did not have to use much of the air conditioning as this was late October.

Breakfast included is a plus. The food was varied and of very good quality. Juices, cereals, fruits, croissant, cheese, cold cuts, etc. The smiling cappuccino person was a great daily perk me up... (unlike the daily person at the reception desk) and the coffee was so good that everyone was asking for a second. A lot of hotels in this category have their breakfast room in the basement, this one has it on the second floor with a window that gives on an inside courtyard with an entry to a church. Nice view and you can see the weather.

As mentioned around the corner is placa Catalunya where all the bus tours starts, with the Ingles Cortes department store and a supermarket in the basement. and right at the beginning of the Rambla .. a perfect location.

All in all, perfect for a short stay

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leo041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

fantastic location, just off la rambla. staff were helpful and friendly. The room was quite dated but clean- but considering the price and location was roomy.
breakfast is now a buffet and 'all u can eat' nice croissants - fresh every day.
we had a great tip loads to see but found it quite expensive eating out unless you stick to basic tapas.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lynne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ufa, Russia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

2 stars, but has very good location . My room was on 5th floor, very clean and I dıdnot have problem with any noise - so, I slept very well. Breakfast - fresh bread - and what I loves as well - very crispy, delicious croissant, good quality of coffee - they have right in the breakfast room very good coffee machine, and very kind guy who is looking there - probably from Phillipines - immediately doing it for you, no extra charge. Also what I want to say - I was alone - and location and place - just perfect for your safety. Thanks a lot for provide so good quality for such a price!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NadyaBashkirska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

The hotel is located in the very centre of Barcelona. Many sightseeings are within a walking distance. It is also close to metro station.
The hotel has everyday cleaning service.
Perfect location!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Syuzi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Catalunya
Hotel Catalunya
#300 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Nouvel Hotel
Nouvel Hotel
#230 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Denit Barcelona
Hotel Denit Barcelona
#135 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel California
Hotel California
#212 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Medium Monegal
Hotel Medium Monegal
#454 of 522 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Atlantis
Hotel Atlantis
#175 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cortes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cortes

Property: Hotel Cortes
Address: Santa Ana 25, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #255 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cortes 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Cortes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cortes Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Cortes Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing