We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”
Review of Hotel Cortes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Cortes
Ranked #270 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Brighton
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great location”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

very good price for this area room very compact but very clean well ventilated.staff very friendly& most helpful lovely lounge area with a PC you can use. you can leave your luggage on final day in a secure locked cupboard the Ramblas very Close lots of amazing architecture in the barrio gotica very close

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jojopirateface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    255
    113
    30
    12
See reviews for
85
204
59
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 6, 2012

A very sweet little hotel offering perfect location close to main centre, close to shops, market, and tourist connections. Excellent 'front of house' English speaking staff, very willing to offer assistance. Ask for a top floor balcony room!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maree P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jhkh09
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Location is good if you're interested in being near one of the major transportation hubs (Pz. Catalunya), want a staff that speaks excellent English, want to be close to las Ramblas, and are on a budget. We were looking for all of the above so were satisfied with our stay. Our room got excellent WiFi reception and was very quiet since it was on a higher floor and faced the courtyard rather than the street. We would stay there again if we were looking for a lower cost hotel near the Ramblas.

Before booking, I would caution readers to understand what they are getting for their low price and set expectations appropriately:
1) Breakfast. Not a typical American-style breakfast. You get 2-3 pastries, some ham and some cheese, plus coffee/OJ. If you want more, you'll have to seek out a breakfast place (but there are several close by).

2) Lobby- cute. Has a (slow) computer. No restaurant but breakfast is served in a nook.

3) Room-the room itself is nothing special. The colors are dark to hide cracks in the wall (we use this in my house as well--not trying to judge!), and the furniture is outdated...reminds me of a Days Inn in the US. Comfortable and usable, but definitely not fancy. Our bathroom really needed to be re-caulked as did the tile floors. One point that didn't bother us but might irritate others is that the key needs to be in the box in the room to keep the lights/power/AC on. This means that if you're in the room, the lights and AC are on...and if you're not (ie- you've locked the door and have the key with you), the room is warm and the power is off. Which means your mini fridge is off, you can't charge your phone, and the AC isn't on. I actually thought it was a great way to control your energy usage, but may bother some travelers.

4) Neighborhood- looks sketchy at night, but, for those who have never been to BCN, this is what you'll find on almost every street. The neighborhood looks completely different at 11am than it does at 11pm. The street generally does not smell like urine in the morning, which is more than I can say for some other streets...

Overall, we were very satisfied for our choice given the low rate per night. Just know what you're getting, and what you're not so you don't end up disappointed. This is not a "honeymoon suite" type hotel, and may not be the best for elderly travelers as the elevator is VERY slow and we often took the steep, narrow stairs instead.

Room Tip: high floor, facing courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jhkh09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jurmala, Latvia
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Comfortable location around City center.
All other characteristics are ok.
Good for short term stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

This location is perfect to stay near Las Ramblas! It is so easy to get from the airport should you take the local bus! The bus has room for luggage and the hotel is literally 1 block and a half away from the bus stop! The hotel is very clean, people are super friendly and the area is very safe.

It's a very simple hotel, so if you're looking for luxury, look another way. It's not a motel so it's worth the money you spent. We had typical european breakfast included, which is coffee and pasteries, but it's nice to have something in your belly before walking out for your adventure. Ask the front desk for advice on local eateries and best way to see the city. Although, the Filipino girl that works there seemed clueless and made many mistakes. The Spaniard girl that took the next shift completely redeemed our experience! I would definitely go back! Good price, Great Location, Easy access to public transportation and if you're all girls traveling... like we were, it felt very Safe!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cross312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Nice location, vvery near to rambla street and metro station and good value of money

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mohamedghanima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

excellent in every way. room equiet staff great, breakfast more tha we could eat.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flossie120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Nouvel Hotel
Nouvel Hotel
#222 of 513 in Barcelona
990 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Catalunya
Hotel Catalunya
#320 of 513 in Barcelona
399 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Lloret Ramblas
Hotel Lloret Ramblas
#265 of 513 in Barcelona
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Turin Hotel
Turin Hotel
#148 of 513 in Barcelona
904 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Medium Monegal
Hotel Medium Monegal
#446 of 513 in Barcelona
505 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Curious
Hotel Curious
#82 of 513 in Barcelona
1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cortes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cortes

Property: Hotel Cortes
Address: Santa Ana 25, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #270 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cortes 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cortes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cortes Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Cortes Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing