We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unpleasant experience”
Review of Hotel Urquinaona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Urquinaona
Ranked #430 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Singapore
1 review
“Unpleasant experience”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stained bed sheets caused skin allergies & room has poor ventilation, with toilet air outlet filled with mould & dust. Carpet filled with dust & does not seemed vacuum before check in. Basically the size of the room was not an issue but its the poor maintenance of the room that caused my family discomfort during stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Henry_Lim_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    156
    91
    44
    29
See reviews for
87
143
20
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aldergrove, British Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

The hotel was located a short walk (1 block) from the downtown airport bus stop in the middle of town. Spent 2 nights there prior to a Trans Atlantic cruise to Miami. A nice small hotel in a good location, the service was good in the hotel and restaurant and the staff was very pleasant and helpful. Room was ok, beds were on the soft side for us, bathroom has been upgraded and was great. Stay included breakfast that was more than sufficent and would have no problem staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
1 review
Reviewed November 12, 2012

IThe website gives you a total wrong idea about the rooms, I'll never go back to this hotel. Also because of the fact that there were some clothes stolen from our room! Not any reaction from the reception.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank N L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 10, 2012

The location was excellent, 5 min walk from Playa de Catalunya where the Areobus dropped us off & close to most major attractions. The room was small but served its purpose as a base for our 4 night stay. It was clean and comfortable. There was a large shower which was very powerful. The room we had 104 was very warm and only had a small window with no outlook you could hear the metro rumbling below.The breakfast was perfectly adequate but don't expect any hot food, coissants, donuts, some cereal, filled rolls etc. Internet access available on level 1. They were happy for us to leave our luggage all day when we checked out. Definately value for money. Staff were helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanN15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

The location is the reason to stay here. Our room was small, dark and shabby. Fortunately, the small beds were comfortable enough and the room was clean. It was a room to sleep and shower only. The lighting was not sufficient for reading and because of the building configuration, little light came in from outside. The small window looked directly into someone's bathroom about 15 feet away. The air conditioning was erratic and was either very warm or very cold.
The hotel personnel were friendly and helpful and the included breakfast was sufficient.
If you choose this hotel you might want to request a balcony room. They may be a little brighter and more cheery.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 6, 2012

First off it's in a great location and it's great value for money. The staff we're very helpful and pleasant. The room is a bit on the small side but that didn't bother us as we spent most of our time out exploring but it wouldn't bother me anyway. The room and the bathroom were very clean. We stayed 4 nights and every day our room was cleaned, bed made, clean towels etc. The shower is big and has a fine big shower head as well which we loved. There was only one English speaking channel on TV which was CNN but we didn't mind too much because again we didn't spend too much time in the room. I had read about problems with the free wi-fi but it worked absolutely perfectly for me on my iTouch. I was in room 402 so maybe you could ask for that room if you wanted. It does look out over the street with a nice little balcony and you can hear traffic at night but I'm a light sleeper and I slept like a baby every night.The breakfast was basic enough but overall I was very happy I chose this hotel and would definitely recommend it for its price range.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrishEye99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The Hotel location is excellent. Very centrally located.

However, the room (we were in room 501) was very small. We had difficulty in putting our two medium sized bags in the room. But for the price, it is a deal.

Bathroom was neat and clean.

Breakfast provided was very good to start the day.

I could not get the internet in my room despite the best efforts of the staff. The staff is good and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
3 Thank Baldev M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Be Ramblas Hotel
Be Ramblas Hotel
#387 of 513 in Barcelona
238 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hostal Lausanne
Hostal Lausanne
#396 of 513 in Barcelona
157 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Rey Don Jaime I
Hotel Rey Don Jaime I
#474 of 513 in Barcelona
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hotel Aneto
Hotel Aneto
#355 of 513 in Barcelona
484 reviews
Montjuic
Hotel Nuevo Triunfo
Hotel Nuevo Triunfo
#368 of 513 in Barcelona
267 reviews
Eixample
Barcelona City Hotel Universal
Barcelona City Hotel Universal
#383 of 513 in Barcelona
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Urquinaona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Urquinaona

Property: Hotel Urquinaona
Address: Ronda de Sant Pere 24, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #430 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Urquinaona 1*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Urquinaona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urquinaona Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Urquinaona Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing