We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good location, good location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Urquinaona

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Urquinaona
Ranked #416 of 519 Hotels in Barcelona
Phoenix
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good location, good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

The location is the reason to stay here. Our room was small, dark and shabby. Fortunately, the small beds were comfortable enough and the room was clean. It was a room to sleep and shower only. The lighting was not sufficient for reading and because of the building configuration, little light came in from outside. The small window looked directly into someone's bathroom about 15 feet away. The air conditioning was erratic and was either very warm or very cold.
The hotel personnel were friendly and helpful and the included breakfast was sufficient.
If you choose this hotel you might want to request a balcony room. They may be a little brighter and more cheery.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    148
    83
    42
    25
See reviews for
81
135
17
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

First off it's in a great location and it's great value for money. The staff we're very helpful and pleasant. The room is a bit on the small side but that didn't bother us as we spent most of our time out exploring but it wouldn't bother me anyway. The room and the bathroom were very clean. We stayed 4 nights and every day our room was cleaned, bed made, clean towels etc. The shower is big and has a fine big shower head as well which we loved. There was only one English speaking channel on TV which was CNN but we didn't mind too much because again we didn't spend too much time in the room. I had read about problems with the free wi-fi but it worked absolutely perfectly for me on my iTouch. I was in room 402 so maybe you could ask for that room if you wanted. It does look out over the street with a nice little balcony and you can hear traffic at night but I'm a light sleeper and I slept like a baby every night.The breakfast was basic enough but overall I was very happy I chose this hotel and would definitely recommend it for its price range.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrishEye99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

The Hotel location is excellent. Very centrally located.

However, the room (we were in room 501) was very small. We had difficulty in putting our two medium sized bags in the room. But for the price, it is a deal.

Bathroom was neat and clean.

Breakfast provided was very good to start the day.

I could not get the internet in my room despite the best efforts of the staff. The staff is good and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
3 Thank Baldev M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Best location and value for your money!
The perfect place to stay for a few nights!
The breakfast was very limited: bread, butter, juice and coffe or tea. For me, who can't eat bread, there was nothing instead of. Not even eggs!
We were four ladies and it was perfect otherwise, but I would not recommend it to families.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Stina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

Barcelona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

The hotel was good in general, although the price was high for the general quality. The 502 room was a sauna. It was even difficult to get cold water on the shower.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank JavierBarcel0na
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kortrijk, Belgium
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights from 10 to 12 October in room 102 which faces the street.

We had requested a double bed (double room) in our reservation but got a room with 2 separate beds instead (twin room). After we saw the room, we asked at the reception to change and got offered room 301. This room was about half the size of room 102 with a bed that had to be put against the wall due to lack of space. As this room looked like a prison cell, we changed back to the room we got initially offered.

Positive points:
- Location: next to the metro & 5min walk to Placa de Catalunya
- Nice breakfast: croissants, baguettes, fresh fruit (melon, pineapple), donuts.
- Big rain shower in the bathroom
- Fridge & safe in the room

Negative points:
- Airco not working properly: even when the temperature was put on 5 degrees, the room stayed hot as hell during the night. On top of this, the airco was very loud.

- Noisy: the hotel is located in a busy street with many busses & cars passing by. As the metro runs underneath, you could feel it shaking. As a result, opening the window at night to cool down was not an option.

- Wifi not working: signal was too weak and in this 3 days period I did not succeed once in getting a wireless connection with my ipad/ smartphone (note: internet on pc in hall on first floor did work)

- Beds: extremely soft/ old mattresses which were very uncomfortable

- Finishing of the room: Walls & furniture were damaged. The chair that was put in the room came straight from the outside terrace from the bar located downstairs

- Blankets:These could use a wash

Room Tip: Avoid at all cost rooms that end with a 1 or face the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxim1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
H10 Urquinaona Plaza Hotel
H10 Urquinaona Plaza Hotel
#25 of 519 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hostal Lausanne
Hostal Lausanne
#386 of 519 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hostal Paris
Hostal Paris
#477 of 519 in Barcelona
3.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Meson Castilla Atiram
Meson Castilla Atiram
#202 of 519 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Pension Segre
Pension Segre
#483 of 519 in Barcelona
3.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Eixample
Gran Ducat Hotel
Gran Ducat Hotel
#371 of 519 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Urquinaona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Urquinaona

Property: Hotel Urquinaona
Address: Ronda de Sant Pere 24, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #416 of 519 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Urquinaona 1*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Urquinaona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urquinaona Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Urquinaona Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing