We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Happy with Hotel”
Review of Hotel Urquinaona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Urquinaona
Ranked #458 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed November 6, 2012

First off it's in a great location and it's great value for money. The staff we're very helpful and pleasant. The room is a bit on the small side but that didn't bother us as we spent most of our time out exploring but it wouldn't bother me anyway. The room and the bathroom were very clean. We stayed 4 nights and every day our room was cleaned, bed made, clean towels etc. The shower is big and has a fine big shower head as well which we loved. There was only one English speaking channel on TV which was CNN but we didn't mind too much because again we didn't spend too much time in the room. I had read about problems with the free wi-fi but it worked absolutely perfectly for me on my iTouch. I was in room 402 so maybe you could ask for that room if you wanted. It does look out over the street with a nice little balcony and you can hear traffic at night but I'm a light sleeper and I slept like a baby every night.The breakfast was basic enough but overall I was very happy I chose this hotel and would definitely recommend it for its price range.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IrishEye99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (387)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 387 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2012

The Hotel location is excellent. Very centrally located.

However, the room (we were in room 501) was very small. We had difficulty in putting our two medium sized bags in the room. But for the price, it is a deal.

Bathroom was neat and clean.

Breakfast provided was very good to start the day.

I could not get the internet in my room despite the best efforts of the staff. The staff is good and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
3  Thank Baldev M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
3  Thank PriestLewis
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Best location and value for your money!
The perfect place to stay for a few nights!
The breakfast was very limited: bread, butter, juice and coffe or tea. For me, who can't eat bread, there was nothing instead of. Not even eggs!
We were four ladies and it was perfect otherwise, but I would not recommend it to families.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Stina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

The hotel was good in general, although the price was high for the general quality. The 502 room was a sauna. It was even difficult to get cold water on the shower.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank JavierBarcel0na
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights from 10 to 12 October in room 102 which faces the street.

We had requested a double bed (double room) in our reservation but got a room with 2 separate beds instead (twin room). After we saw the room, we asked at the reception to change and got offered room 301. This room was about half the size of room 102 with a bed that had to be put against the wall due to lack of space. As this room looked like a prison cell, we changed back to the room we got initially offered.

Positive points:
- Location: next to the metro & 5min walk to Placa de Catalunya
- Nice breakfast: croissants, baguettes, fresh fruit (melon, pineapple), donuts.
- Big rain shower in the bathroom
- Fridge & safe in the room

Negative points:
- Airco not working properly: even when the temperature was put on 5 degrees, the room stayed hot as hell during the night. On top of this, the airco was very loud.

- Noisy: the hotel is located in a busy street with many busses & cars passing by. As the metro runs underneath, you could feel it shaking. As a result, opening the window at night to cool down was not an option.

- Wifi not working: signal was too weak and in this 3 days period I did not succeed once in getting a wireless connection with my ipad/ smartphone (note: internet on pc in hall on first floor did work)

- Beds: extremely soft/ old mattresses which were very uncomfortable

- Finishing of the room: Walls & furniture were damaged. The chair that was put in the room came straight from the outside terrace from the bar located downstairs

- Blankets:These could use a wash

Room Tip: Avoid at all cost rooms that end with a 1 or face the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maxim1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We had a room on the 4th floor with a balcony. The room was very small but clean. The other rooms on this floor were larger but the balcony was worth it. The breakfast was really good and the staff very helpful. It is too bad the room did not have a coat of paint. the back of the door was pretty beat up and the baseboards needed some work but overall it was a good experience. There was a small fridge but the wifi did not work so don't be surprised, There is a computer for guests located on the first floor and that worked well. Recommended for those who do not intend to spend a lot of time in their room. Traffic noise was minimal over night and two sets of curtains covered the balcony entrance so light and noise was never a problem. There is a metro station really close by.

Room Tip: If you want air and light get the room on the 4th floor with the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raymondocanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Barcelona City Hotel Universal
Barcelona City Hotel Universal
#389 of 515 in Barcelona
269 reviews
El Raval
Be Ramblas Hotel
Be Ramblas Hotel
#407 of 515 in Barcelona
248 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hostal Lausanne
Hostal Lausanne
#433 of 515 in Barcelona
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Rey Don Jaime I
Hotel Rey Don Jaime I
#476 of 515 in Barcelona
259 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hostal Paris
Hostal Paris
#483 of 515 in Barcelona
309 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Barbara
Hotel Barbara
#480 of 515 in Barcelona
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Urquinaona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Urquinaona

Address: Ronda de Sant Pere 24, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #458 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range: $57 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Urquinaona 1*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Urquinaona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urquinaona Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Urquinaona Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing