We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“welcome to the hotel california.”
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel California
Ranked #254 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed December 23, 2011

arrived 8thdec. The hotel is in a side street just off la ramblas. Clean,tidy hotel,Friendly receptionists. Room was basic but comfortable. Location is perfect to explore the city. It is onlt 2 star,but I,ve stayed in worse 3 star hotels. If your on a budget it,s ideal.We had 2 balconies and noise is not a problem,even after "Barca " beat real madrid,the atmosphere was electric but very enjoyable... We would definately go back.

Room Tip: choose a corner room if possible for the extra balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (667)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

262 - 268 of 667 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2011

The hotel was nice and clean and great staff. Breakfast was good and the price was very cheap. The location is great just off Las Ramblas and soo handy .

Room Tip: If you have difficulty getting up stairs you do need to ask for a groaund floor room as ours was on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinkmarch52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
admincalifornia, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel California, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2011

Good morning,

thank you every much for your criticism and comments.
We are very pleased to you had a good experience in our Hotel California.
Just there is a misunderstanding that of course we have a lift-elevator in our hotel.

We wish you a Merry Christmas and a happy new year 2012.
We hope see you soon.

Thank you and best regards!

Hotel California

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Stayed here in a single room for four nights in early November. Small bedroom but clean and comfortable but not the type of room to spend much time in other than to sleep.
Very close to the old city and the Ramblas with many places to eat and drink nearby.
Good continental breakfast included with helpful freindly staff on duty. A safe and friendly place to stay at a reasonable price if you are out and about most of the time as there is plenty to see and do in this wonderful city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back to enjoy a quiet night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheepshearer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

I just stayed for 3 nights with my wife. What a great little hotel, great location (so near to La Ramblas, Plac de Catalunya and the marina areas. The staff were friendly, knowledgeable and very helpful. The room was clean and continental breakfast a great start to the day. My wife was so impressed she is looking forward to going again to Barcelona and we will definitely stay at the Hotel California again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chips_Chipolatas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

we spent 3 nights in the hotel california for my husband's birthday.
couldn't fault the room at all. we had 2 little balconies (e were on a corner). the sheets were spotless, the bathroom spotless, with plenty hot water. the towels were changed every day. breakfast was typical continental style with fresh bread, cheese, ham, cakes, croissants, cereals, various styles of coffee, fruit juice. the only gripe i had was that adele cd was played every morning (groannn!) i would have been nice to have a different one every day. i now can't STAND adele songs!
however this was the ONLY complaint!
the staff throughout the hotel were really nice and helpful.
al in all we had a wonderful stay and looking forward to returning!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shirleyanne_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

My daughter and I are just back from a weekend break in Barcelona. We stayed at the Hotel California and were not disappointed. Having booked the flights and hotel through Easyjet for, frankly, a song, I was slightly concerned about the accommodation. I read some earlier, fairly negative reviews on the hotel with particular regard to noise,cleanliness, and the attitude of the front desk clerks.

To address these concerns in reverse order, the guys in reception were absolutely charming and couldn't do enough for us - I simply couldn't fault them. As for the room, we had a twin which was spotlessly clean; the bathroom was sparkling and the sheets had been brutally laundered. Noise was not an issue - when the balcony doors were open, we enjoyed listening to the sounds from the street - isn't that part of the city experience? When we closed the doors - nothing.

Breakfast was fine - bread, cheese, muffins, jams, juice and coffee (various from a machine), very filling, relaxed with nobody looking over your shoulder waiting to clear the table, which I experienced in a Hilton once.

The best thing about Hotel California is that when you walk out of the front door you are immersed in the essence of Barcelona. The architecture imposes itself; you can walk to numerous galleries as we did and the opera house is across the way, (not continuous productions).

You will see deprivation, homelessness and desperation around the hotel and nearby. You'll also see individuals, restaurants and officials, (police and security staff), in the immediate area and further afield, taking a wonderfully tolerant and compassionate approach to those marginalised people.

If I have one gripe about the California, it's that there was no mirror in the bedroom. As a woman who MUST wash and then straighten her hair every day, I needed that. The bathroom steams up and defeats the object, plus there is no socket there anyway!

Otherwise, what a wonderful place from which to explore the city? We walked to the "Touristic Bus" for a tour, (Catalunya Square), The Museum of Modern Art, The Picasso Museum and the Gaudi buildings, along with many other landmarks.

The California is a great base from which to experience every aspect of life in Barcelona, as long as you're happy with living briefly in an alley. We loved it.

Room Tip: Our room, with balcony, over the narrow street was great - atmospheric yet quiet when the doors were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

I stayed at the Hotel California for a couple of days before flying out of Barcealona after a conerfence outside of town. Everything people have posted about the helpfulness of the front desk staff is true. I was there during a festival, when it was difficult to get taxis/buses downtown, and they were very helpful providing suggestions about how to get to the airport. My room was small but spotless- a perfect base for exploring Barcelona. It is a bit difficult to find- but if you read other posts you will be fine. Our taxi couldn't get as close as usually because of all the festival related traffic, and we had to search for a bit- but it is literally right off of a main shopping street, and near a subway stop. The breakfast buffet is very generous for a complimentary breakfast, so I encourage you to take advantage of it. It is in a basement room that reminds me of a subway tunnel that had undergone a makeover show. I think there must have been lots of recent renos- lots of touches I wouldn't have chosen for my own home (e.g. Lighting in shower), but there was much more effort into mood/styling than you would typically find in a hotel in this price range. I felt quite safe staying there as a woman traveling alone, and didn't find the street/ neighborhood dangerous at all (as I read in some other reviews).

Room Tip: I had an interior court yard room. Very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank molebert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel Curious
Hotel Curious
#87 of 516 in Barcelona
1,543 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Cuatro Naciones
Hotel Cuatro Naciones
#195 of 516 in Barcelona
1,001 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Roma Reial Hotel
Roma Reial Hotel
#345 of 516 in Barcelona
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Adagio
Hotel Adagio
#328 of 516 in Barcelona
550 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Atlantis
Hotel Atlantis
#158 of 516 in Barcelona
687 reviews
Eixample
Amra Barcelona Gran Via
Amra Barcelona Gran Via
#355 of 516 in Barcelona
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Address: c/Rauric 14, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#163 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $68 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel California 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel California is an urban hotel in the main centre of Barcelona. It's ​​recently refurbished and modernised and located in the historic, cultural and commercial heart of Barcelona. Only 1 minute's walk from the famous Ramblas and very close to the main tourist attractions of the city (the Gothic Quarter, La Pedrera, famous theatres and museums, cinemas, restaurants, shopping, the Port, etcetera). It is mainly characterised by an excellent customer and cleaning service that makes guests feel at home and experience a nice and comfortable stay in Barcelona. The hotel also offers you free services: WIFI (throughout the hotel), continental breakfast, hotel safe, room service and reception 24 hours and amenities. Its rooms have air conditioning / heating, LCD TV, international TV channels, telephone, desk, soundproofed windows and have private own bathroom with hairdryer, towels and everyday amenities. Its staff will help you in everything you need. All to experience an excellent value in the centre of Barcelona. Come and stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Barcelona
Ca Barcelona
Hotel California Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing