We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel - Best Service!”
Review of Hotel Espana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Espana
Ranked #102 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Staff made this stay just perfect, especially the butlers. Our room was really nice and chic. Bathroom was impeccable. Only issue we had with our room was our bed (two singles pushed together) but we made do.
There is a bar on the roof top with a plunge pool and lounges decorated with Moet & Chandon pillows, really nice!
Restaurant downstairs (Fonda Espana) is highly recommended, you will need to book at least 2 or 3 days in advance.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janelle82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Firstly thank you so much for taking the time to post these kind words following your stay with us in Hotel España.
I feel really proud about your comments about the behavior of Hotel España staff. We are happy to know we made you enjoy and we do hope to welcome you very soon in the near future.
My best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,631)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

892 - 898 of 1,631 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Hotel de España has been lovingly restored by its present owners to its former Art Nouveau glory. The rooms are comfortable, airy and modern and the restaurant simply superb - and inexpensive (the menu of the day costs around Euro 26, including a glass of wine). It is possible simply to take a tour of the building to see the Belle Epoque decoration, but - if you are not staying at the hotel - be sure to stay for at least one meal.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robert m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your very kind words following your stay at Hotel España.
I am delighted to read that you had a wonderful time with us and I really appreciate your comments about the restaurant Fonda España.You are right, it worth it and it is a really good restaurant to taste traditional cuisine in a historic setting.

Looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future. My kindest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

The hotel features an exquisite design maintaining the past along with a modern touch.
The location was absolutely superb, a few steps from the Ramblas.
We booked an executive room and received a modern room with all the luxury amenities needed.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dannyalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Firstly, thank you so much for taking the time to write your review following your stay at Hotel España.
I am absolutely delighted to know that we have met your expectations on your stay.
Thank you also for recommending us. Perhaps we are not the best, but we daily work hard for our costumers satisfaction and I am happy to know we are in the right way!

Hoping to welcoming you back again very soon. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Unbelievable hotel! Modern and beautiful oasis right off the bustling Las Ramblas. Should be 5 star! We booked a standard room, which was a tad small but great and on our first night noticed a small problem with our shower. We were immediately moved to a superior room with a balcony which was fantastic! Staff were very helpful and welcoming. We would certainly return to Hotel Espana.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Firstly thank you very much for choosing Hotel España for your stay in Barcelona and for your time, writing about your experience with us.
Thank you for your very nice comments. We work very hard for our costumers satisfaction and it is very rewarding to know we made you enjoy.

Hoping to welcoming you personally very soon, my best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Arrived 21st July for 4 nights. Both Efficient and friendly check-in. The Hotel looked immaculate and this extended to the room, the view was onto a courtyard so not the prettiest of sites but there were net curtains up so no problem. The rooms though smaller than expected it had every thing required. The bathroom was modern with separate WC and 2 sinks which I prefer. The Bedding and towels etc were like new and again everything was immaculate. We took Breakfast in the bar downstairs rather than the main breakfast room as I prefer the coffee in the bar. Now the Terrace bar was my favourite place, though it didn't look big there were 5 or 6 tables each with 4 chairs in front of the bar, 6 sun beds and again 5 or 6 covered areas to sit or sleep like I did. Fresh towels and a small pool area or plunge pool which was extremely convenient with temperatures of 39degrees. The bar staff were both polite, friendly and nothing was to much trouble, if I was to single out any members of staff it would be have to be up on the terrace. They remembered your room No' your drink and how you like your coffee, especially the man from Argentina who seemed to appear everywhere you went, terrace bar, downstairs bar and was even spotted serving in the breakfast room. Wonderful time, didn't want to leave. Excellent location.

Room Tip: Pay a little more if you need more space, but if it's just to sleep, relax and cleanse then this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wendelena50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing Hotel España for your stay in our city and for your very nice words to us.
We work very hard for the satisfaction of our guests and it is very rewarding to know we made you enjoy.

Looking forward to welcoming you very soon at Hotel España! Cordially yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Beautiful interior of this little boutique hotel. The rooms are tiny, even by European standards, but they are clean and nice looking. Location is excellent. The prices here are good compared with other hotels in the area and you get a pretty good bang for your buck.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank go12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

First of all Iw ould like to thank you for having chosen Hotel España for your recent trip to Barcelona.
I highly appreciate to have your feedback since we are always concerned by the remarks and satisfactions of our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel very soon. My best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I was encouraged to book this hotel due to its location and the fact that it was a historic building. The location right off The Ramblas could not have been more convenient. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our deluxe room was modern, comfortable and quiet. I found the decor in the public rooms rather bland, however, the building itself is interesting. Overall to be thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

I would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay in Barcelona and for posting your review.

We are very pleased to learn you have enjoyed your stay with us and that the staff was helpful while your stay. Thank you for sharing it with us!

Also, thank you very much for recommending Hotel España.

Looking forward to welcoming you in the near future. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
La Rambla
Oriente Atiram
Oriente Atiram
#224 of 516 in Barcelona
1,667 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel DO
Hotel DO
#6 of 516 in Barcelona
929 reviews
El Raval
Barcelo Raval
Barcelo Raval
#106 of 516 in Barcelona
3,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
#55 of 516 in Barcelona
2,109 reviews
El Raval
NH Barcelona Ramblas
NH Barcelona Ramblas
#132 of 516 in Barcelona
1,224 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Port
Catalonia Port
#69 of 516 in Barcelona
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Espana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Espana

Address: Carrer Sant Pau 9-11, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#79 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#118 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $114 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Espana 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 Star Superior Hotel Espana is located in the heart of Barcelona's historic centre, adjacent to La Rambla, the Gran Teatre del Liceu and the Gothic Quarter. Opened in 1859, it was later renovated by the celebrated modernist architect Lluis Domenech i Montaner. The hotel has always been considered a little gem of Barcelona modernism. Completely renovated in 2010, it combines modern interior design with the classicism of a nineteenth century building. The hotel's restaurant service is under the management of the chef Martin Berasategui. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Espana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Espana Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing