We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Espana
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hostal River(Barcelona)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Peninsular(Barcelona)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Oriente Atiram(Barcelona)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Flor Parks Hotel(Barcelona)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Gaudi(Barcelona)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,680)
Filter reviews
1,680 results
Traveler rating
902
577
136
39
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
902
577
136
39
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslas ramblasbeautiful hotelside streetrooftop barsant pauliceu metro stationdeluxe roomperfect locationplunge poolmini bargothic quarterla boqueriarooms are smalltop floorstayed here for nightstapascity break
Filter
Updating list...
949 - 954 of 1,680 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed for three nights here and had a really great time.
We used The Espana as a base to explore the city but enjoyed the time we did spend in the hotel very much.
The fascinating architecture and very friendly staff really gave this place a warm shine (despite a day of heavy rain).
All of our needs were catered for extremely well, especially on our day of arrival where after a long day of travelling we were able to relax and sleep without being disturbed.
We chose not to eat at the hotel as there were too many other places that we wanted to try but the restaurant looked fantastic and perhaps we will give it a try next time we are in Barca.
Thanks to all the staff for making our stay memorable.

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor are best (although a little pricey) but we were kindly offered a complimentary upgrade to one of these as it was off season and we had experienced a slight mix up upon check in.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Firstly thank you for taking the time to write your review following your stay at Hotel España.
I am absolutely delighted to know that Hotel España and its staff have met your expectations on this stay. We work very hard for our guests satisfaction.

For the next time I tempt you to taste our Fonda España restaurant, very good food and service at a moderate price. it worth it!!

Looking forward to see you very soon. Cordially yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Perfect place to stay for a citytrip. Metro is near to all big touristic places as Camp Nou/Parc Guell/...Very easy to use for transport in the city.

We had an executive room. Not very big for this kind of room but with a nice, big terrace to enjoy the sun or stay in the evening. No noise of the street as the rooms are on the highest floor.

We will be back!

Room Tip: The rooms on the fifth floor = executive rooms are very nice. Spacious terrace, nice views and no noise of the street as the hotel is located near to the Ramblas.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fcbibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen Hotel España for your recent trip to Barcelona.
We appreciate to have your feedback since we are always concerned by the remarks and satisfactions of our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel España very soon. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The Hotel was beautiful very friendly staff very happy to help , did have some reservations after a couple of reviews on trip advisor re - the lower end of the street , but it was fine there wasn't really any need to head down that end which brings me to location , GREAT far enough away from the main La Ramblas to not get any of the noise . We were located on the 3rd floor overlooking the narrow street which once the door was shut you didn't hear Any noise at all , although you could hear people in the other rooms at times.The Terrace bar was lovely friendly staff great seating and looked great in the evening . We ate in the restaurant which was also very nice with lovely food . Overall Great location lovely friendly staff , Beautiful Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimn1_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave your very kind words to us following your stay at Hotel España.
Congratulations for your 10th Anniversary Wedding and thank you for having chosen us for its celebration.
We are happy to read that you have had a wonderful time with us and that you also have enjoyed our restaurant Fonda España and the beautiful terrace on the roof top.

I really do hope that you come back and stay with us again in the very near future.
My kindest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Just come back from 4 nights at the Hotel Espana and enjoyed my stay here.

Location wise it is very centrally located and a short walk from Liceu metro station (exit via the Theatre end!). The side road to the hotel is shabby, busy and, at first glance a little intimidating but we never experienced any trouble.

Once we were inside the hotel it was very nice and you can understand why the hotel gives tours. The staff were very friendly and professional (and good English speakers which was a relief) and the room was clean and functional. I had asked for a double bed and a balcony and got both of these and, having booked via the hotel, got WIFI included within the price. The WIFI was reliable and fast. The hotel and room was very clean.

The room used the available space effectively (ok, a little cramped) but the bed was comfy, the blackout curtains excellent and the shower powerful and so no complaints from me. You could hear the noise from the street but only just.

The pool is a plunge pool and it was a little cold but the Jacuzzi was good and it was warm enough to lie on the loungers and have a drink from the upstairs bar.

I didn't go to the bar or the restaurant so can't comment on those.

I was happy with what I received for what I paid - compared to London hotels this was a bargain considering its central location!

Travelling to the hotel:
On our way we got the metro from El Prat airport and it took just under two hours to get to the hotel. On the way back the hotel organised a cab for us and the cab cost charged 38 euros which was a little more than expected (got a 4 euros surcharge for having 2 bags!) but the journey was just under 30 minutes.

Places to visit:
La Bocqueria - stone's throw from the hotel and very good
Placa Reial - pretty square very close to hotel where you can get a good meal
Montserrat - go as early as possible as gets very crowded (08:36 train)
Picasso museum - closed on Monday but fascinating to see his development as an artist.
Desigual shops - seemingly countless numbers of these that my girlfriend enjoyed...

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matriceli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay in Barcelona and for letting us know about your experience with us.
Thank you also for your detailed description which helps other visitors before arriving to the city and the hotel.

I am very pleased to hear your received a good service from our staff. We work very hard for the satisfaction of our guest and it is very rewarding to know we made you enjoy.

For the next time you visit us, I invite you to enjoy a good catalan cuisine in our Fonda España Restaurant and the best cocktails in our nice terrace Alaire RAmblas on the roof top. They worth it!

Looking forward to welcoming you at Hotel España in the near future. Cordially yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This hotel was located just off La Ramblas near the food markets and a 5-10 minute walk from Placa de Catalunya. Our room (twin) was quiet at night and the single beds were comfortable. The room was small but actually quite large for European standards - especially the bathroom - and all fittings and fixtures were clean and modern. The room has a safe and a fridge. The water pressure in the shower was great! The staff were friendly and helpful. The only annoyances were that there was no tea/coffee facilities in the room and no ventilation in the bathroom. i would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank myyaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay in Barcelona and for letting us know about your experience with us.
We are very pleased to hear your received a good service from our staff. We work very hard for the satisfaction of our guest and it is very rewarding to know we made you enjoy.

Thank you very much for recommending us!

We look forward to welcoming you at Hotel España in the near future. Cordially yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews