We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I fantastic city break”
Review of Hotel Espana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Espana
Ranked #102 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed for three nights here and had a really great time.
We used The Espana as a base to explore the city but enjoyed the time we did spend in the hotel very much.
The fascinating architecture and very friendly staff really gave this place a warm shine (despite a day of heavy rain).
All of our needs were catered for extremely well, especially on our day of arrival where after a long day of travelling we were able to relax and sleep without being disturbed.
We chose not to eat at the hotel as there were too many other places that we wanted to try but the restaurant looked fantastic and perhaps we will give it a try next time we are in Barca.
Thanks to all the staff for making our stay memorable.

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor are best (although a little pricey) but we were kindly offered a complime...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Firstly thank you for taking the time to write your review following your stay at Hotel España.
I am absolutely delighted to know that Hotel España and its staff have met your expectations on this stay. We work very hard for our guests satisfaction.

For the next time I tempt you to taste our Fonda España restaurant, very good food and service at a moderate price. it worth it!!

Looking forward to see you very soon. Cordially yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,631)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

921 - 927 of 1,631 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2013

Perfect place to stay for a citytrip. Metro is near to all big touristic places as Camp Nou/Parc Guell/...Very easy to use for transport in the city.

We had an executive room. Not very big for this kind of room but with a nice, big terrace to enjoy the sun or stay in the evening. No noise of the street as the rooms are on the highest floor.

We will be back!

Room Tip: The rooms on the fifth floor = executive rooms are very nice. Spacious terrace, nice views and no no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fcbibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen Hotel España for your recent trip to Barcelona.
We appreciate to have your feedback since we are always concerned by the remarks and satisfactions of our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel España very soon. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The Hotel was beautiful very friendly staff very happy to help , did have some reservations after a couple of reviews on trip advisor re - the lower end of the street , but it was fine there wasn't really any need to head down that end which brings me to location , GREAT far enough away from the main La Ramblas to not get any of the noise . We were located on the 3rd floor overlooking the narrow street which once the door was shut you didn't hear Any noise at all , although you could hear people in the other rooms at times.The Terrace bar was lovely friendly staff great seating and looked great in the evening . We ate in the restaurant which was also very nice with lovely food . Overall Great location lovely friendly staff , Beautiful Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimn1_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave your very kind words to us following your stay at Hotel España.
Congratulations for your 10th Anniversary Wedding and thank you for having chosen us for its celebration.
We are happy to read that you have had a wonderful time with us and that you also have enjoyed our restaurant Fonda España and the beautiful terrace on the roof top.

I really do hope that you come back and stay with us again in the very near future.
My kindest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Just come back from 4 nights at the Hotel Espana and enjoyed my stay here.

Location wise it is very centrally located and a short walk from Liceu metro station (exit via the Theatre end!). The side road to the hotel is shabby, busy and, at first glance a little intimidating but we never experienced any trouble.

Once we were inside the hotel it was very nice and you can understand why the hotel gives tours. The staff were very friendly and professional (and good English speakers which was a relief) and the room was clean and functional. I had asked for a double bed and a balcony and got both of these and, having booked via the hotel, got WIFI included within the price. The WIFI was reliable and fast. The hotel and room was very clean.

The room used the available space effectively (ok, a little cramped) but the bed was comfy, the blackout curtains excellent and the shower powerful and so no complaints from me. You could hear the noise from the street but only just.

The pool is a plunge pool and it was a little cold but the Jacuzzi was good and it was warm enough to lie on the loungers and have a drink from the upstairs bar.

I didn't go to the bar or the restaurant so can't comment on those.

I was happy with what I received for what I paid - compared to London hotels this was a bargain considering its central location!

Travelling to the hotel:
On our way we got the metro from El Prat airport and it took just under two hours to get to the hotel. On the way back the hotel organised a cab for us and the cab cost charged 38 euros which was a little more than expected (got a 4 euros surcharge for having 2 bags!) but the journey was just under 30 minutes.

Places to visit:
La Bocqueria - stone's throw from the hotel and very good
Placa Reial - pretty square very close to hotel where you can get a good meal
Montserrat - go as early as possible as gets very crowded (08:36 train)
Picasso museum - closed on Monday but fascinating to see his development as an artist.
Desigual shops - seemingly countless numbers of these that my girlfriend enjoyed...

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matriceli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay in Barcelona and for letting us know about your experience with us.
Thank you also for your detailed description which helps other visitors before arriving to the city and the hotel.

I am very pleased to hear your received a good service from our staff. We work very hard for the satisfaction of our guest and it is very rewarding to know we made you enjoy.

For the next time you visit us, I invite you to enjoy a good catalan cuisine in our Fonda España Restaurant and the best cocktails in our nice terrace Alaire RAmblas on the roof top. They worth it!

Looking forward to welcoming you at Hotel España in the near future. Cordially yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This hotel was located just off La Ramblas near the food markets and a 5-10 minute walk from Placa de Catalunya. Our room (twin) was quiet at night and the single beds were comfortable. The room was small but actually quite large for European standards - especially the bathroom - and all fittings and fixtures were clean and modern. The room has a safe and a fridge. The water pressure in the shower was great! The staff were friendly and helpful. The only annoyances were that there was no tea/coffee facilities in the room and no ventilation in the bathroom. i would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank myyaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay in Barcelona and for letting us know about your experience with us.
We are very pleased to hear your received a good service from our staff. We work very hard for the satisfaction of our guest and it is very rewarding to know we made you enjoy.

Thank you very much for recommending us!

We look forward to welcoming you at Hotel España in the near future. Cordially yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Hotel was beautiful although room was a little small. Cocktail bar was very nice in evening. Room lacked tea making facilities which seemed common in Europe but will make sure next time I stay this is important to me. Ideal location close to all the shows we went to.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoBosso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your very kind words following your stay at Hotel España.
I am delighted to read that you had a wonderful time with us.
I take good note about your tea pot requirement! thank you for the suggestion.

I really do hope that you come back and stay with us again in the near future. My kindest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We made a two-night side trip from Madrid to Barcelona in April. We selected Hotel Espana based on the reviews on TripAdvisor. The hotel is a easy ten-minute walk from Pl. Catalunya (where the airport bus drops you). We were concerned about our limited Spanish however it was not an issue with the hotel staff who were pleasant and efficient. The hotel is located just off Las Rambla and was convenient to the Metro and short walk to the ocean front. The accommodations were modern and comfortable. Our 4th floor room looked out into on the narrow alleyway and we didn't experience any noise issues. As others mention, the architecture of the hotel is unique and it reminded me of the film noir era. It was a lovely stay and we would stay again. My one recommendation when leaving the hotel is to always head towards La Rambla which was always alive with people. A short trip in the opposite direction had us changing course as one block later as it didn't feel comfortable and that was the only time we experienced that in our Barcelona foot travel.

Room Tip: We stayed in 407 which was away from the elevators and the central courtyard rooms (which some one w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stanbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Firstly thank you so much for taking the time to post these kind words following your stay with us.
Thank you also for your nice comments about the staff. It means so much to myself and the team. We work very hard for our guests satisfaction.

Congratulations for your 25th Anniversary anf for having chosen Hotel España to celebrate it.
I do hope that you get the chance to stay with us again in the near future. My best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
La Rambla
Oriente Atiram
Oriente Atiram
#224 of 516 in Barcelona
1,667 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel DO
Hotel DO
#6 of 516 in Barcelona
929 reviews
El Raval
Barcelo Raval
Barcelo Raval
#106 of 516 in Barcelona
3,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
#55 of 516 in Barcelona
2,109 reviews
El Raval
NH Barcelona Ramblas
NH Barcelona Ramblas
#132 of 516 in Barcelona
1,224 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Port
Catalonia Port
#69 of 516 in Barcelona
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Espana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Espana

Address: Carrer Sant Pau 9-11, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#79 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#118 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $114 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Espana 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 Star Superior Hotel Espana is located in the heart of Barcelona's historic centre, adjacent to La Rambla, the Gran Teatre del Liceu and the Gothic Quarter. Opened in 1859, it was later renovated by the celebrated modernist architect Lluis Domenech i Montaner. The hotel has always been considered a little gem of Barcelona modernism. Completely renovated in 2010, it combines modern interior design with the classicism of a nineteenth century building. The hotel's restaurant service is under the management of the chef Martin Berasategui. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Espana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Espana Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing