We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“right place, right price, beautiful building!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Espana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Espana
Ranked #89 of 523 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“right place, right price, beautiful building!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

nice nice nice, just too bad the restaurant was supposed too be fully booked when it did not seem like that. roomservice on the other had was also really good!
very good place on the ramblas
beautiful old building and modern rooms, good beds.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karinenmarcel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us and other visitors.

I take good note about your opinion on our restaurant, but I suppose there must be have been a missunderstanding at some point. The restauramt offers high quality food and good service, around 26 € per person, and it is very well appreciated for our guests. It worth it!

I hope to welcome you in a very near future and I hope you give us a new opportunity to make you enjoy with our restaurant offer. Cordially yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    723
    487
    110
    30
    19
See reviews for
157
813
33
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This is the second tiome we have stayed here; it is a perfect location just off Ramblas. Easy access to all the sites and Playa Catalunya buses. Nice team who are always very helpful. Great bar staff, pour a very good G or V & Tonic and reasonably priced. Rooms are small but have everything you need ipod dock, good wifi, good interactive TV service with good range of movies in all languages.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulianMVMills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you very much for your nice comments. It is very rewarding to know that Hotel España and the staff fullfills your expectations. Your recommendation is very much appeciated.

I hope to welcome you personally in your third stay! Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We recently stayed at the Hotel Espana in Barcelona. The hotel is beautiful, the architecture exquisite. Very handy for La Rambla. Staff are very accommodating, we loved the rooftop bar on a balmy evening.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Purr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
We would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay in Barcelona and for sharing your experience.

We are very pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay with us and received a good service from our staff. We work very hard for the satisfaction of our guests and it is very rewarding to know we enhanced your stay in Barcelona.
Looking forward to welcoming you at Hotel España in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

My boy-friend surprised me to a trip to Barcelona, as a Christmas present. We left on December 26th 2011. We arrived at the hotel with ease, as the airport we flew into was very close. Automatically the entrance was very impressive. Despite us being English, and knowing minimal Spanish, all staff members were extremely helpful and pleasant. The hotel is just off Las Ramblas, so we were in the action, but just off it. The room was gorgeous, extremely clean, comfortable and well special. We spent 4 days there, and I could have stayed a lifetime.
This hotel is a very safe option, I know full well it will never disappoint. So please have the best time in Barcelona, like we did, and stay here.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emilyjanemarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
We would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay in Barcelona and for sharing your experience with us and other visitors. Your nice comments are really appreciated!

We are very pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay with us and received a good service from our staff. We work very hard for the satisfaction of our guests and it is very rewarding to know that your enjoyed your stay in Barcelona.

We look forward to welcoming you at Hotel España in a very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We've just come back from a wonderful stay in Barcelona, where our focus was on moderniste architecture. Hotel Espana is a gem - a 1900 masterpiece- brought into the 21st century. As well, the tasting menu in their restaurant Fonda Espana, which featured seasonal mushrooms of all sorts, was superb. Great location for walking access to all sorts of great sites and also the metro to go further afield (Sagrada Familia, Parc Guell...)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank May0G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
First of all we thank you for choosing Hotel España for your stay in our city and for you nice words to us.

We work very hard for the satisfaction of our guest and it is very rewarding to know we made you enjoy.

Looking forward to welcoming you at Hotel España in the near future. Yours cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
105 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We chose Hotel Espana for a four night stay in Barcelona and we were not disappointed. The hotel is in a lovely historic building with many beautiful features. The location is excellent if you want access to the Gothic Quarter as it is just across the Ramblas and you can wander the old streets looking for that special place to eat or browse the unique shops. Although we arrived on an early flight so were a good three hours before the check in time the room was ready and we had time to freshen up before exploring the area. Check in was by Andrea who was friendly and efficient and we immediately felt at home. She gave us some ideas of where to go and nothing was too much trouble. The room was on the top floor and had modern facilities including a cubicle with both rain shower and fancy handset (no bath) and dual basins. There was adequate storage and a very comfortable bed. We found the room to be well insulated from any outside noise. If you want to have breakfast in the hotel there are three choices, a full breakfast in the lovely restaurant, an economical drink and pastries in the bar or it can be taken in your room. Alternatively there are many cafes around or you can provide for yourself from the mini markets opposite the hotel. We would definitely return to this lovely hotel which is a credit to the management

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor, you get more light and no one above you
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jgatsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
First of all I would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay in Barcelona and for letting us know about your experience with us.

We are very pleased to hear that you received a good service from our staff and that the facilities of the hotel fulfilled your expectations. We work very hard for the satisfaction of our guest and it is very rewarding to know we made you enjoy.

Looking forward to welcoming you at Hotel España I thank you once again for your nice comments. Yours cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

The only thing dodgy about this hotel is the street that it is on, that said it is next door to the Opera House and 50 metres from Las Ramblas.
The staff are friendly and the building is an architectural masterpiece and this is before setting foot in your room. The rooms are modern and the beds comfortable and they offer free Water/Pineapple Juice and Chocolate in the minibar.
The only downers were the room keys kept getting wiped and stopped working and there is not free WiFi but other than that perfect for a stopover.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wine_Hound_1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#21 of 523 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 713 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#16 of 523 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 3,963 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel DO
Hotel DO
#4 of 523 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 stars 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Petit Palace Boqueria Garden
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#32 of 523 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 1,106 reviews
El Raval
Andante
Andante
#59 of 523 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Espana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Espana

Property: Hotel Espana
Address: Carrer Sant Pau 9-11, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#65 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#69 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#118 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Espana 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 Star Superior Hotel Espana is located in the heart of Barcelona's historic centre, adjacent to La Rambla, the Gran Teatre del Liceu and the Gothic Quarter. Opened in 1859, it was later renovated by the celebrated modernist architect Lluis Domenech i Montaner. The hotel has always been considered a little gem of Barcelona modernism. Completely renovated in 2010, it combines modern interior design with the classicism of a nineteenth century building. The hotel's restaurant service is under the management of the chef Martin Berasategui. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Espana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Espana Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing