We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent !”
Review of Hotel Espana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Espana
Ranked #101 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Lausanne, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent !”
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Great central location and safe. Metro Liceu 100 m with elevator. Staff courtenous and knowleggable. Room spacious with large bed. Air conditionning silent. Modern furniture. Nice pool + jacuzzi on the roof with pleasant chairs. Free PC with Internet. Excellent !

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pkle52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Thank you very much for your nice words. It is very rewarding to know that you have enjoyed your stay in Barcelona and that the Hotel España has reached your expectations. I agree that the terrace of Hotel España has a beautiful and cool atmosphere, where to enjoy exclusive cocktails and local tapas. I hope to welcome you in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    812
    533
    124
    35
    22
See reviews for
179
913
37
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Silicon Valley, Ca
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Hotel Espana is in an art deco building that has been lovingly restored. It is one block off Las Ramblas very close to a metro stop, and a couple of blocks from the St. Joseph's market. The hotel itself is furnished in up to date modern furniture, with European bedding and flat screen tv. The staff is courteous and knowledgable. We stayed there for two nights before a cruise and found it delightful. For four women, the location was convenient and safe. We did not eat in the hotel but we were recommended to Bar Cante, behind the hotel for local tapas, which we greatly enjoyed.

Room Tip: The rooms that open to the courtyard could be noisy but we didn't find them so.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank svwriter2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
First of all I would like to thank you for choosing Hotel España for your stay in Barcelona and for sharing your experience with us. Thank you for having the sensibility towards the Hotel España building: Opened in 1859, it was later renovated by the celebrated modernist architect Lluís Domènech i Montaner (Art Nouveau movement) and completely renovated in 2010, it combines modern interior design with the classicism of a nineteenth century building.
The hotel’s restaurant service is under the management of the chef Martín Berasategui and it is a great restaurant to have in mind in your next visit to Barcelona.
I am happy to hear you enjoy your stay and that our staff were helpful and charm. Hope to see you soon in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

i stayed here with my friend in april 2012 the location is great you cant get more central .we had a twin room at the back of building not large but ample size , all the staff are friendly and helpfull rooms cleeaned daily can't say a bad thing about the place go enjoy!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sallElk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
First of all I would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay in Barcelona and for letting us know about your experience with us.
We are very pleased to hear you enjoy you stay at Hotel España. We work very hard for the satisfaction of our guest and it is very rewarding to know we made you enjoy. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

As others have stated this is a nice hotel, located just off Las Rambias. Its quiet during the evenings and nights so if you are not the night owl type which we are not, this is a good place to stay. The staff in general were very pleasant and spoke good english. The rooms are quite spacious and well appointed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellernieboer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
First of all thank you for your nice words. It is very rewarding to know that you have enjoyed your stay in Barcelona and in Hotel España. We hope to see you in a very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

I stayed here in April 2012 for 3 nights. The location is great-just off Las Ramblas. The rooms were very clean and cleaned every day. The man who carried our bags to the room was very helpful and warned us about pickpockets. (not that we had any problems with this) The continental breakfast, which was included, was nice. Also, there was free internet access and printer use to print off boarding passes. I would highly recommend this hotel and would use again if I return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
First of all I would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay in Barcelona and for letting us know about your experience with us. We are very pleased to hear you enjoy your stay at Hotel España. We work very hard for the satisfaction of our guest and it is very rewarding to know we made you enjoy. We hope to welcome you again in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

We have just returned from spending 3 nights in Hotel Espana where we had a wonderful visit.

The hotel itself has been renovated beautifully and we could not fault the decor or facilities. The bar area was great, as was the roof terrace and service was faultless with all staff we encountered. We didn't eat in the restaurants.

Our standard room overlooked the hostal next door in the atrium part of the hotel. Allbeit on the smaller side, it has been renovated to a high standard with ipod docks, flat screen tv, a lovely bathroom with hairdryer and Rituals soaps etc and the bed had the most amazing fleece throw!

However, I do agree with some of the past reviews stating that the rooms are slightly dark and the modern decor with dark wood hasn't helped but they have tried to rectify this with the big light wall behind the bed so overall , it wasn't a problem really.

The only thing I would have changed is the insanely bright light on the floor of the w.c which cannot be switched off. Due to the frosted glass door on the bathroom, this shone brightly all night until I got up and placed a towell over it.

We didn't have any issue with noise other than when the maids started on the rooms within the atrium in the morning about 8:30a.m. as the noise carries and echos and amplifies their hoovers!

The location of the hotel was great, a road just off the La Ramblas, giving you quick and direct access to most of the city and a short walk to both Plaza Catalunya and the port.

I agree that the road in which the hotel is situated is not the "nicest" but at no time did my husband or I feel unsafe or intimidated by anyone or anything. We walked back several times after midnight and never had a problem. It is well lit and has a few fast food / supermarkets down it that are open late, it just isn't as pretty as some of the other side streets off La Ramblas and certainly isn't as busy due to the lack of retailers located there.

A taxi cost 32 euros to the airport (Terminal 2C) and took approx. 10-15 mins. We got the aerobus from the airport to Catalunya square which took a great deal longer but for only 5 euros each, who can complain. It took about 40 mins and then a ten minute walk from there to the hotel.

Overall, we had a great stay and the staff make this hotel. We would not hesitate to come back should we ever be in Barcelona again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vic1721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

The hotel provided us with an exceptional stay on our 3 day/night mini break. The location cannot be beaten, the design and comfort first class and staff very friendly. They assisted on my requests and each day/night it was a pleasure to come back to the hotel. We had a lovely room with small balcony overlooking Sant Pau and it was fantastic. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on Sant Pau are great, a little bit of noise every now and then but nothing to keep you awake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reece L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuria B, Director General at Hotel Espana, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with other travellers and us about Hotel España. It is very rewarding to know that Hotel España and its staff have reached your expectations. We work very hard for the hapiness of our guests and nice words are really appreciated. I hope to welcome you again in a very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#23 of 513 in Barcelona
4,408 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Arc La Rambla
Hotel Arc La Rambla
#103 of 513 in Barcelona
2,355 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Port
Catalonia Port
#68 of 513 in Barcelona
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Petit Palace Boqueria Garden
Petit Palace Boqueria Garden
#143 of 513 in Barcelona
1,535 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#21 of 513 in Barcelona
853 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Pulitzer
Hotel Pulitzer
#97 of 513 in Barcelona
2,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Espana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Espana

Property: Hotel Espana
Address: Carrer Sant Pau 9-11, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#69 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#78 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#118 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Espana 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 Star Superior Hotel Espana is located in the heart of Barcelona's historic centre, adjacent to La Rambla, the Gran Teatre del Liceu and the Gothic Quarter. Opened in 1859, it was later renovated by the celebrated modernist architect Lluis Domenech i Montaner. The hotel has always been considered a little gem of Barcelona modernism. Completely renovated in 2010, it combines modern interior design with the classicism of a nineteenth century building. The hotel's restaurant service is under the management of the chef Martin Berasategui. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Espana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Espana Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing