We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short and Sweet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Silken Gran Hotel Havana
Ranked #155 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Short and Sweet”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I recently returned from a 3 night / 4 day trip to my first visit to Barcelona! With so many hotel choices it was mind boggling where to stay. In the end we opted for the Silken Gran Havana and it was great! Perfect location - only a short walk (5-10 min max) to Playa Catalunya and yet away from the madding crowd and hustle and bustle of Las Ramblas. The hotel was very clean, modern and functional and the rooms were spacious and a good, decent and well equipped bathroom! If this is your 1st time in the city then I recommend staying here - as you only need your hotel as a base as we didn't really use the facilities - however the roof top pool terrace is a perfect spot for some late afternoon / early evening sunshine and dipping.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALZLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGT12, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Silken Gran Hotel Havana, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, it was a pleasure to serve you. We are looking forward to hear from you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    488
    581
    152
    75
    30
See reviews for
227
607
44
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel isn't a joy to stay in. If you have 2 nights in Barcelona you won't care. The location is alright and it's generally presentable. But if you stay for three nights like we have, some things become annoying. 1 of the 2 lifts was inoperable when we arrived, it still hasn't been fixed which is a problem getting in and out of the hotel. The room service changed the sheets but hardly bothered with cleaning the room. The walls are thin and you can hear your neighbours (yay, Russian convention next door!). It just feels like no one cares about this place and that's how I feel too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter4holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGT12, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Silken Gran Hotel Havana, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Client,
At Hotel Gran Havana we would like to apologize for any discomfort during your stay regarding the elevator. We always strive to provide the best service possible, and try to fix any problems as they occur, unfortunately, the breakdown of the elevator could not be repaired during the weekend as the elevator company need some days to get the new piece. This kind of problems are not ususal, and we hope you understand that are out of our control.
Upon hearing about the cleanliness of your room, we immediately informed our housemaid manager and she is instilling the importance of cleaning every piece of the rooms. We thank you for choosing the Gran Havana during your stay in Barcelona, and hope you will change your mind about in your next stay. Thank you for your feedback and comments, they have been helpful in making every guests stay better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed for 6 nights for the F1 Gran Prix. The rooms were a good size and very clean but they were a little noisy with people banging doors etc. but this wasn't a massive issue. Got a very good signal for the internent in our room which I was pleased with. Excellent choice of food for breakfast and the service was very good but my wife is a vegetarian and there wasn't a lot on the evening menu for her to choose from. However this wasn't the end of the world because the hotel is in such a great location with loads of bars and restaurants in that area. Would definitely go back to Barcelona and use this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 199DaveH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGT12, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Silken Gran Hotel Havana, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed the stay in our hotel. It was our pleasure to serve you. We are looking forward to have you again as our guest. Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham on the Wolds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I booked a Thomas Cook Sport weekend for the F1 Grand Prix from Friday 10 May 2013 to Monday 13 May 2013 for four people, The hotel was part of the package so I cannot comment upon price options, The package included breakfast and the Havana upgrade. This means you are on floor 5 and there is complimentary coffee and pastries and donuts. I think that this is an upgrade option and I think it costs about 15 Euros per day.

The outside of the hotel is traditional but I think that the inside has been modernised using an adopt, adapt and improve methodology. The rooms are not identical but the three I have seen are spacious with kingsize plus beds, ensuite, flatscreen TV, aircon, safe and included functional Wi-Fi. Very clean and very comfortable.

The breakfasts are as good as any I have had in Spain.

The hotel is in central Barcelona and there are plenty of places within walking distance for eating and drinking. It is also within walking distance of the Sangra Familia and the open top buses for sightseeing. I define walking distance as up to 1 mlle.

The prices in the hotel bar are about £4 for pint of lager. We did not try the restaurant.

There was sting in he tail. Tourist tax of 1,21 Euros per day per room was added to my bill. The total was less than 10 Euros but I think all charges should be declared upfront.

The tour rep (and I assume Thomas Cook) did not know about this charge.

Martin

Room Tip: If you are bothered about noise choose the Atrium or a floor above 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Even though we'd booked for one bed we got two beds pushed together with separate sheeting that couldn't be made into one - not great for a romantic holiday but otherwise the room was excellent with a big bathroom and bath, good TV, kettle (free tea but no coffee - but good 2euro coffees downstairs). Internet was fast also. The hotel is in a great location with easy access to everything Barcelona has to offer.

Pool is small but nice terrace upstairs. No gym.
Bring your walking shoes and go and explore.

Room Tip: If you're a couple and want a queen/king bed then demand it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BackinthUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGT12, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Silken Gran Hotel Havana, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are looking forward to improve our services in order to pleasure our customers the most we can. We will love to have you again as our guest so you can enjoy our improvements. Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in this hotel and would thoroughly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again.

Pros
• Check in was quick and easy
• Well appointed rooms which were very clean
• Rooms are a great size with plenty of space for suitcases and walking around
• Beds were comfortable
• Couldn’t hear other guests in their rooms
• Friendly staff with good english and were happy to help with our direction requests
• Nice breakfast and reasonably priced. The donuts are to die for!
• Easy walking distance to La Rambla and the Sagrada Familia
• Free and quick internet
• Close to the Metro Station and ATMs

Cons
• The ‘Club Room’ is a sofa, coffee machine, pastries and a writing desk in the hall – not really an issue, but is quite funny to see if you are a regular to club rooms and know what a real one looks like.

Room Tip: Book a Club Room, they are really comfortable and well appointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HSHBBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Although we loved the large terrace on our 6th floor room, we were very disappointed with the poor level of service at the Silken Gran Hotel Havana. Upon checking in (month of May) the clerk told us that the roof-top pool was not open until June, however, in the elevator there was sign stating the pool hours from April to October and the pool was in full use when we went to the roof top. Why the mis-information? When we called for room service or to enquire about a taxi, the phone must have rung for several minutes before someone answered. There was no ice available in the hotel and we were told to look for a taxi on the street as they could not help us while it was raining! The bed and pillows were uncomfortable and not up to the standard of a four-star hotel. The hotel was very poorly constructed and we could hear guests talking and coughing in the room next to us--paper-thin walls. Inexpensive laminated wood flooring was used in the room which gave it a cheap feeling.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonTraveller61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Grupotel Gran Via 678
Grupotel Gran Via 678
#144 of 513 in Barcelona
820 reviews
Eixample
Negresco Princess Hotel
Negresco Princess Hotel
#53 of 513 in Barcelona
671 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
#116 of 513 in Barcelona
2,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hotel Silken Ramblas Barcelona
Hotel Silken Ramblas Barcelona
#268 of 513 in Barcelona
926 reviews
Eixample
NH Collection Barcelona Podium
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#15 of 513 in Barcelona
2,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silken Gran Hotel Havana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silken Gran Hotel Havana

Property: Silken Gran Hotel Havana
Address: Gran Via Corts Catalanes 647, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#95 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#113 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#134 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#176 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Silken Gran Hotel Havana 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gran Hotel Havana Barcelona is a four star hotel of great categroy that has been extended and rehabilited as a luxury hotel in 1991, also, completely redecorated in 2009. Its located in the L. Fradera house, a historic building of 1872, in Gran Vía de les Corts Catalanes nº 647, right in the centre of Barcelona city, only a step away from the most emblematic buildings of Gaudí: the “Sagrada Familia”, the “casa Batlló”, “La Pedrera”, and also, right next to the mythical “Ramblas” and “Barrio Gótico”.Silken Gran Hotel Havana Barcelona, offers you one of the best places to stay in Barcelona center where the combination of vanguardism and tradition exists. Historic Building of the 19th century that has the 21st century interiorism.Silken Gran Hotel Havana Barcelona, has a panoramic terrace with an exterior swimming pool, solarium and sauna, right in the center of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Silken Gran Hotel Havana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silken Gran Barcelona
Silken Gran Hotel Havana Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing