We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Good Location”
Review of Gran Hotel Havana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gran Hotel Havana
Ranked #154 of 517 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Rooms were clean, decent size. Nice comfortable beddings.
Very good location...Central enough to walk to take public transportation.
Many restaurants around and a grocery store too. Only thing we discovered is that restaurants open at 8:30pm for dinner.
Though there was wifi in the room, it was so weak and intermittent. You would have to go down to the lobby to get better connection. So if you are there on a business trip, it can be very frustrating.
I wish hotels will improve on their free in room wifi...It can be a big plus.

Room Tip: If you like a quiet room, ask for one which does not face the main street. We did that so we were r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ma Rica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGT12, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Hotel Havana, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind comments regarding you stay in our Hotel. We inform you that, during your stay in our Hotel we were changing the internet provider so sometimes the line was down in the rooms. We are very proud to inform you that we are offering a very good wifi service in the whole Hotel.
We would be very honoured to welcome you back next time you plan a trip to Barcelona so you can enjoy the improvements made

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,435)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

658 - 664 of 1,435 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and i stayed at this lovely hotel. Room was very clean, we loved the pastries and unlimited use of the coffee machine. Not too far from the Ramblas. Breakfast what a treat, everything you could want. Service good also.
Would stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the top room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DIAMOND2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGT12, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Hotel Havana, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Thank you for your feedback, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking to having you as a guest again. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stayed here during MWC on a business trip. Excellent all around. Room was small but more than big enough. Breakfast was excellent. Very close to all the metro stops and a few great tapas places so location is excellent. The only thing that didn't work out well was the free wifi. The connection was strong around the hotel but I guess my room was recessed into the back (which also made it very quiet I found!) and the wifi signal didn't make it out there. Somehow, that situation corrected itself on my last night. Extremely friendly staff and great bar/lobby area. Be warned, it's pricey but that's to be expected.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

The hotel is a good standard centrally positioned hotel. It isn't hugely attractive, reminding me more of an airport terminal in the common area by reception - but is of a good standard (apart from the internet connection in the room which was intermittent).

Apart from the reception service which was great, the restaurant staff at breakfast were curiously unaware of what guests were doing, clearing away people's meals and newspapers when they had merely gone to get to a drink, and producing pots of tea and coffee on tables where they had mistakenly assumed people had chosen to sit. I can only put this down to boredom which is a shame because otherwise the hotel was fine.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LesFlamantsRoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGT12, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Gran Hotel Havana, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear client, we are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel. Regarding your comments about internet, we inform you that, during your stay we were changing the internet line provider, and nowadays we are proud to say that our service works perfectely.
We are very sorry if the buffett breakfast service was not as you expected. Our interest is to offer full satisfaction of our clients, so we have informed the restaurant supervisor in order to investigate this matter and improve the service.
We hope you will choose again our Hotel in your next trip to Barcelona so you can enjoy the improvements made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

This hotel is very nice and we would definitely stay again if in Barcelona.. The location is great and within walking distance to many restaurants and shops and about a 10 minute walk to the top of Las Ramblas. There is a taxi stand on the side street right beside the hotel and taxis wait there 24 hours a day. The main street, Gran Vía Corts Catalanes, is a very lovely main thoroughfare with a wide pedestrian walkway down the middle (with periodic park benches all along the walkway). We felt VERY safe walking all around the area. Our room was on a higher floor (the club level) with a french balcony. Noise was not a problem at all and the room and bathroom were very spacious and the bed was very comfortable. On the club level, there was coffee and pastries available from morning into the afternoon and fruit most afternoons. The hotel has a very nice roof-top terrace and we really enjoyed spending time there in the late afternoons before heading out again for the evening. There is a view of the city and of Montjuic from the roof. The rooftop pool is small but nice and there are ample lounge chairs as well as very nice umbrella tables and chairs. We did not eat in the hotel restaurant. On some evenings, there was music in the lobby bar area. The price was average for the amenities and we highly recommend the hotel. We did have a bit of a rough start when checking in as one of the young ladies staffing the front desk was almost rude and not very helpful but others and the manager were helpful and nice to deal with. As a matter of fact, the manager sent us a nice fruit plate due to the issues we had with check in.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phyl53590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

This is a very nice hotel that I would definitely stay at again. It's easily accessible from the airport and the main town centre area is a short, pleasant walk away (prob about 15-20 minutes) or if you want a taxi there is a taxi stop right outside the door where taxis wait 24hrs a day. The rooms are a good size and have good facilities including a decent stereo system, black out blinds (which are fantastic), a well stocked mini bar and probably the largest single bed I have ever slept in (also very comfortable). The roof terrace is a nice place to sit and enjoy a drink and a view across the rooftops - the pool was closed when we were there but during high season I can imagine it's great.

The staff on reception were very friendly and helpful and the hotel itself is very pleasant - the open plan reception area is a fairly impressive piece of architecture and the building itself looks great both inside and out. I didn't eat there so I can't comment on the food but on the whole I was very satisfied with this hotel and thought it was good value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aky2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

My wife and i stayed here for 3 night in March after checking out all the reviews for barcelona's hotels, and we made the right choice. The hotel is in a good central location only 5 -10 mns walk from all the action mainly the top of le Rambles. We stayed on the 6th floor with a balcony and we got a bargin (I think) we only paid 115E per night, room only, We didnt eat in the hotel as the breakfast is 20E ea and for the sake of 2-5mins walk there are loads of small cafes that serve really good coffee and pastries. The room and bathroom were a good size with a good shower just what you need after miles and miles of walking and best of all the best bed i have ever sleeped in!!!!!. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Go for rooms on the 5th/6th Floor for the view and lees noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
#77 of 517 in Barcelona
2,150 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Roger De Lluria Barcelona
Eixample
Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
#130 of 517 in Barcelona
2,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
NH Collection Barcelona Podium
Eixample
Condes De Barcelona
Condes De Barcelona
#146 of 517 in Barcelona
1,639 reviews
El Raval
Royal Ramblas Hotel
Royal Ramblas Hotel
#122 of 517 in Barcelona
1,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Havana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Havana

Address: Gran Via Corts Catalanes 647, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#95 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#111 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#176 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $80 - $433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Havana 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gran Hotel Havana Barcelona is a four star hotel of great categroy that has been extended and rehabilited as a luxury hotel in 1991, also, completely redecorated in 2009. Its located in the L. Fradera house, a historic building of 1872, in Gran Vía de les Corts Catalanes nº 647, right in the centre of Barcelona city, only a step away from the most emblematic buildings of Gaudí: the “Sagrada Familia”, the “casa Batlló”, “La Pedrera”, and also, right next to the mythical “Ramblas” and “Barrio Gótico”.Silken Gran Hotel Havana Barcelona, offers you one of the best places to stay in Barcelona center where the combination of vanguardism and tradition exists. Historic Building of the 19th century that has the 21st century interiorism.Silken Gran Hotel Havana Barcelona, has a panoramic terrace with an exterior swimming pool, solarium and sauna, right in the center of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Gran Hotel Havana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silken Gran Barcelona
Gran Hotel Havana Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing