We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“moderate”
Review of Tapa Tapa

Tapa Tapa
Ranked #2,554 of 9,689 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: $12 - $23
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“moderate”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Prices are high, quality is medium and avoid paella which is awful. Great location though, but you could search for sth else.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank kostas s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    273
    235
    122
    120
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA, USA
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Unless you're about to faint, walk somewhere else”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

This place is in the middle of the most touristy area of Barcelona and so it should come as no surprise to anyone that it is a tourist trap. Heck, if you're even in this area you're either a tourist or trying to sell something to tourists. So, with that done, what's it like?

We stopped in for a quick drink because we were nearby and my wife was thirsty. We were seated quickly on an outside table, our drink orders came quickly and were fine and pretty much what you'd expect and were priced higher than some but not outrageously so. The food on adjacent tables looked like mediocre tapas, predominantly fried stuff.

So, all in all, not the worst. But, if you have the energy to go somewhere else, there are so many good options within a few minutes walk into the Barri Gotic so why bother coming here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank penfoldSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disgracefull Staff AVOID!!!”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

The food is expensivish and slightly small but quality was decent and as a one off I wont complain too much but the one thing that outweighed all of this was the service which was probly the worst Ive ever experienced.

Service was pathetic, the guy who served us (didn't get his name but tallish, 30's not much hair) was an absolute disgrace. He slammed food and drinks on the table purposely and tried his best to make us uncomfortable in a very obvious way! Having read other reviews I think we had the same guy as some aspects of the service we received seem very familiar! To top of his attitude as we was paying he shouted across to other people very loudly blatantly ignoring us speaking in Spanish presuming we didn't understand which I will admit we don't but I do know some and enough in this situation! he was been very friendly to the spanish people on the table next to us laughing and joking with them and we felt very uncomfortable and left out.

I would finally like to note the 2 ladys on the door were fantastic and friendly and the view on the terrace were awesome!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tricky t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“nice food,”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

we ate here a couple of times on our visit, once in the afternoon, once in the evening. the food is well presented and tasty but as you would expect, very small portions. the staff in the afternoon seem not to care much, they do not make you feel special at all!..the staff in the evening are a little better, our waitress was very nice, spoke good english and had a good sense of humour. but after she made a mistake with one of our courses her attitude changed!..we were left waiting for the bill for 30 minutes as she served other "locals" and ignored our pleas for the bill blaming the delay, in the end, on a faulty machine. maybe if she had explained the problem we would have understood and been a bit more willing to wait. on the good side , the location of this place is great, right on the harbour front with plenty of atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maverick516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Sangria! !! but small Tapas”
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Tapa Tapa is a very nice place next to the sea, a lot of people are going there because it s the cheapest bar on the beach.
The tapas are good but a bit expensive ( 2.50 or 3? for 1 little toast. )

Just go there to order a Sangria ; the white one is delicious and drink it with sunglasses taking a look on the beach.

Helpful?
Thank Damien C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Tapa Tapa also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Tapa Tapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing