We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better in the evening!”
Review of Teresa Carles

Teresa Carles
Ranked #139 of 9,510 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: El Raval
Description: Vegetariano, Mediterraneo, Artesano, Sano y Sabroso.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
125 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Better in the evening!”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Had a great evening meal for two but rather disappointed with the daily lunch menu a couple of days later. The spaghetti was to be with garlic and courgettes, but only three little pieces of burnt courgettes and hardly any garlic and it was taken back to the kitchen. Returned in a worse state..with a little more garlic but all fried in the pan with the spaghetti!! No apologies but also no charge! (for the spaghetti). A real shame but probably the cook had a bad day so we will certainly go back for evening meal with, hopefully another cook!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brynjos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JordiBarriCarles, Gerente at Teresa Carles, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Hi Brynjos,

I'm Jordi Barri, General Manager at Teresa Carles.

According to your description, the plate that didn't fit your expectations might have been Spaghetti Aglio e Oglio. I'll explain how we prepare that dish at TC: first of all we boil home made fresh spaghetti strictly 'al dente' and, on the side, we cut local garlics in small pieces and stir-fry them with olive oil and some spices. After that, we add the spaghetti on the wok in order to finish the cooking. So I would say we do not deep fry at all but we do a soft stir-fry and yes, a few olive oil is a key part of both the process and ingredients of that dish. Courgettes are only put on top of the dish before serving as decoration.

I'm sad you didn't like it at all, but happy to notice we didn't charge you as you didn't ate them!

Hope to see you again very soon in our Restaurant. And thanks heaps for the time spent in writting your review.

Best Regards,
Jordi Barri.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,540 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,263
    905
    228
    78
    66
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Vegetarian Restaurant”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Teresa Carles is a wonderful restaurant, the quality of the food is very high and the Menu offers a wide range of highly creative dishes that you won´t have come across before. The drinks menu is also very good with a variety of wines, juices, and coffee. The price is slightly more elevated than other nearby vegetarian restaurants but this is due to the quality of the food. The waiters are very attentive and you don´t have to wait long to be served. We would recommend going as from about 7.30pm as when we went before the kitchen wasn´t open and only salads and drinks were available. Whether you are vegetarian or not, this restaurant is highly recommended. It is definitely a must when visiting Barcelona.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlbertaLaGrup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Really enjoyed our visit to this well-organized, well thought-out restaurant which serves shining menu of vegetarian and vegan food. Well-presented and delicious food in a modern and tasteful atmosphere.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shweinberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Awesome vegetarian restaurant”
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

In a five day trip to barcelona, my husband I dined here twice. There is a daily fixed price menu that offers choice of soup or salad as starter followed by five different options for main for under 10 euros. The food was excellent - very flavourful and with generous portions. I wanted to purchase a cookbook - that's how good it was - but right now they are not offered in English. I am not a vegetarian (my husband is), and I lived this restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cardamomss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb restaurant, which just happens to be vegetarian”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a wonderful place! The food is divine, the decor is simple yet authentic and the staff are attentive without being intrusive. It may take a while to get served, but it is an experience to be savoured, not rushed. There are plenty of fast food 'restaurants' to choose from if speed is of the essence...

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teresa Carles also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Teresa Carles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing