We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small but terrible!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Pension Peiro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pension Peiro
Ranked #84 of 326 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Small but terrible!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

I don't think it has a sign outside so I didn't easily notice it not unlike the "hello bcn hostal" near it. The building don't look like a hotel or hostal, it's more like a residential. The elevator is big but too slow. Things you should remember... Go first on the 1st floorwhere the "Hostal Apolo" is located because... that's where the reception is. The reception guy is good as compared the morning shift sexy lady. He will give you the keycard, wifI code... he will tour you to the hostal like this is the shared bathroom, that's the shared toilet, on the otherside there's another one etc. Every floor & every corner has a surveilance camera that makes you feel like you're in gran hermano (big brothers) or worst in a prison cell upon seeing your room lol but it doesn't matter for your security reason right? Yeah, because the door of your room looks weak & not secured even if it has a high tech keycard (that card serve as your pass to the building entrance, the floor entrance, the reception entrance (hostal apolo) & to your room. A very small room with small bed tv, cabinet & side table... but luckily there's a wash basin & mirror for you to brush your teeth, wash your face & everything. It has 2 sachets of shampoo & body soap. The shared bathroom with toilet is big & clean but after taking a bath water spilled on the floor. While the shared toilet is also big & clean with good ventilation. By 10am the housekeeping will knock your room once & open it.. so we were both surprised to see each other, I thought my check-out was 12 instead it was 11am so I rushed to the bathroom & packed-up. Well, the price of 25€ is not so cheap compared to my big room at hotel coronado (also in parallel area) which Is also 25 € with private bath & toilet, shampoos & soaps, & it's a hotel etc. It's like more of a better than nothing stay. The only thing I didn't like is the noise from the neighboring Disco... it will only let you sleep by 5am!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MARVADJUSTED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    28
    22
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
11
46
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
81 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

The hostel is the same as the Hostal Apolo. I don’t know why there are two names.

The room is on a quiet (and definitely safe) street very close to Paral-lel metro station. It was a bit difficult to find. If you want to ask around, ask about “Hostal Apolo” and people will know.

The single room was quite basic and small. But it’s pretty much expected for this price in a big city. No big problem at all. If you want to stay at a reasonably clean and safe hostel with a budget, this is a good choice.

English-speaking staff only from 9 AM to 7 PM.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freddyfu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Very nice staff although there was a person at the reception who couldn't speak English.
Place clean and tidy. Very good room service (as per this price).
I loved the small room I was staying in. It had all what I needed, only the bed wasn't very comfortable. I really loved the tall windows and small balcony.
It is located 1 minute away from the Paral-lel metro station which was very handy. Lovely small restaurants and fruit shops just around the corner (smaller prize but tastier food than on La Rambla).
The only problem was... THE NOISE! Awful noise coming from the street! Please, make sure you pack earplugs! Also flip-flops you could use in the shower as they have shared bathrooms only.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Metanoia86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, Guangdong, China
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

Being a solo traveler, this hotel is nice enough for me. I can only sleep in a single room and use private bathroom, and this is the cheapest I can find in Barcelona. The location was good, 2 minutes walk from the Parel lei metro station. I felt safe entering the building as it requires the card to get in. The guy at reception was nice and helpful. Room was really basic, but I expected that so that was no problem. It was clean and comfortable to sleep in. It was pretty noisy as the walls were really thin. I always sleep with ear plugs, so I was fine. The walls were peeling a bit. The cleaning lady put all my bags on the ground into the closet, and organized everything. I didn't quite like that.. Over all a pretty good hotel at a really cheap price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KayWang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

The staff are friendly and the room is ok for the cheap price. The only complaint I have is that this place is NOISY. Not from the street, that is at an acceptable level, but it is the noise from the staff members in the morning! There is no carpet in the building, it is all tiled and I think they were dragggggging the furniture around when cleaning the rooms early in the morning. Normally I wouldn't mind but at 8am on a Sunday morning i thought it was out of order. Staff were yelling to each other directly outside my door and making a lot of racket cleaning the rooms. This happened every morning. Considering I didn't see any other guests, I don't know why they felt they were so busy that they had to make such a din.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drewtyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solna, Sverige
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

Good hostel close to the metro station Paral-lel and about 10 minutes walk to La Rambla. The rooms and common bath rooms are in good condition, and the staff is nice and friendly. There are several decent restaurants in the area close to the hostel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HufvudstadsSkauning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
404 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

went with my husband for a few days in april. we realised when looking at accommodation that the prices were very high for barcelona and had to settle with a double room (with sink) with shared bathroom. the entrance for pension peiro is the same as for hostal apolo - in fact the name pension peiro is hardly seen anywhere! it is conveniently located behind the apolo theatre at the paral.lel station. the area (el raval, i think) is not too far from la rambla (15 minutes' walk), so it's good. the room is ok and the bed is comfortable. what i would say about the room and the whole place in general is that it needs a lick of paint as it seems in the corridors and room that the paint is peeling away. there are also wires hanging out as it seems work is incomplete. there were 3 bathrooms which we could use, so there was never an issue with access and they were usually very clean. hairdryers were available to be borrowed, so it's great and also there is a swipe card for entrance into the building and also to the room. it could get noisy especially when other guests came in late at night and chose to talk loudly! however i have to say we didn't experience too many problems with that. the people at reception were helpful - even when some only spoke spanish and we only spoke english. all in all, i would give it a 'good' rating for the accessibility and location, but don't find it very good, so have marked it 'average'. barcelona is an expensive city and what you get for your money would not be as much as in less expensive cities.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doofvfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Montjuic
HelloBCN Hostel
HelloBCN Hostel
#83 of 757 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Montjuic
Hostal Apolo
Hostal Apolo
#98 of 757 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Montjuic
Coronado Hotel
Coronado Hotel
#209 of 326 in Barcelona
3.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mambo Tango Youth Hostel
#170 of 757 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Montjuic
Charmsuites Nou Rambla Apartments
Eixample
Barcelona Rooms
Barcelona Rooms
#107 of 326 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Peiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Peiro

Property: Pension Peiro
Address: Carrer de Lafont 1, 08004 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Montjuic , El Poble Sec
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 326 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Pension Peiro 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Pension Peiro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Peiro Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing