We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude Staff & Poor Upkeep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel El Avenida Palace
Ranked #158 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 24, 2014

I booked the hotel for 1 night via a mobile apps for same night stay. The staff was rude and unfriendly. The room bathroom was not properly clean and our bed had holes in the sheet. I've experienced hostels that displayed more luxury than Hotel Avenida Palace. Very sad experience, indeed.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Cstallin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

957 - 963 of 2,130 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2014

We stayed here with teenage children and had to fit a lot into four days. It was comfortable, helpful, friendly and efficient and convenient for everything. We also got a good deal. We ate all meals but one breakfast out and there were plenty of places close and down towards the water.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HillyCirencester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Central located hotel, with classic decoration. The rooms are very spacious.
Walking distance to Plaza Catalunya, Ramblas and the Gothic Quarter.
Service is not that good and personal seems to be uninterested.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vhattum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Barcelona as a city has stunning architecture, vitality, great people ---matched by the splendour and quality of the Avenida Palace. Great location for the Ramblas and Cataluyna Square, excellent hotel decor in salons, staircases and in bedrooms; friendly staff, lovely breakfast! Walls adorned by portraits of the founders of the family who still run the hotel. Great attention to detail.
To celebrate my wife's birthday we could not have chosen a better city nor a better hotel. Thank you.

Andrew and Sally Cooper

Room Tip: We were in 707-great lift service. A pool is being buit on the roof in the coming year.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Coopsajc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JavierTomas, Manager at Hotel El Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Dear Coopers,
First of all thank you for choosing the Avenida Palace for your last stay in Barcelona.
After your reviews I see that we have reached your expectations and that's our aim.
We work to make our customer stay an unforgetable experience.
I remain for any further assistance should you need in Barcelona, I hope, in anear future.

Sincerely

Javier Tomás
Deputy manager
AVENIDA PALACE HOTEL
jtomas@avenidapalace.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

After visiting Portugal & Spain for 12 day tour, My friends and I stayed an extra night. I selected The Avenida Palace hotel, since I happened to see a good price of $150 online at WorldHotels. This is an old hotel that has been renovated, and done well. The rooms are large by European standard, classy appearance, lots of wood. I got a room in the back facing away from street (read on Trip advisor that this city is noisy at night). The amenities/toiletries in the bathroom were good stuff-from L'Occtaine group (french made soap, shampoo). Best sleep that night in Spain.
The lobby had elegant shining staircase, like out of a movie set in the 1930s. Had to photograph it. The hotel lobby staff were nice & helpful. There was a problem with my account. I had prepaid for 2 rooms. But the hotel charged me an extra time. Took a few phone calls to WorldHotel, and e-mails to Avenida Palace to get this corrected after I got back to US. Saw the refund in my credit card account today. YEAH!
Beware there is a separate City Tax, only about 2 Euros.
This hotel is well located to the action. Near Catalunya Square, the next street full of high end stores. 3 blocks to La Ramblas, and we walked to the Beach. Forgot how long, since we went to shops along the way. Also, next morning, 3 blocks to the Aeroport Bus, 5.9 Euros only to airport. Much cheaper than taxi.
My other friend stayed at a 1 star hotel for $100 on La Ramblas. I Went to see it. Like an old motel room, small size & old, but the weird odor gross me out.
To me, this hotel is a good deal. Clean, smells nice, linen are crispy white. Would definitely stay at this hotel again.
Only draw backs: slow internet. TV only had a few channels. I couldn't get my room phone to work (but i didn't need these items, since i was on vacation. All that walking, Tapas, & wine= a good night's sleep was most important)

Room Tip: Ask for room towards the back of hotel. I wrote that on my Internet request, and they honored it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JavierTomas, Manager at Hotel El Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Dear Traveler,
First of all thank you for choosing the Avenida Palace for your last stay in Barcelona.
we are proud to have achieved your expectations on your stay and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again on your next visit to the City.
I remain for any further assistance should you need.
Sincerely

Javier Tomás
Deputy manager
AVENIDA PALACE HOTEL * * * *sup
jtomas@avenidapalace.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

We appreciated the excellent location as well as friendly and helpful staff. Expertly located next to La Rambla and Casa Batlo as well as the best tapas in Barcelona. Room was spacious and well furnished with a large bed. Only con was breakfast was kind of expensive and the price changed from day to day with no real change in menu.
Would definitely stay again. Highly recommend

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank linh88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JavierTomas, Manager at Hotel El Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Dear Traveler,
First of all thank you for choosing the Avenida Palace for your last stay in Barcelona.
Thank you for all your comments about the hotel, as per your review, I can see that we have reached your expectations on your stay and that's our aim.
We are already working to improve our breakfast and the variety of it.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you once again.
I remain for anything you may need from us.
Sincerely

Javier Tomás
AVENIDA PALACE HOTEL
jtomas@avenidapalace.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

Excellent location, two minutes walk from Catalunya square. We had a room facing the street. The room lovely, clean and beautiful. The room overlooking the square with a fountain. Hotel staff are polite and nice. Breakfast includes a buffet, cheeses, sausages, eggs, breads, pastries, delicacies and fruits. Overall I highly recommend for this hotel

2  Thank adis75
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JavierTomas, Manager at Hotel El Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Dear Traveler,
First of all thank you for choosing the Avenida Palace Hotel foir your last stay in Barcelona.
Your comments fills us with pride and satisfaction after seeing that we have reached our aim achieving your expectations on service and confort.
We are already improving our facilities.
I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again on your next trip to Barcelona and show you our new facillities.
I remain for any further information should you need.

Sincerely,

Javier Tomás
Deputy manager
AVENIDA PALACE HOTEL
jtomas@avenidapalace.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Petit Palace Museum Hotel
Petit Palace Museum Hotel
#97 of 515 in Barcelona
1,025 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
#120 of 515 in Barcelona
2,044 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Catalonia Passeig de Gracia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Granvia
Hotel Granvia
#59 of 515 in Barcelona
1,180 reviews
Eixample
H10 Metropolitan
H10 Metropolitan
#28 of 515 in Barcelona
743 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Regina Barcelona
Hotel Regina Barcelona
#162 of 515 in Barcelona
1,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Avenida Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Avenida Palace

Address: Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes, 605, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#114 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#127 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#130 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#165 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $98 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel El Avenida Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Avenida Palace is a classic part of Barcelona. It has been recently refurbished and is blessed by its prime location in the city centre. It offers 151 comfortable, recently refurbished rooms that have retained their classic yet functional décor. The rooms are well-appointed and have en-suite bathrooms as well as a digital ISDN line with modem connection. The "Insolit Barcelona" restaurant is open every day. Room service is available. The hotel boasts 7 function rooms for between 25 and 300 people, all of which have an analogue telephone line for computer connections. Audio-visual and technical equipment is available for clients, and there is a hairdressing and massage service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel El Avenida Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Husa Avenida Palace Barcelona
Avenida Palace Barcelona
Husa Avenida Palace Hotel Barcelona
Hotel El Avenida Palace Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing