We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel El Avenida Palace
Ranked #140 of 519 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

We have just checked out of the hotel and had an amazing stay there. Perfect location, very friendly staff, clean and very comfortable rooms. It is a bit old but it is adding a nice feel to the ambiance.
For the location I can not compare to any other hotel with a better place.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Roni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,270)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,087 - 1,093 of 2,270 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2013

My husband and I recently visited Barcelona and stayed at the Avenida Palace. The rooms are large and comfortable. Plenty of electrical outlets which is not something we usually find, even in hotels here in the US. The location of the hotel is the best, conveniently located close to the best shopping and yet still within walking distance to the historic areas. The hotel staff could not have been more helpful. I corresponded with them prior to arrival to set up a private wine tasting. They provided several options, with pricing, saving us the hassle of having to arrange it after arrival. Housekeeping was very attentive and cleaned our room quickly the moment we departed late morning for the day. The included breakfast only adds to the value of the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank squaredeal16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

The hotel's location is great, close to everything. The breakfast buffet is really good. The only draw back is the hotel staff, they are rude,arrogant and not helpful at all. It's a shame for a 4star hotel and I think management should train there staff how to be polite,friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Try to request a room above 2nd floor, we stayed in 1st floor and the room shakes every time metro a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gracieluv143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

The hotel is charming and has a grandiose style of decor. Its location is just ideal for anyone wanting to explore Barcelona. It is within easy reach of Las Ramblas and all other major attractions. The buffet breakfast was plentiful and there was plenty of room in the dining room. The staff tried to be helpful and even with the language barrier we were always able to find out what we needed to know.
The room we had was a little outdated in terms of decor and on closer inspection we found that the carpets were stained, there was a hole in the wardrobe door and what concerned us the most was an enormous amount of dust and dirt stuck to the wall above the air conditioning unit. Furthermore, our brochure had stated that there would be tea and coffee in the room but on our arrival we were told that this was not the case and that we would have to use room service.
We did not let these things spoil our enjoyment of our holiday but we felt that there was a lack of attention to detail which would have made all the difference to us.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CathyCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This place was very clean, comfortable and had old world charm. The staff was very helpful, but always busy. This hotel was constantly busy with many guests including tour groups. We loved our rooms and the beds were so comfortable. My husband and I opted for a simple continental breakfast in the restaurant that was served to us in great style and fabulous service. It was pricier than we usually spend in Europe, but it was worth it. It was in a wonderful location.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank librarian73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JavierTomas, Manager at Hotel El Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Dear Traveler,
After reading your comments, it is an honor for us to see that we have reached your expectations is service and comfort as well as personal contact with our staff.
I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you once again on your next visit to Barcelona and share with you all the improvements and news at the Avenida Palace Hotel.
I remain for anythng you may need.
Sincerely

Javier Tomás
Deputy manager
AVENIDA PALACE HOTEL * * * *sup
jtomas@avenidapalace.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed 5 nights at the Avenida Palace in October 2013. Plus: the Hotel lobby, dining room and staircase are beautiful. The breakfast was good. The staff was helpful, and the location was very convenient for seeing Barcelona and close to the train and metro. Delta: our room, 861, however. left much to be desired. The handicapped shower was moldy and leaked, creating a pond around the toilet. The comfy chairs in the picture of the "standard room" we reserved were not there, just a wooden desk chair, and the bed was so hard we got up sore in the morning.

Room Tip: Avoid the handicapped rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evelyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JavierTomas, Manager at Hotel El Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Dear Traveler,
First of all thank you for choosing the Avenida Palace Hotel on your last visit to Barcelona.
Thank you for your comments about the hotel and our staff.
Greatly regret what happened on your bathroom with the shower.
I would like to share with you that this week we renovated showers handicapped rooms.
Likewise we are also renovating the rooms mattresses and we are doing many more changes, also we are changing all our WiFi network for guests.
I hope to welcome you again on your next visit to Barcelona and share with you all our improvements.
I remain for any further assistance you may need.

Sincerely

Javier Tomás
Deputy manager
AVENIDA PALACE HOTEL* * * *sup
jtomas@avenidapalace.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

This hotel is gorgeous and is in a great location. But its staff was very cold, argumentative, and unpleasant to us--with the exception of one very sweet young lady at the front desk. We booked our 2-night stay through Expedia, and the booking documents stated that wifi and breakfast were included. The first morning we ate a less-than-mediocre breakfast in the hotel dining room, and we were presented a bill to sign. When we tried to explain to the waiter, he glared at us, snatched the bill, and stormed off to the front desk to complain. The front desk people argued with us and intimated we were lying. I went up to our room, got the Expedia documents, and showed them the very clearly stated promise of included breakfast. They said they would have to research our claim. Later that day they grudgingly told us we didn't have to pay for the breakfast, but they weren't happy about it. There was no apology or kind word. The next morning we breakfasted at Starbucks. The front desk staff gave basic service, but they always made us feel we were forcing them to go above and beyond their duties. It was very uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JavierTomas, Manager at Hotel El Avenida Palace, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Dear Guest,
I would first like to thank you to have chosen the Avenida Palace hotel.
I very much regret that there was misunderstanding with your breakfast and would like to apologize on behalf of our staff for not being more polite with this matter and on my own behalf.
We are improving our facilities and I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again and explain to you.

I remain
Sincerely

Javier Tomás
Deputy manager
Avenida Palace Hotel
jtomas@avenidapalace.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
H10 Catalunya Plaza
H10 Catalunya Plaza
#75 of 519 in Barcelona
698 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Granvia
Hotel Granvia
#65 of 519 in Barcelona
1,231 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Claris
Hotel Claris
#68 of 519 in Barcelona
1,995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hotel Pulitzer
Hotel Pulitzer
#105 of 519 in Barcelona
2,308 reviews
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#8 of 519 in Barcelona
1,817 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Rambla
Hotel Praktik Rambla
#86 of 519 in Barcelona
2,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Avenida Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Avenida Palace

Address: Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes, 605, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#102 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#127 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#165 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $114 - $403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel El Avenida Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Avenida Palace is a classic part of Barcelona. It has been recently refurbished and is blessed by its prime location in the city centre. It offers 151 comfortable, recently refurbished rooms that have retained their classic yet functional décor. The rooms are well-appointed and have en-suite bathrooms as well as a digital ISDN line with modem connection. The "Insolit Barcelona" restaurant is open every day. Room service is available. The hotel boasts 7 function rooms for between 25 and 300 people, all of which have an analogue telephone line for computer connections. Audio-visual and technical equipment is available for clients, and there is a hairdressing and massage service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel El Avenida Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Husa Avenida Palace Barcelona
Avenida Palace Barcelona
Husa Avenida Palace Hotel Barcelona
Hotel El Avenida Palace Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing