We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Avenida Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Avenida Palace
Ranked #177 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“great hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Picked this hotel from trip advisors because of the pictures and all the positive reviews I read about it. All comments were right on, a fabulous location with so much within walking distance and the staff eager to help with all your questions and recommendations for excursions etc. I would certainly reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tourist56_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JavierTomas, Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear traveler,
First of all thank you for choosing the Avenida Palace on your last stay in Barcelona,
thank you for all your comments that means that you enjoyed your last visit to the Avenida Palace.
As you mention on your comments, still guiding you on your travels with trip advisor reviews and leaving your comments on it.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in a near future.
Sincerely.

Javier Tomás
Deputy manager
AVENIDA PALACE HOTEL
jtomas@husa.es
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    723
    673
    260
    92
    66
See reviews for
466
757
61
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hull, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We travelled to Barcelona for a short break at the end of July 2013. Our room wasn't ready when we arrived but they were helpful, checked us in and looked after our luggage. We had booked two connecting rooms as we travelled with two teenagers. As soon as one room was ready they let us use that one straight away.
Our rooms were spacious and very clean with excellent air con. We booked on a room only basis so couldn't comment on the food but it really didn't matter at all because the hotel was so central. I was worried about noise from outside but it was not a problem.

The staff on reception were great and the kids loved the doorman dressed in his top hat. They felt they were in a posh hotel. The only reason I haven't given the hotel a top rating is there was a lot of noise from a group of young spanish people in the next room. They had drunken arguments. We rang reception to get the noise stopped but it really didn't make a difference for very long. I think this was a problem on our trip rather than it being a problem for the hotel in general but it did stop us sleeping well.

Everything tourist is close by and we paid a good price for the room only basis.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LizzyM71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JavierTomas, Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Miss.Lizzy,
Thank you for choosing the Avenida Palace hotel for your last stay in Barcelona.
We are very happy to see that we've reached your expectations in service and to see that the kids enjoy their stay as well as you did.
Accept our most sincere apologies for the noise that the people on the room beside yours done.
Sometimes there are things like this that we can't control at all.
Please if you come back to Barcelona in a near or far future, please let me know and I'll personally take care about your booking.
I remain.
Sinverely

Javier Tomás
AVENIDA PALACE HOTEL* * * *s
jtomas@husa.es
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at the Avenida Palace after finishing our transatlantic cruise in May. The location could not be improved upon, near restaurants, shops, the Gothic quarter and the Gaudi district. The room was spacious and clean and the service friendly. The lobby and restaurant were both beautiful.

Breakfast was included, and was good, but not outstanding. We also had lunch there. The service was good but the food mediocre and fairly high priced.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JavierTomas, Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Paul,
Thank you for choosing the Avenida Palace Hotel on your last visit to Barcelona.
After seeing your comments, It fills me with pride and satisfaction to se that we have reached your expectations in service and accommodation and be sure we will take note about your comments on food.
Please let us know when you will be back in Barcelona and we'll do our best to satisfy the 100% of all your needs.
Sincerely

Javier Tomás
Deputy manager
AVENIDA PALACE HOTEL
jtomas@husa.es
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa Park, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I recommend contacting Javier Tomás Gaspart ,Deputy manager,Subdirector of Hotel Aveinda prior to your visit,as he and his exquisite staff will expect you with open arms,, right from the hat and tails doorman , to the very seasoned bell man . anything you have a question about there is someone there to answer you 24hrs a day, , we had some overnight same day laundry done and it was affordable and placed back on our bed by 4pm, The view from the 8th floor is awesoe of Barcelona, and is right in between the Ramblas, and The Square, all in all excellent Place. I would not hesitate to recommend this Hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JavierTomas, Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Danny,
First of all thank you for spend your time sharing your opinions world wide.
All the hotel staff and myself are very proud to see on your comments that we've reached your expectations and we will be waiting for your next visit to Barcelona with open arms.
I remain for any assistance you may need on your next visit to Barcelona.
we hope it'll be soon.
Sincerely

Javier Tomás
Deputy manager
AVENIDA PALACE HOTEL
jtomas@husa.es
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Level Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

The hotel is in the right location, close to transport and La Rambla. The rooms are fantastic. Magical stay. The staff are very accommodating and the breakfast is amazing particularly the scrambled egg.

Room Tip: If you don't like your tell them as they will try to accommodate you. I heard someone doing this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MYH136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JavierTomas, Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Traveller,
First of all thank you for choosing the Avenida Palace Hotel for your last stay in Barcelona and thank you for spend your time giving us and sharing world wide your opinions and experiences during your last trip to Barcelona and at The Avenida Palace Hotel.
we are proud to see that we have reached your expectations during your stay at the hotel.
It will be a pleasure for me to welcome you once again on your next trip to Barcelona
All what we do is to welcome you once again.
I remain.
Sincerely,

Javier Tomás
Deputy Manager
AVENIDA PALACE HOTEL* * * * s
jtomas@husa.es
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Visited in early June 2013. Our first visit to Barcelona. Good size room and very attentive and friendly staff. Stayed in a standard double room. Good size with room to relax. Lovely breakfast to start the day off well. Excellent location close to up market shops. Great location for eating around and good tapas places close by at good value prices. Delicious house wines. Recommend for those who are looking for very good accommodation at very reasonable prices. Wifi free and best used in reception.

Room Tip: See if you can a room with a street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JavierTomas, Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Peter,
First of all thank you for choosing the Avenida Palace Hotel for your last stay in Barcelona and thank you for spend your time giving us and sharing world wide your opinions and experiences during your last trip to Barcelona and at The Avenida Palace Hotel.
It's nice to see that we have reached your expectations at the hotel.
It will be a pleasure for me to welcome you once again in a not so far future and show you our new refurbished rooms.
Our aim is to improve, if it's posible, our customers happiness.
I remain.
Sincerely,

Javier Tomás
Deputy Manager
AVENIDA PALACE HOTEL* * * * s
jtomas@husa.es
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

The hotel itself is quite average, and they really need to do something about their elevators, seems like it's gonna break down any minute. The service here is ridiculous, and check in time is just wrong. Check in time can only be made at 4 in the afternoon and check out time must be at before 12. Usually check in times are 12 noon, so we had to wait for 6 hours because we arrived at 10.

Helpful?
1 Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JavierTomas, Manager at Hotel Avenida Palace, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Mr.Gary,
First of all thank you for choosing the Avenida Palace on your last stay in Barcelona.
After your review i can see that we hasn't reached your expectations during your stay.
The matter about the elevators It must be an isolated case because each month a review is done and we have not recived more complaints about the elevators, maybe are a little slow but effective.
We have 151 rooms and the international check out time is at 12:00 and upon a customer checked out the hotel our housekeeping team has to clean up the room, refresh the room, check it and then check in a new customer. Depending the occupancy of the hotel we will give the rooms as soon as we can, our aim is the full satisfaction of our customers.
If you plan to came to Barcelona in a near or far future, please let me know and if you give us the opportunity, I'll take care personally about your booking.

Please accept our deepest apologies for the incidents happened.
I remain,

Sincerely

Javier Tomás
Deputy Manager
AVENIDA PALACE HOTEL
jtomas@husa.es
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
#104 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,942 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Rambla
Hotel Praktik Rambla
#69 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,831 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Granvia
Hotel Granvia
#59 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Catalonia Passeig de Gracia
Eixample
Petit Palace Museum Hotel
Petit Palace Museum Hotel
#105 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
Eixample
NH Collection Barcelona Gran Hotel Calderon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avenida Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avenida Palace

Property: Hotel Avenida Palace
Address: Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes, 605, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#122 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#127 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#130 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#165 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Avenida Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Avenida Palace is a classic part of Barcelona. It has been recently refurbished and is blessed by its prime location in the city centre. It offers 151 comfortable, recently refurbished rooms that have retained their classic yet functional décor. The rooms are well-appointed and have en-suite bathrooms as well as a digital ISDN line with modem connection. The "Insolit Barcelona" restaurant is open every day. Room service is available. The hotel boasts 7 function rooms for between 25 and 300 people, all of which have an analogue telephone line for computer connections. Audio-visual and technical equipment is available for clients, and there is a hairdressing and massage service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Avenida Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Husa Avenida Palace Barcelona
Avenida Palace Barcelona
Husa Avenida Palace Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Avenida Palace Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing