We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent Value for Price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Avenida Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Avenida Palace
Ranked #178 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Decent Value for Price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Not much to add that hasn't been said by others. Was at Avenida Palace on Sept 13/14 and, as well, Sept 23/24 for pre and post Cruise stays.

Asked for smoking for first visit but was not accomodated. Did get a smoking room on last visit.

Rooms are on the small size and dark as others have noted. Both rooms faced an inner court so got no sunlight at all. Walls are thin so you can hear the noise and flushing of toilets in next room.

All that said, we didn't spend much time in the room anyway so it didn't pose a great problem. Just should be noted.

The safe in the second room was difficult to operate but we did manage to get it working once a manager from downstairs visited and used a master code to reset the unit.

Bathrooms are small but clean.

We did not eat at the hotel (breakfast at the Obama pub two doors away was quite suitable and much cheaper than 30 euros. But Obama's is not open on sundays for breakfast).

The location of the hotel is terrific in terms of proximity to Las Ramblas. A 5 minute walk.



  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Husa Hoteles

Helpful?
Thank dhn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    725
    675
    260
    92
    67
See reviews for
467
759
61
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed top floor. Was very quiet for sleeping. No neighbor noise or traffic. Bed was rock hard. Hard to sleep on. My legs went to sleep from the pressure on my hips. Very clean and spacious. Long walk from barrio gothic if that's the area u want. Very close to Gaudi home/museum.
Bad service from receptionist. But I find Spanish service incredibly rude. Expected better at a hotel of this calibre though.

Room Tip: Top floor always the best. We had a corrner suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deuxfortwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellshill
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

One block from placa catalunya, metro outside front of hotel, perfect. Hotel nice, comfortable and clean. Bed really comfy. Would definitely recommend it. It was busy, but there wasn't any noise in the room areas. Staff were efficient and helpful as well.

Room Tip: Our room looked into the well of the building so if you want a street view then make sure you reques...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BellshillEileen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

The hotel was better than we thought. It is very clean and every one is very friendly. They are very helpful and very can help you if you have a problem, This was not our first choice and I am glade we picked this hotel over our first choice. It is right in the center of the hop on hop off buss and close to all the entertainment area. I would highly recamend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Husa Hoteles

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Great location, very friendly staff. Bed was not that comfortable. The room was very clean and would stay here again. The hotel itself is beautiful. Old, but very well kept.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Husa Hoteles

Helpful?
Thank garthhr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Leandro, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Our room was very roomy, our only complaint was that the bed was very worn out and had a huge whole on one side(room 904). Breakfast was also very good with plenty of food options. Great location and only a few blocks from the main strip. Would definately recommendt this hotel. Great customer services. Free 30 minute internet in the lobby only.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dianamanzano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

Tried to save a bit of money by staying here instead of the hotel my wife & I usually stay at & it was a huge mistake. On arrival we were first of all given a twin room despite requesting a double, the room was changed but the bed in this had springs protruding & we had to turn & flip the mattress as it was impossible to sleep on. The room safe was broken & it took them 3 days to fix it (we only stayed 5 days in total). On day two they forgot to give us any shower gel so we had to go & ask for some, on day three we had no glasses, day four they forgot to clean ours & every room in the corridoor despite all of us showing please make up room request labels on our doors so we had to go & request they clean the room. When they had finished we discovered they had left us no toilet tissue so there was yet another trip downstairs to the desk to request that also. We paid for breakfast for our entire stay but after the first two days we didn't bother with it as very poor quality produce is served with absolutely awfull coffee, we went out & bought breakfast elsewhere instead. On top of this the room was dark with positively filthy carpet, broken tiling in bathroom & the general cleanliness was very poor. The overall decor of the Hotel in general can best be described as tired with badly worn carpets throughout, poor air conditioning etc & apart from location has absolutely nothing to recommend it. This hotel is in need of a complete re-fit is poorly staffed & is a total disaster.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grumpydude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
#103 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,946 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Rambla
Hotel Praktik Rambla
#69 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,836 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Granvia
Hotel Granvia
#59 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
NH Collection Barcelona Gran Hotel Calderon
Eixample
Hotel Catalonia Passeig de Gracia
Eixample
Petit Palace Museum Hotel
Petit Palace Museum Hotel
#102 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avenida Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avenida Palace

Property: Hotel Avenida Palace
Address: Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes, 605, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#123 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#127 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#130 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#165 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Avenida Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Avenida Palace is a classic part of Barcelona. It has been recently refurbished and is blessed by its prime location in the city centre. It offers 151 comfortable, recently refurbished rooms that have retained their classic yet functional décor. The rooms are well-appointed and have en-suite bathrooms as well as a digital ISDN line with modem connection. The "Insolit Barcelona" restaurant is open every day. Room service is available. The hotel boasts 7 function rooms for between 25 and 300 people, all of which have an analogue telephone line for computer connections. Audio-visual and technical equipment is available for clients, and there is a hairdressing and massage service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Avenida Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Husa Avenida Palace Barcelona
Avenida Palace Barcelona
Husa Avenida Palace Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Avenida Palace Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing