We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs to improve the basics”
Review of Hotel Balmoral

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Balmoral
Ranked #160 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Overall, this really didn't meet my expectations of a four star hotel.

Good:
-Central enough location, but not on a busy thoroughfare so not too noisey
-Friendly staff
-Comfy bed

Bad:
-Poor breakfast offering
-Poorly ventilated room
-Mould build up outside bathroom window
-Room facing into a dark shaft
-3 euro for a tiny bottle of water from the minibar - just mean, considering BCN mains water is notoriously unpalatable
-Wifi was very bad
-No coffee/tea facilities
-Poor sound insulation, could hear conversations/phone calls/toilets flushing from other rooms

Room Tip: Try get a street view rather than a shaft view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix A, Director General at Hotel Balmoral, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Dear Guest,
First at all, thank you very much for your comentary in Tripadvisor. We are working to offer our clients the best service posible.
About this, Our breakfast is in constantly changes, Actually, we offer our guests: salmon and paté plus 7/9 kinds of cheese, 7/10 kinds of sausages, 7 differents breaks, pastries, Spezial zone for dietetics or 5 differents orange juice or spezial for vegetarian people, gluten free or non lactose...etc.
For me is very important your opinion. We have to offer a good breakfast for all!!
About your room, we have a quite and individual rooms, but we have standar or double room. In a differents booking pages and wwww.hotelbalmoral.com, you can choose your room.
The next time you came back to BCN, i hope you choose Balmoral
Muchas gracias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (788)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

313 - 319 of 788 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2014

The Abba Balmoral has just cancelled my University study tour stay just 20 days before departure. We had simply requested that the mini bars in the rooms be locked (as per University guidelines), and they told my travel agent that this would cost them money (devalue the rooms.) They insisted on a letter detailing our school group and our intentions in Barcelona (we are 32 graduate and undergraduate students and professors of Geography, Planning and Architecture.) Originally they were satisfied with this letter, then they abruptly cancelled our reservations that had been in place for over 2 months. This was simply a horrible way to treat your guests. Shame on you.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
2  Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix A, Director General at Hotel Balmoral, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Dear Sir
Thank you very much for your comment in tripadvisors.
About your book in the hotel Balmoral, we inform to our agencies that our policy about the guest is "not accept students groups". We inform our policy to the agency months ago and i supose that they decided to book your group in other hotel.

I hope your experience in BArcelona with your group was great.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

This hotel is at a pretty convenient location across the road of the 2 main shopping street of Barcelona. Metro is only 5-10minute walk away. It's clean and the breakfast was amazing! Wifi however wasn't working all the time and it was pretty slow but the staffs were very helpful and give you all the direction you need.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mythary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix A, Director General at Hotel Balmoral, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Dear guest
First at all, thank you very much for your commentary in trip advisors. For us is very important the service at reception desk and in the breakfast. About breakfast, we are working every day to offer a great breakfast!. Our wifi line is free and it is possible that was slowly in these moment.
We take note about this to offer better line!
thank you...

NOS VEMOS PRONTO!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

Nice, spacious room, polite and helpful staff. Wifi a bit sketchy, though.. My stay was for free, so can't say anything about value for money, but the hotel is located quite central to most venues of the city; 1-2 stops with the metro to Guell Park, Sagrada Familia and La Rambla

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Kampenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix A, Director General at Hotel Balmoral, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for your commentary
I see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Cared for hotel. Friendly staff, proactive and keen. Rooms are modern, clean and comfortable. Bar is a little "sterile" but comfortable enough. Would come again, was a business trip this time, but love Barcelona so will look to come to this hotel next time on a holiday visit to this great City.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank DBM007_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix A, Director General at Hotel Balmoral, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear Guest,
First at all, thank you very much for your commentary.
About our staff, we are working to serve our clients very well.
thank you very much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

I only stayed one night so i cant write a lot about the hotel but i loved the ambiance of the hotel. It was very elite. The rooms were big and clean. So i got everything i wanted. The hotel totally worth the money i gave..

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Selin_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix A, Director General at Hotel Balmoral, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014
Google Translation

Apreciado Cliente
Muchas gracias por su comentarios!!!!
HAsta pronto!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights whilst on a business trip to Barcelona.
The public areas are fairly modern and reasonable, the rooms fairly standard - my bathroom could do with a bit of modernisation but everything worked as it should!
Bed reasonably comfortable, loved the big long pillow!
As an english woman Barcelona was warm, however the heating was on full blast in the room and when I tried the air con the fan just circulated the hot air.....the windows are either wide open or shut and as there was a roof outside my window I didn't feel safe leaving it open.....when asking the air con is not switched on for quite a while yet.
No drink facilities in the room, and whenever I tried to get a 'free' welcome drink it had run out.
The gym only opens at 9am, which is not much use for a business visitor....
The area was fairly quiet at nice, but it was easy to walk to the tourist spots, apart from the beach and marina areas which are really a taxi ride away.....
breakfast was Ok, but we asked if it was included in the price of the room and were told yes, only to have it show as an extra on our bill...think we could have got a much nicer breakfast outside the hotel for a fraction of the price.
But I love Barcelona, and this hotel is OK if you don't want to spend a fortune and want to be fairly near everything.

Room Tip: Ask for a window - not all the rooms have them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathC73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix A, Director General at Hotel Balmoral, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your commentary,
About the breakfast, we inform our clients about the price of the breakfast. if you want to book breaksfast in our webpage we have a discount for this. We can book: room only, or room and breakfast.

HAsta pronto!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Room Mate Carla
Room Mate Carla
#51 of 516 in Barcelona
375 reviews
Wilson Boutique Hotel
#104 of 516 in Barcelona
1,267 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Catalonia Born
Catalonia Born
#50 of 516 in Barcelona
1,770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#65 of 516 in Barcelona
3,232 reviews
Hispanos 7 Suiza
#149 of 516 in Barcelona
641 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Omm
Hotel Omm
#52 of 516 in Barcelona
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Balmoral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Balmoral

Address: C/ Via Augusta, 5, 08006 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#117 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#193 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $91 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Balmoral 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Balmoral Barcelona is an elegant and classical Hotel in the center of Barcelona, recently refurbished to make you feel yourself at home away from home in the heart of the touristic, financial and commercial district of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Balmoral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Balmoral Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing