We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This hotel is quite good.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Derby

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Derby
Ranked #292 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Cremona, Italy
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“This hotel is quite good.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

It is quite clean, the service desk is well managed.
I use to go there one week a month and I consider it with a good balance cost/quality.
It is 10min from downtown by taxy , in Barcellona the taxy are quite cheap.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MRavo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Hotel Derby, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Guest

We want to thank you very much for taking a few minutes of your time to write us a comment. Thank you also for your nice words.
What we want is that the customer leaves happy after staying at the Hotel Derby
Reading your words we understand that we have succeeded. We are immensely pleased.

Thanks again, for trusting us and we want to see you again soon in our hotel.
We wait you in Barcelona!

Regards,

Front Desk Manager

Javier Moreno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    268
    128
    40
    22
See reviews for
88
299
28
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Trebes, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

Clean, quiet, comfortable, economical and has a good breakfast. It is located in a convenient area near shopping, dining and easy to travel via bus and underground. Taxi service available very close to the entrance. The Diagonal is just one block away and this is one of the main roads in the city.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hyjinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Hotel Derby, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Dear Guest
Hotel Derby Team would like to thank you so much for such a lovely review!
We love having guests as you, this is so wonderful when someone thanks you personally to the staff. This helps us to be better in our daily work, to improve in all we do for our guests. This really made us very happy today!

Once again, thank you very much! We hope to welcoming you very soon again, any time you wish!

Our best regards,

Javier Moreno

Front desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
279 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

The hotel is located nicely about a 10min walk from the city Center and the Barcelona Sants railway station. The Loreto street is quiet and you won't hear any traffic to the room. The hotel itself is quite ok - the rooms are big enough, there's enough storage for two large suitcases. Service was also quite good and everything was super clean.

The guests can use the pool at Gran Derby which was across the street and quite nice. The pool was small but it was real nice to be able to use it during those hot July days.

Negative points were the breakfast and the air flow in our room. Let's begin with the breakfast which was served until 10 or 11. We arrived about 30 min before it ended and they were already out of several products such as eggs and toast - they only had some ham, cheese etc and very dry & hard baguette which was absolutely impossible to eat. There were more guests coming in after us but the staff didn't fill the empty plates and didn't bring any new food. Few minutes before the breakfast was ending they started to clean up the breakfast room and removing the remaining food. This was quite lame. It's a holiday hotel, after all. People shouldn't have to rush with their breakfast which was already over priced.

Secondly, we woke up during one night because we had turned off the air con and somehow it felt as the room as running out of air since we both felt short of breath. We had to keep the air con on which was very loud.. Not a good ending to our trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kristiina83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Hotel Derby, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments and want to share with other TripAdvisor travelers! As you know, our priority at Hotel Derby is that your stay in Barcelona as comfortable and pleasant as possible, so we give special emphasis to the client feel well taken care of even before his arrival at the Hotel.
Sorry to read that althougt you evidence a very pleased service, your stay was not up to their expectations.
In reviewing possible incidents during your stay in our database did not find any comment or observation reflected. I would like to emphasize that it is very important to us that our guests comment on Receiving any discomfort with the aim of providing a solution in time.
Thanks again and we hope we will see you soon

Javier Moreno
Front desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

Good location, very friendly staff, good comfortable rooms, decent breakfast. Ideal for business trips. Excellent pricing compared to general Barcelona level. Highly recommended for business travellers who don't want to spend a fortune in BCN.

Room Tip: 5th floor was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Hotel Derby, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Derby Hotel. After staying with us, your feedback is just so important for us. I am glad you have enjoyed every single details of your stay and one of our strength, the quality - price.
Thanks again for recomending us.

Looking forward to welcome you back soon, please feel free to contact us direct in order to organise all the details.

kind regards,

Javier Moreno
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Excellent service, warm, attentive, from the moment I made the reservation to the end of my stay. Great rooms, super clean, comfortable, modern, with luxury bathrooms. The location was just right, a quiet but very central location. I highly recommend this hotel to single people as well as families.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ConscienceTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Hotel Derby, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your comments! If you allow us, we will say that we are not perfect, but we work hard to satisfy the expectations of our customers. Thanks to feedback from our guests, we can go slowly improving those aspects that they believe need revision.

We welcome you all had a pleasant stay at our hotel and we hope to see you again soon in Barcelona.

Yours sincerely,

Montse García
Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

I stayed here few months ago for 3 nights. The hotel is nice and clean and the food is very good. I really can't say anything bad about it. The location is ok. It was far from the center but when we went to Barcelona we wanted to see the entire city so...the position of the hotel was not so important. If you buy the city tour bus tickets then you shouldn't care about the position. There is a city bus station at 5 minutes away. So..if you want a nice, clean and good hotel for a good amount of money, then choose it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vasile R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Hotel Derby, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Derbu Hotel. After staying three nights with us, your feedback is just so important for us. I am glad you have enjoyed every single details of your stay and thanks again for recomending us.

Looking forward to welcome you back soon, please feel free to contact us direct us direct in order to organise all the details.

Javier Moreno
Front desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

We upgraded ourselves to a Junior Suite which was a nice room on the seventh floor with a roof terrace.Staff were very nice the hotel was fine and well located and the cost was a very reasonable €110 Euros per night.
The WiFi access was a nightmare constantly logging in again and again even though I paid for "premium" wi-fi.
As I was there for business and needed to upload and download presentations etc. this was a real pain in the neck. I think that most Spaniards either don't care or have data on their mobiles but it feels a bit third world not to be able to collect emails.
There is a tram line very close to the hotel which runs up the Gran Via so it would be a good spot for shopping.

Room Tip: Pay for the upgrade to a mini suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hugo54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Hotel Derby, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for taking part of your time to write your comments. We are sorry that your stay was not pleasant to have been.

Obviously it is unacceptable what you said, so we have been extended his criticism from the moment it was published to the general manager in order to work in the internet acces.

we are working with great attention in this flaw , beacause we know this is very important for our guests in order to make your stay as pleasant as possible for all our customers.

Hopefully it will be nice to see you again in our hotel to give you the service you deserve.

Sincerely,

Javier Moreno
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Hotel Gran Derby Suites
#131 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Les Corts
NH Barcelona Les Corts
NH Barcelona Les Corts
#263 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Hotel Medium Prisma
#349 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#148 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
Les Corts
NH Collection Constanza
NH Collection Constanza
#80 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
Les Corts
NH Barcelona Entenza
NH Barcelona Entenza
#299 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Derby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Derby

Property: Hotel Derby
Address: Loreto, 21, 08029 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#105 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#142 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#175 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#197 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Derby 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four-star hotel located next to Barcelona's Diagonal commercial and business area and just 10 minutes away from the Sants AVE station.Because of the peace and tranquillity of its location, its connection with the rest of the city and the internal distribution of its guest rooms, Hotel Derby is one of the best options for accommodation in Barcelona, whether you are travelling for business or pleasure.Located on an almost completely pedestrian street, Hotel Derby has 115 guest rooms, 3 function rooms and the Epsom Restaurant for groups.Services115 guest rooms: 17 single rooms, 92 double rooms and 6 junior suite roomsEpsom Scotch BarEpsom Restaurant for groupsThe Times coffee shopBreakfast buffet24-hour room service and mini-barBusiness centreWi-Fi in all areasFunction rooms and spaces for eventsLaundry and ironing serviceSmall dogs allowed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Derby Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Derby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derby Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Derby Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing