We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Derby”
Review of Hotel Derby

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Derby
Ranked #297 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Gatineau, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Hotel Derby”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Well located and well priced hotel in Barcelona. 15 minutes from Metro stations. 10 minutes from good restaurants (no restaurant in the hotel, but one just in front) and from a shopping center. Near the Diagonal avenue for rapid access to highways. Parking aside expensive but handy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LafAdvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Hotel Derby, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Hotel Derby. After staying with us, your feedback is just so important for us. I am glad you have enjoyed every single details of your stay and thanks again for recomending us.

Looking forward to welcome you back soon, please feel free to contact us direct us direct in order to organise all the details.

Javier Moreno
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    279
    137
    40
    23
See reviews for
93
310
30
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Hotel is in a good location to pick up the Hop On Hop Off bus. One of the first bus stops in the morning, so it is easy to get a good seat. It is not in a busy section of the city. People at the desk were very helpful- gave good directions and recommended a number of nearby restaurants - from coffee shops to an excellent seafood restaurant that we enjoyed. Room was a nice size and quiet.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Hotel Derby, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice review! We are so glad that you liked our place. We do our best to make all our guests to feel like home here in Barcelona, so far away from home.

We hope to welcoming you very soon again, any time you wish

Javier Moreno
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on a five-night business trip. Did not have much chance as a very late and last-minute booker. However, the room was pleasant and nice, the staff very friendly and th e cleaning was good. Had made a good deal, so price/value quotation was very good. Can recommend this hotel.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Hoeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Hotel Derby, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your nice review! We are so glad that you liked our place. We do our best to make all our guests to feel like home here in Barcelona, so far away from home.

Once again, thank you very much! We hope to welcoming you very soon again, any time you wish!

Javier Moreno
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We only stayed for one night and did not have a breakfast in the hotel. The rooms are small, but clean and the bathroom was quite nice. They also have a lot of stuff in the mini-bar. The reception staff was very helpful in giving out directions. They also have in-side parking right next to the hotel and they let us to keep the car there even after check-in.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank termix11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Hotel Derby, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you very much for your nice review!
Im really surprise you say about the breakfast, we serve breakfast buffet every day from 7.00 til 10.30 in the restaurant
And also we have the coffe shop door by door with the hotel , were you can enjoy of our excelents breakfast at your size.
We are so glad that you liked our place. We do our best to make all our guests to feel like home here in Barcelona, so far away from home.

Once again, thank you very much! We hope to welcoming you very soon again, any time you wish

Javier Moreno
Front Desk manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

In some countries, I'm not sure Hotel Derby would quite live up to its four stars, but all things considered, my friend and I found it to be a pleasant stay for our four nights in Barcelona.

Overall - it's clean and safe, beds were comfortable, and although it's not right in the centre, we got around just fine. The building is modern and the receptionists were friendly and helpful. Our twin room on the 5th floor was cool and relatively spacious. There was the added perk of a very small pool and sun deck you can use at the sister hotel across the street, and there were little things like a turn down service.

The biggest downside was as other have mentioned, the walls are pretty thin! In the mornings, we could hear what I presume was the cleaning staff moving around beds, closing drawers etc. Also, the wifi was a bit dodgy. There were also little things like our shower made an irritating screeching noise whenever we used it and a couple of (admittedly discreet) gentleman's clubs are in the area... but maybe that's just what Barcelona is like because it felt like a very safe area!

A note on transport - If you're coming in from the airport without much luggage, you can take the train to Barcelona Sants Station and walk about 15 minutes from there. I would probably hop in a taxi if you've got a heavier load. And, if it's already dark when you arrive, I'd suggest taking a taxi. There were some interesting characters on the main road from the station (i.e. a lot of people digging through bins) and as two girls, my friend and I discovered that the best metro to use at night was Hospital Clinic.

Overall: I'm not sure how much it would have ended up costing us per night, as we booked through a British Airways deal, but based one what I estimate we paid, I think it was a really good deal and for the right price, I'd happily recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaElizabethW11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Hotel Derby, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you very much for your nice review!
We are so glad that you liked our place. We do our best to make all our guests to feel like home here in Barcelona, so far away from home.

Javier Moreno
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Hotel is pretty good and very good located (only 30 waling minutes away from City center).Reaaly efficient the cleaning room service that comes few times a day to check and eventually remake up..never seen anywhere else!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with HalconViajes.com

Helpful?
Thank Pasquale1977 P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Hotel Derby, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Derby ater staying with us, your feedback is just so important for us. i am glad you have enjoyed every single details of your stay and thanks again for recomending us.

Looking forward to welcome you back soon, please feel free to contact us direct us direct in order to organise all the details.


Javier Moreno
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Hotel Gran Derby Suites
#163 of 512 in Barcelona
487 reviews
Les Corts
NH Barcelona Les Corts
NH Barcelona Les Corts
#274 of 512 in Barcelona
684 reviews
Hotel Medium Prisma
#359 of 512 in Barcelona
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#149 of 512 in Barcelona
1,110 reviews
Les Corts
NH Sants Barcelona
NH Sants Barcelona
#215 of 512 in Barcelona
1,298 reviews
Les Corts
Arenas Atiram Hotels
Arenas Atiram Hotels
#389 of 512 in Barcelona
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Derby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Derby

Property: Hotel Derby
Address: Loreto, 21, 08029 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#105 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#142 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#180 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#197 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Derby 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four-star hotel located next to Barcelona's Diagonal commercial and business area and just 10 minutes away from the Sants AVE station.Because of the peace and tranquillity of its location, its connection with the rest of the city and the internal distribution of its guest rooms, Hotel Derby is one of the best options for accommodation in Barcelona, whether you are travelling for business or pleasure.Located on an almost completely pedestrian street, Hotel Derby has 115 guest rooms, 3 function rooms and the Epsom Restaurant for groups.Services115 guest rooms: 17 single rooms, 92 double rooms and 6 junior suite roomsEpsom Scotch BarEpsom Restaurant for groupsThe Times coffee shopBreakfast buffet24-hour room service and mini-barBusiness centreWi-Fi in all areasFunction rooms and spaces for eventsLaundry and ironing serviceSmall dogs allowed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Derby Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Derby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derby Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Derby Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing