We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay in Barcelona”
Review of Hotel Derby

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Derby
Ranked #297 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Kiryat Ata
1 review
“A pleasant stay in Barcelona”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

My name is Mrs. I. Winberg. My husband and me use to visit Barcelona few times a year. For the last year, we spent in this excellent hotel about 30 nights. The hotel is located very good, and is very clean and nice . In every visit we (and entire guests) enjoy an excellent service by hotel's stuff, especially by Ms. Montse who's service is always professional, welcoming and kind.
We highly recommend this hotel, and also forwarded our recommendation to Israel-Barcelona Tourist Cooperators.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Hotel Derby, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you Mrs. Winberg to choose again the Derby Hotel.

It is a pleasure to make your stay in Barcelona very confortable and we are very glad you to come again to our hotel.

I'd like to thank you to spend your time to share your opinion and comments and as you and as you yourself have experienced, we always do our best to make your experience at the hotel Derby and Barcelona as pleasant as possible.

Thank you again and we hope to see you soon.

Warm regards,

Montse García
Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    279
    137
    40
    23
See reviews for
93
310
30
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ft. Lauderdale
1 review
Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

Ive been here for 2 days so far out of 6 and am very confident I will continue to enjoy my stay because of the staff. We arrived very early and were allowed to check in early which was a huge plus.

Eduardo carried our bags to our room and has been very helpful so far with getting around to the places on our list. Monte helped us understand transportation around the area and Maria has been an angel even though she's in training. She will be a great addition to a wonderful staff. Alex took care of us our first night and helped set reservations up for us at Restaurante Santiaguino which turned out to be a delicious meal with a wait staff that was very attentive.

All in all this experience has been delightful so far and I'm sure the rest of the staff will continue to make our visit grand.


Cons - If you're a very light sleeper and you get a room next to the adjoining building on a lower floor you may hear conversations and/or kids but it wasn't an issue for me. It kept my partner in and out of sleep but she's a very light sleeper. The staff will attempt to move you to a room that doesn't suffer from the same issues if available.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iTravelinPeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Hotel Derby, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Hotel Derby Team would like to thank you so much for such a lovely review! We love having guests as you, this is so wonderful when someone thanks you personally to the staff. This helps us to be better in our daily work, to improve in all we do for our guests. This really made us very happy today!

Once again, thank you very much! We hope to welcoming you very soon again, any time you wish!

Javier Moreno

Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

we had a lovely weekend here, staff were so nice to the four of us, they even bought a little bottle of red wine to my friend and wished her happy birthday when we arrived. Hotel was clean, rooms were nice, staff were excellent, really helpful. You can easily get taxi's from outside, and costs about 10 euros to get to main town area, so much better than walking. Breakfast was nice (didnt see anyone have any cooked stuff, but cold selection was really yummy).

Room Tip: great for a short stay at a reasonable price
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeniseB60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Hotel Derby, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Derby hotel, your feedback is just so important for us. i am glad you have enjoyed every single details of your stay and thanks again for recomending us.

Looking forward to welcome you back soon, please feel free to contact us direct us direct in order to organise all the details.

kind regards,


Javier Moreno
Front Desk Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Unfortunatelly Derby 4* didn't meet my expectations. In the room was cold without possibility to get warmer and very noisy. I have choose those one because on the other corner of the street you can find Grand Derby which is very fine, but Derby 4* is rather a mistake

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Gerente at Hotel Derby, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Paul,

Thank you for taking time to write this review, we really appreciate all the comments.

First of all we would like to apologize for the inconveniences caused during your stay and to have failed to meet with your expectations.

I again thank you for your feedback and allowing us to continually improve our service.We are really sorry that your stay with us was not as pleasant as you expected but we would really appreciate if you could give us a second chance to accommodate you and to change your mind about our service and the hotel itself.

Regards

Remei Gomez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed here for eight nights and overall have a very satisfying experience with the hotel and its staff. First of all, the staff including the receptionists and maids are all very nice and friendly. They let us check in early and were very willing to provide any information we asked for. On the last day when we were checking out and leaving for other cities, we found that the luggage storage at airport could cost us a ton since we were planning to storage our big luggage for six days. We decided to try our luck to ask if the hotel is willing to hold our luggage after we checked out then allow us to come back to pick up six days later. Surprisingly, without any hassles they just generously offered us this big favor. Very appreciate of that!

The hotel is located in a very nice residential and we feel safe walking back at late nights. Take the main road and make a turn hotel is right in front of you. The room is well kept, might appears a bit dated but it's comfortable and clean. Big window letting daylight in. The lighting in the bathroom could be improved though, it's very dimming. Be prepared to hear all the noises from the streets. There are a couple of bars downstairs and I heard people talking loudly and the noises of garbage lifting literally every midnight, which can be a bit annoying. But it's Barcelona, the most lively city in the world and we visit it for that! So just melt yourself into the city's way and you will be fine. (earplugs would be a practical solution here!)

As to the traffic, we found that bus would be a better choice over metro in most cases. Bus stop is just a minute walk on the major roads near the hotel while metro is 10-15 walk and mostly requires transfer. There are buses that take you to the ramblas , park guell and the Sants station without the hassle of transfer. Ask the front desk for the bus route, they are always very helpful:). There is also a very decent cafe nearby on Josep, we went there for breakfast everyday, they have the best pastry and good coffee. A supermarket and a small fruit store on Josep as well.

A very wonderful stay overall. I'm taking away one star because of the dimming bathroom and slow Wifi. The hotel changes the password everyday, which kind of causes some inconvenience to the guests as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chaokuo l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director General at Hotel Derby, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are pleased to be your choice during your stay in Barcelona.
Thank your for your nice review and I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am especially pleased that you found the staff and service to be of a high level as we work very hard to ensure we deliver the best service possible.
Please note that the wifi code access is now available online, we still improving this service and now you can get your own password from your computer and use the same code during your stay.
We hope to see you soon at the Derby hotel.

Regards

Remei Gomez
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

This was a nice hotel to stay when i was in barcelon at beginning of april 2013. The staff were very helpful and were able to supply info on local places to visit and how to get there. Only thing was for 4star hotel no facilities for making tea/coffee in the room and noisy when the rubbish lifters came at 2am. Enjoyable place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bhagwant202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director General at Hotel Derby, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your views of your recent stay at The Derby Hotel, we value your feedback and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay

I am sorry, but we do not provide coffee/tea facilities on the rooms but we do have room service 24 hours with a large variety of food and drinks that can be bring it up to the room at any time requested.

Your comments are forwarded to all the staff as it is very rewarding to know that our work is appreciated.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Barcelona.

Regards,

Remei Gomez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I would certainly recommend this hotel - though not central, it has great bus services to both centre and outskirts of city. It is also in a quiet location and so great for a good night's sleep! Can't think of anything to criticise at all and the staff were all very helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
3 Thank Anna L T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director General at Hotel Derby, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dearest Anna,

It is a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and I thank you for taking time to review the Derby Hotel.

Thanks again for the good comments about the staff and We hope that we can welcome you back again in the future.

Regards

Remei Gomez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Hotel Gran Derby Suites
#163 of 512 in Barcelona
487 reviews
Les Corts
NH Barcelona Les Corts
NH Barcelona Les Corts
#274 of 512 in Barcelona
684 reviews
Hotel Medium Prisma
#359 of 512 in Barcelona
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#149 of 512 in Barcelona
1,110 reviews
Les Corts
NH Sants Barcelona
NH Sants Barcelona
#215 of 512 in Barcelona
1,298 reviews
Les Corts
Arenas Atiram Hotels
Arenas Atiram Hotels
#389 of 512 in Barcelona
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Derby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Derby

Property: Hotel Derby
Address: Loreto, 21, 08029 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#105 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#142 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#180 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#197 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Derby 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four-star hotel located next to Barcelona's Diagonal commercial and business area and just 10 minutes away from the Sants AVE station.Because of the peace and tranquillity of its location, its connection with the rest of the city and the internal distribution of its guest rooms, Hotel Derby is one of the best options for accommodation in Barcelona, whether you are travelling for business or pleasure.Located on an almost completely pedestrian street, Hotel Derby has 115 guest rooms, 3 function rooms and the Epsom Restaurant for groups.Services115 guest rooms: 17 single rooms, 92 double rooms and 6 junior suite roomsEpsom Scotch BarEpsom Restaurant for groupsThe Times coffee shopBreakfast buffet24-hour room service and mini-barBusiness centreWi-Fi in all areasFunction rooms and spaces for eventsLaundry and ironing serviceSmall dogs allowed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Derby Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Derby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derby Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Derby Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing