We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little hotel tucked in a residential neighborhood” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Derby

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Derby
Ranked #290 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great little hotel tucked in a residential neighborhood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights as a post-cruise vacation while in Barcelona. Hotel was clean and bright. Beds were comfortable but short if you are 6 feet+ and bathroom was very nice. There are 2 English TV channels, CNN and BBC World News. We did not take the breakfast buffet at 10 Euros/person in hotel, there are so many local cafes and bakeries where an order of cafe con leche and croissant (Continental breakfast) range from 1,8 Euro to 2,2 Euro/person. Don't forget the famous Catalan dark ham sandwich for breakfast in the morning. Too weird for me but...
The Bus-turistic Hop on and Hop Off actually has a pickup and drop-off at Francesc Macia-Diagonal traffic circle. The T1-T2-T3 trams, two blocks away on Diagonal (Francesc Macia stop), takes you to most local shopping centers and the university area. There are three Metro stops (Placa del Center, Sant Estacio, and Entenca) that are within walking distance and each take you through a different residential area with plenty of local shopping (not at tourist prices). Again, very safe, night and day, plenty of eateries and local shops. Sant Estacio Metro station is next to the rail station if you choose to take airport shuttle for 5 Euros/person. This works out if you are on your own and don't have a lot of luggage, else taxi from front of Hotel Derby to airport is about 30 Euros. Usage of the public PC behind front desk to check email etc was not a problem and it is free. The front desk was helpful with deciphering the local keyboard and how to print boarding passes etc. They say limit yourself to 10 minutes but I have been online for longer with no problems. The only negative is that their HVAC system changes over in November for the winter season, so the AC off and you can only get heat. When we were in Barcelona in Nov, it was still quite warm, so we left windows open at night to sleep and the traffic noise/people conversation from cafe across the street was acceptable for us city dwellers. If you are real particular about being totally quiet, then ask for a room facing the rear of the building and not the front. I like the front with open windows to fell the vibe of the city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank djwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Hotel Derby, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Hotel Guest,

Thank you for your very informative and excellent comments. We are lucky to be located in a zone where we have access to all of the major public transportation system Barcelona has to offer and that can take you or any one of our guests to basically every part of this historic city. We hope that we were able to help create a positive memorable experience after your cruise.

In regards to the HVAC system, we are currently in the process of converting our air conditioning and heating systems that is much more efficient and responsive the the needs and comforts of our hotel guests.

We await to serve you once again when you embark on another adventure to the enchanting city of Barcelona.

Javier Moreno
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    270
    129
    40
    22
See reviews for
88
300
28
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed here for 2nights 25th and 26th October 2012. After reading previous reviews we were a bit apprehensive. Our room was spotless and beds were comfortable. The breakfast had had poor reviews but we had no complaints, plenty to eat and lots of variety. Hotel in quiet area but only a few minutes from the main bus route. We would stay here again. Some reviewers I think look for too much for their money nowadays,I say give it a go and you will be pleasantly surprised. Front house staff were very helpful and spoke good English too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leswull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Hotel Derby, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Hotel Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful assessment. Our kitchen staff works diligently to provide you and every guest with a variety of freshly made morning breakfast to jump start your day. In regards to our housekeeping staff, they are pleased to hear that your room was kept to the highest standards. Yes, our area is quiet but located within minutes walk where all bus routes leading to the north, south, east, and west of our city. Front house continues to be resourceful and will provide you with the best options available that are tailored to your needs.

We hope to see you back here in Barcelona in the near future and have the pleasure of serving you and your family once again.

Javier Moreno
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copley, Ohio
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Hotel Derby is in a quiet out-of -the-way residential area. It offers a clean and comfortable room with a nice bathroom. There's a fee for internet, but I used the free Ethernet connection which worked well. Power adapters are available for use free of charge. There is a refrigerator but no coffee/tea facility in the room. The in-house restaurant offered a great buffet breakfast that was very reasonably priced. The staff was friendly and most helpful with directions, etc. There are 2 or 3 cafes/restaurants across the street, and other restaurants can be found in about a 10-15 min. walk, as is a pharmacy; and clothing stores are another 10 min. away. A small convenience store is 3-4 min. in the opposite direction. Hop-On Hop-off tour buses are also nearby.

Room Tip: Perhaps the top-floors would be best for a pleasing view, as my room which I believe was on the 5th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cobcop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Hotel Derby, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Hotel Derby After staying f with us, your feedback is just so important for us. i am glad you have enjoyed every single details of your stay and thanks again for recomending us.

Looking forward to welcome you back soon, please feel free to contact us direct us direct in order to organise all the details.



Javier Moreno
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

This hotel is not 4 star, a good 2 would be nearer the mark. The beds where hard as iron, the floor would be softer, the tv only gave one english speaking channel which was CNN. the internet was dial up and so slow it was not even worth logging on to check emails as by the time you were logged on the service that the hotel provided was over , then it was hand in your pocket time., The shower was not the cleanest mould in the corners, and the floor was always gritty. The area that the hotel is in is very residential and noisey , with street cleaner and bins being emptied in the small hours, the bars opisite the entrance closed at 1 am, and the 4 knocking shops even later.
We did not eat at the hotel so no comment, there is a pool in the hotel oppisite but i have built bigger fish ponds,
If i go back to barcelona then i would not stay at this hotel as there are so many others to chose from, we booked as a package through British Airways who had the hotel as a recomended, but i will let BA know your feelings.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank warren b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Hotel Derby, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Derby hotel. I am so sorry to read that your assigned room did not comply with your expectations and I take good note on your comments, although, I do not have any comment registered during your stay.

It is very important to advise the reception right away if any aspect of your stay is disturbing you in order to give us the opportunity to correct it right away and find the best solution for you on time. At Derby Hotel our only goal is the total satisfaction of our guests, and I am sure we could have found the way make your stay the most enjoyable. i feel very sorry that you have left our property with a bad taste.

Please, feel free to contact me direct whenever you will come back to Barcelona, I would be pleased to offer preferential conditions and ensure that your opinion will drastically change

Sincerely yours,

Javier Moreno
Front Desk Reception
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We booked a short break with a Holiday Company, and the Derby Hotel seemed to fit our requirements. It was rather further out of the centre of Barcelona than we wanted, but as it turned out, the district was a residential one, and consequently, quite quiet. We found that the number 59 bus went from a stop just a short walk from the hotel, and took us straight into the Centre, or down to the port, which was great. They ran frequently, and were mostly uncrowded.
There are lots of restaurants around the hotel, and most of them that we tried were really good.
Our room was spacious, and very clean. The linen could be changed every day on request, and the air conditioning was good.
We were on the first floor, and although the lift was a little noisy, generally it was fairly quiet.
Breakfast was included in our package, and was plentiful and fresh.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhydychen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Hotel Derby, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are glad to know you have enjoyed the days you have spent in Derby Hotel.
We hope we will be your option if you come back to Barcelona.
Thank you for writing such a nice opinion,

Javier Moreno
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

The Hotel was clean and the staff helpfull and kind. Our room was in the 6th floor with a nice view and more quiet than the ones in the lower floors. Regarding the breakfast it was not the 15 euro worth. Also the days the hotel had many guests the staff could not handle the amount of people eating breakfast at the same time. The location of the hotel is good regarding the access to the public transportation and the distance to the center of the city.

Room Tip: rooms in the higher floors are ok, less noice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Hotel Derby, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

We really appreciate your opinion and we are glad to know your stay in Derby Hotel was great.
In fact, we will take note of your comments about breakfast in order to improve our service.
We hope you will chose Derby Hotel in your next trip to Barcelona.

Best regards,

Javier Moreno
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

This is the worst hotel I have stayed in for several years. I was put on the first floor in the 120's rooms and outside my room all night every night was a constant stream of traffic, people screaming and shouting, bins being emptied at 2am and every other noise that you can imagine. The location is awful. OK you might say the location is bad, however the noise inside the hotel was just as bad as the noise outside the hotel. I was here for three nights and was kept awake by noise, bangs and other things as much as the traffic outside. I managed no more than 6 hrs sleep in three nights and am returning home completely shattered. It wasn't a one off either, it happened all night every night. If I had been staying longer I would have moved hotels. Don't stay here.

The room itself is basic and the cleaning staff rearranged everything in my room, so much that I couldn't find things that I'd put down without hunting around.

Other than that breakfast was basic (at best) and was a real disappointment, It was also 15 Euros for a continental breakfast which honestly is appalling. I would not stay in this hotel again ever. If you want a hotel where you can sleep and it provides reasonable facilities do not stay here.

Room Tip: You must be on a high floor to have any chance of gettng sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Molbacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Hotel Derby, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Hotel Guest,

Wow, we are sorry to hear your stay was horrendous. We hope that if you do decide to give us another opportunity to stay with us here in Barcelona that we will provide you with a better product and service. For example, better room location and discount for our breakfast. If you still do not like our breakfast, we can recommend restaurants in our area that can appeal to your taste.

Again, we are sorry for your terrible stay and hope that we can do better for you in the future.

Javier Moreno
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Hotel Gran Derby Suites
#144 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Hotel Medium Prisma
#349 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Les Corts
NH Barcelona Les Corts
NH Barcelona Les Corts
#262 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#147 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
Les Corts
NH Collection Constanza
NH Collection Constanza
#80 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
Eixample
Sunotel Junior
Sunotel Junior
#358 of 522 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Derby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Derby

Property: Hotel Derby
Address: Loreto, 21, 08029 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#105 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#142 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#175 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#197 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Derby 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four-star hotel located next to Barcelona's Diagonal commercial and business area and just 10 minutes away from the Sants AVE station.Because of the peace and tranquillity of its location, its connection with the rest of the city and the internal distribution of its guest rooms, Hotel Derby is one of the best options for accommodation in Barcelona, whether you are travelling for business or pleasure.Located on an almost completely pedestrian street, Hotel Derby has 115 guest rooms, 3 function rooms and the Epsom Restaurant for groups.Services115 guest rooms: 17 single rooms, 92 double rooms and 6 junior suite roomsEpsom Scotch BarEpsom Restaurant for groupsThe Times coffee shopBreakfast buffet24-hour room service and mini-barBusiness centreWi-Fi in all areasFunction rooms and spaces for eventsLaundry and ironing serviceSmall dogs allowed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Derby Hotels, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Derby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derby Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Derby Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing