We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Derby Hotel”
Review of Hotel Derby

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Derby
Ranked #291 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
wales
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Derby Hotel”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We booked a short break with a Holiday Company, and the Derby Hotel seemed to fit our requirements. It was rather further out of the centre of Barcelona than we wanted, but as it turned out, the district was a residential one, and consequently, quite quiet. We found that the number 59 bus went from a stop just a short walk from the hotel, and took us straight into the Centre, or down to the port, which was great. They ran frequently, and were mostly uncrowded.
There are lots of restaurants around the hotel, and most of them that we tried were really good.
Our room was spacious, and very clean. The linen could be changed every day on request, and the air conditioning was good.
We were on the first floor, and although the lift was a little noisy, generally it was fairly quiet.
Breakfast was included in our package, and was plentiful and fresh.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhydychen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Hotel Derby, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are glad to know you have enjoyed the days you have spent in Derby Hotel.
We hope we will be your option if you come back to Barcelona.
Thank you for writing such a nice opinion,

Javier Moreno
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    273
    132
    40
    22
See reviews for
90
304
28
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

The Hotel was clean and the staff helpfull and kind. Our room was in the 6th floor with a nice view and more quiet than the ones in the lower floors. Regarding the breakfast it was not the 15 euro worth. Also the days the hotel had many guests the staff could not handle the amount of people eating breakfast at the same time. The location of the hotel is good regarding the access to the public transportation and the distance to the center of the city.

Room Tip: rooms in the higher floors are ok, less noice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Hotel Derby, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

We really appreciate your opinion and we are glad to know your stay in Derby Hotel was great.
In fact, we will take note of your comments about breakfast in order to improve our service.
We hope you will chose Derby Hotel in your next trip to Barcelona.

Best regards,

Javier Moreno
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2012

This is the worst hotel I have stayed in for several years. I was put on the first floor in the 120's rooms and outside my room all night every night was a constant stream of traffic, people screaming and shouting, bins being emptied at 2am and every other noise that you can imagine. The location is awful. OK you might say the location is bad, however the noise inside the hotel was just as bad as the noise outside the hotel. I was here for three nights and was kept awake by noise, bangs and other things as much as the traffic outside. I managed no more than 6 hrs sleep in three nights and am returning home completely shattered. It wasn't a one off either, it happened all night every night. If I had been staying longer I would have moved hotels. Don't stay here.

The room itself is basic and the cleaning staff rearranged everything in my room, so much that I couldn't find things that I'd put down without hunting around.

Other than that breakfast was basic (at best) and was a real disappointment, It was also 15 Euros for a continental breakfast which honestly is appalling. I would not stay in this hotel again ever. If you want a hotel where you can sleep and it provides reasonable facilities do not stay here.

Room Tip: You must be on a high floor to have any chance of gettng sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molbacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Hotel Derby, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Hotel Guest,

Wow, we are sorry to hear your stay was horrendous. We hope that if you do decide to give us another opportunity to stay with us here in Barcelona that we will provide you with a better product and service. For example, better room location and discount for our breakfast. If you still do not like our breakfast, we can recommend restaurants in our area that can appeal to your taste.

Again, we are sorry for your terrible stay and hope that we can do better for you in the future.

Javier Moreno
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacau, Romania
Level Contributor
94 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We reserved a double room on the hotel website, and i kindly asked the manager for a nice room as we were celebrating an special event.
The manager give us a very nice room, an upgrade to junior suite i think with a small living room with a sofa, table and TV and a nice bedroom with a matrimonial bed, flat TV, air conditioned and safe. Also the Junior Suite is followed by nice terrace with chairs, table and big sun umbrella.
The room was clean as well the marbled bathroom.
Every day the room was cleaned and towels and sheets were changed.
They provided also bath robes and slippers.
The hotel welcome us with a small Spanish red wine bottle in the room.
The hotel is quiet, and well connected with public transport like bus and metro.
The buss stop to city center is 200 meters away and metro (Sants Estacio or Entenca) about 12 minutes walking, or simply walking (20-30) minutes to Placa d, Espanya , Camp Nou Stadium, Sagrada Familia, Barri Gottic.
We had a late check in and a early check out and the staff was very friendly.
The hotel provide free maps and guides of Barcelona next to reception desk near by the elevator.
From Airport you can easily reach the metro station Saints with RENFE Train R2 for 3,2 Euros.
R2 train is the best because the direct buss has stop on Estacion de Franca witch is far away.
Unfortunately the hotel does not provide a free WiFi or wired internet service as is a must on nowadays on major hotels.
There is a free of charge internet service (90 minutes) but i did not succeed to connect at all.
In Spain i recommend Digi Mobil card (virtual provider over Movistar network) available in Barcelona in two shops only at: Calle Aragon nr. 439 (nearest) and Carrer de Provença, 40.
The card cost 10 euros and aloes you to make phone calls or to activate 500 MB internet option with 5 euros (extra trafic cost 2 euors for 200 MB). You can use the Sim card in mobile phone with GPS and Google maps or tablet or internet over the mobile phone hot spot.
The hotel has a restaurant where you can serve breakfast, dinner and lunch, unfortunately we did not eat thee because we always served dinner or lunch or breakfast in the city restaurants or local cerveseria.
The owners of this hotels have also a group of hotels, restaurants, shops and art collections in Barcelona , Madrid and France as they provide a magazine in the room and a guide to Barcelona.
In front of Derby hotel there is Grand Derby Hotel a 4 star de luxe hotel.
For its good price i recommend it, for luxury and more stylish hotel but a high price you can choose Grand Derby.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Demetrio-T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Hotel Derby, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Hotel Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We will continue to provide the best service we can to enhance your experiences here in Barcelona. We were very happy to know you had a great time in Derby Hotel.
We are waiting to see you in your next trip to Barcelona.

Javier Moreno
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

The hotel was very clean and staff were great. Check in and check out went very quickly. Breakfast was 10 Euros and well worth it. One issue was that we were only able to get WIFI for 90 minutes a day. This seems absurd to me in this day and age. The other issue was the location. We didn't have a car and the closest Metro station was a 15 minute walk away.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nic P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Hotel Derby, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Hotel Guest,

Thank you for commenting on our efficiency. We have received comments on our WIFI service that we provide and we are in the process of improving it.

Thank you for making us better. Have a great day.

Javier Moreno
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed September 8, 2012

I really enjoyed staying at the Derby during my visit to Barcelona. It took me a while to find it from the Sants station, but once I did, I found the location to be very convenient. The buses were around the corner, the metro and train was within walking distance. I did not like the craziness and traffic in las ramblas, where people like to stay. I preferred of what appeared to be an upscale neighborhood of Les Corts where the Derby is located. There are many nice bakeries, shops, and restaurants too, that are not rip offs such as by Las Ramblas. The hotel is very clean, and some of the staff are very nice and helpful, but some others need more experience in customer service. I found that whenever I asked the woman that works in the morning and also the man that spoke very good English without an accent because I think he was American always acted like they were annoyed or they did not want to be bothered by just simple answers. They always looked at you in a mean way, even though I always tried to go out of my way to be polite. The man that works the night shift, although spoke little English always said hello. Barcelona's sights were breathtaking, but honestly I thought the Spanish were very rude, especially when they think you are American. I am actually from Italy, but live in the US. I can understand the Spanish language very well, so for me it wasn't that bad, but people who do not speak a Latin language, beware! If you want a relaxing stay, I suggest the Derby. They have a breakfast buffet, but I did not get it because being Italian, I only like a croissant and cappuccino for breakfast. I found a little cafe around the corner, that I loved. Obrena I think it was called. It would have been nice to get a complimentary breakfast with the room at least once, but anyway that's life. If I would ever go go Barcelona again, I would choose the Derby for its wonderful location. Ciao buon viaggio!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trese1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Hotel Derby, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Hotel Guest,

We are delighted that you enjoyed our exciting city of Barcelona during your stay and very extatic that you would return to our wonderfully located establishment. Customer service is the heart and essence of any hospitaltiy establishment. We continuously observe and improve how we can provide a memorable guest experience for all through the service we provide.

Thank you for your comments and have a wonderful day.

Javier Moreno
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
2 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2012

The only downer was that WiFi was complimentary only for 90 minutes per day. Rest everything was exceptionally good - everything you'd expect from a 4 star hotel. Breakfast costs $10 - we didnt try it so cant review. It has a roof-top terrace restaurant with decent views.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank MaanVS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Hotel Derby, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear Hotel Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We will continue to provide the best service we can to enhance your experiences here in Barcelona. Next time, we hope you give our delicious buffet breakfast a try. It will definitely give you an energy boost for your daily travels in our wonderful city.

Javier Moreno
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Hotel Gran Derby Suites
#161 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Les Corts
NH Barcelona Les Corts
NH Barcelona Les Corts
#274 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Hotel Medium Prisma
#353 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#154 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
Les Corts
NH Collection Constanza
NH Collection Constanza
#77 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,841 reviews
Eixample
Sunotel Junior
Sunotel Junior
#361 of 514 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Derby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Derby

Property: Hotel Derby
Address: Loreto, 21, 08029 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#105 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#142 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#176 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#197 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Derby 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four-star hotel located next to Barcelona's Diagonal commercial and business area and just 10 minutes away from the Sants AVE station.Because of the peace and tranquillity of its location, its connection with the rest of the city and the internal distribution of its guest rooms, Hotel Derby is one of the best options for accommodation in Barcelona, whether you are travelling for business or pleasure.Located on an almost completely pedestrian street, Hotel Derby has 115 guest rooms, 3 function rooms and the Epsom Restaurant for groups.Services115 guest rooms: 17 single rooms, 92 double rooms and 6 junior suite roomsEpsom Scotch BarEpsom Restaurant for groupsThe Times coffee shopBreakfast buffet24-hour room service and mini-barBusiness centreWi-Fi in all areasFunction rooms and spaces for eventsLaundry and ironing serviceSmall dogs allowed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Derby Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Derby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derby Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Derby Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing