We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel for 3 Days in Barcelona” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Derby

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Derby
Ranked #292 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Bacau, Romania
Level Contributor
94 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel for 3 Days in Barcelona”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

We reserved a double room on the hotel website, and i kindly asked the manager for a nice room as we were celebrating an special event.
The manager give us a very nice room, an upgrade to junior suite i think with a small living room with a sofa, table and TV and a nice bedroom with a matrimonial bed, flat TV, air conditioned and safe. Also the Junior Suite is followed by nice terrace with chairs, table and big sun umbrella.
The room was clean as well the marbled bathroom.
Every day the room was cleaned and towels and sheets were changed.
They provided also bath robes and slippers.
The hotel welcome us with a small Spanish red wine bottle in the room.
The hotel is quiet, and well connected with public transport like bus and metro.
The buss stop to city center is 200 meters away and metro (Sants Estacio or Entenca) about 12 minutes walking, or simply walking (20-30) minutes to Placa d, Espanya , Camp Nou Stadium, Sagrada Familia, Barri Gottic.
We had a late check in and a early check out and the staff was very friendly.
The hotel provide free maps and guides of Barcelona next to reception desk near by the elevator.
From Airport you can easily reach the metro station Saints with RENFE Train R2 for 3,2 Euros.
R2 train is the best because the direct buss has stop on Estacion de Franca witch is far away.
Unfortunately the hotel does not provide a free WiFi or wired internet service as is a must on nowadays on major hotels.
There is a free of charge internet service (90 minutes) but i did not succeed to connect at all.
In Spain i recommend Digi Mobil card (virtual provider over Movistar network) available in Barcelona in two shops only at: Calle Aragon nr. 439 (nearest) and Carrer de Provença, 40.
The card cost 10 euros and aloes you to make phone calls or to activate 500 MB internet option with 5 euros (extra trafic cost 2 euors for 200 MB). You can use the Sim card in mobile phone with GPS and Google maps or tablet or internet over the mobile phone hot spot.
The hotel has a restaurant where you can serve breakfast, dinner and lunch, unfortunately we did not eat thee because we always served dinner or lunch or breakfast in the city restaurants or local cerveseria.
The owners of this hotels have also a group of hotels, restaurants, shops and art collections in Barcelona , Madrid and France as they provide a magazine in the room and a guide to Barcelona.
In front of Derby hotel there is Grand Derby Hotel a 4 star de luxe hotel.
For its good price i recommend it, for luxury and more stylish hotel but a high price you can choose Grand Derby.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Demetrio-T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Hotel Derby, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Hotel Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We will continue to provide the best service we can to enhance your experiences here in Barcelona. We were very happy to know you had a great time in Derby Hotel.
We are waiting to see you in your next trip to Barcelona.

Javier Moreno
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    268
    128
    40
    22
See reviews for
88
299
28
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

The hotel was very clean and staff were great. Check in and check out went very quickly. Breakfast was 10 Euros and well worth it. One issue was that we were only able to get WIFI for 90 minutes a day. This seems absurd to me in this day and age. The other issue was the location. We didn't have a car and the closest Metro station was a 15 minute walk away.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nic P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Hotel Derby, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Hotel Guest,

Thank you for commenting on our efficiency. We have received comments on our WIFI service that we provide and we are in the process of improving it.

Thank you for making us better. Have a great day.

Javier Moreno
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

I really enjoyed staying at the Derby during my visit to Barcelona. It took me a while to find it from the Sants station, but once I did, I found the location to be very convenient. The buses were around the corner, the metro and train was within walking distance. I did not like the craziness and traffic in las ramblas, where people like to stay. I preferred of what appeared to be an upscale neighborhood of Les Corts where the Derby is located. There are many nice bakeries, shops, and restaurants too, that are not rip offs such as by Las Ramblas. The hotel is very clean, and some of the staff are very nice and helpful, but some others need more experience in customer service. I found that whenever I asked the woman that works in the morning and also the man that spoke very good English without an accent because I think he was American always acted like they were annoyed or they did not want to be bothered by just simple answers. They always looked at you in a mean way, even though I always tried to go out of my way to be polite. The man that works the night shift, although spoke little English always said hello. Barcelona's sights were breathtaking, but honestly I thought the Spanish were very rude, especially when they think you are American. I am actually from Italy, but live in the US. I can understand the Spanish language very well, so for me it wasn't that bad, but people who do not speak a Latin language, beware! If you want a relaxing stay, I suggest the Derby. They have a breakfast buffet, but I did not get it because being Italian, I only like a croissant and cappuccino for breakfast. I found a little cafe around the corner, that I loved. Obrena I think it was called. It would have been nice to get a complimentary breakfast with the room at least once, but anyway that's life. If I would ever go go Barcelona again, I would choose the Derby for its wonderful location. Ciao buon viaggio!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trese1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Hotel Derby, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Hotel Guest,

We are delighted that you enjoyed our exciting city of Barcelona during your stay and very extatic that you would return to our wonderfully located establishment. Customer service is the heart and essence of any hospitaltiy establishment. We continuously observe and improve how we can provide a memorable guest experience for all through the service we provide.

Thank you for your comments and have a wonderful day.

Javier Moreno
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

The only downer was that WiFi was complimentary only for 90 minutes per day. Rest everything was exceptionally good - everything you'd expect from a 4 star hotel. Breakfast costs $10 - we didnt try it so cant review. It has a roof-top terrace restaurant with decent views.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank MaanVS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Hotel Derby, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear Hotel Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We will continue to provide the best service we can to enhance your experiences here in Barcelona. Next time, we hope you give our delicious buffet breakfast a try. It will definitely give you an energy boost for your daily travels in our wonderful city.

Javier Moreno
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
80 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

This is a clean, pleasant hotel located between Hospital Clinic/Entenca metro stations. I'd say the hotel pretty much met our expectations (we are a couple in our early 30s), having all the necessary amenities and little noise from other rooms or the road. The nutty chocolate on the bed each night was also a welcome extra...as was the use of an internet-enabled computer, which allowed us to print our boarding passes for free.
A couple of minor disappointments - the pool is located at the sister hotel opposite (Gran Derby) and is minute. Very, very small. I practically grazed by knees attempting to do a length. By the afternoon, the whole terrace is also in shade, so no use for sunbathing. If you're looking for a half decent pool, I'd recommend either the Sunotel Junior (just down the road) - which is a more basic hotel with a better sun deck, or the AC Marriott Hotel at El Maresme Forum (a long way out on the metro but worth it).
Secondly, the Derby is a longer walk from the Metro than any other hotels we have stayed at - probably close to half a mile - and double the distance from the Metro than the Sunotel for example. We didn't have a problem with it, but older or less able travellers may.
We also were given a twin room rather than a double, and then asked if we wanted to upgrade to a superior room, at a charge of 10 Euros per night. No thanks, we stuck to the twin!
Tips: "Gusto" restaurant, close to the Hospital/Clinic metro is a very decent Italian restaurant, with a nice choice of pizza and pasta. There is also what looks to be a nice pizza place directly opposite the Derby, but this was closed on sunday. A bar with a "local" feel, a short walk from the Derby is the Paris bar, just off Rocaforte, bottles of San Miguel were a Euro each!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blondehotelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Hotel Derby, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear Hotel Guest,

We are delighted to hear our hotel met your expectations during your stay here in Barcelona. Great recommendations for the decent sized pools but may I also add that we have a huge sized pool and sunbathing section in the Diagonal Dir Gym which is located in the Pool and Sports park on Ganduxer street. It is about 1 kilometers or less than 5 minute walk from Hotel Derby and Hotel Gran Derby.

Have a wonderful day and thank you again.

Javier Moreno
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

The staff were exceptionally helpful, giving us information on how to get into the centre la ramblas. They provided us with a map and wrote bus numbers on for dfferent routes which may have been of interest to us. They further provided information on the best attractions to visits and the travel options. They also suggested a reduced rate bus ticket T10 and explained how to get one. The staff we came across were Eduardo, Alex, Miguel Angez and Albert, Eduardo providing us with so much information which was much appreciated.

The actual hotel was average looking. We stayed in a standard room for the first two nights and then took the option to upgrade to the superior room for a further three nights. The standard room had a comfy (very soft) double bed although on first appearances it looked like a fold out bed (twin rooms had different looking beds as we cught a glimpse as the cleaner was in one). The air conditioning was very good in this room and the bathroom very nice, with a good shower. The minibar was also useful for storing water in and very cold.

The superior room had a lovely terrace which was amazing, the definite bonus of this room. However, for me the rest wasn't as good as the standard room, but the superior rooms may vary (as may the standard rooms). Firstly, the air conditioning was not as good but still worked, therefore it was harder to sleep during the night (you may not notice this however if you only stayed in the superior room without first staying in the standard). The fridge was again not as cold and the bed was very firm, for me too firm.

The swimming pool was good to cool off in but small and shaded most of the day. Also there were only 5/6 loungers I believe with a few chairs and a table, so not ideal to stay around for a long time if thats what you had hoped! We used the pool twice in five days as it is small and only a few people can be in it at a time. But the sea and beaches are amazing and easy to access on a local bus, 59, taking about 15 minutes so not a problem for us.

The location was good as there was a few local restaurants here which were nice as a change from the hustle in the centre where many of the restaurants looked samey! Although, the port had some nice restaurants and down by the beaches there were some nice restaurants.

Overall, we were happy with our stay here!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lis2803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Hotel Derby, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear Hotel Guest,

Wow, what incredible comments. We really appreciate your sincerity. We have taken measures to check our air condition units and fridges in our superior rooms. We hope that in the event you do return to our beloved city of Barcelona that you would notice these changes. We would enjoy it very much to have another opportunity at enhancing your memorable experiences.

Thank you for making us better.

Javier Moreno
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

I spent 4 days in Hotel Derby Barcelona. I had a wonderfull time there. The room and terasse were ecxelent. The staff at the hotel is always ready to help - they are kind and helpfull. The hotel is located very central to the center off the city. You can easily walk to the Rambla and still the hotel is located in a very save and quiet street. I'll for sure come back some day.

Room Tip: Choose a Jounior suite - you won't regret it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Hotel Derby, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear Hotel Guest,

It is our pleasure to accomodate your experiences here in Barcelona and very pleased to read your comments. We await for your next arrival in the wonderful city of Barcelona!

Thank you very much

Javier Moreno
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Hotel Gran Derby Suites
#131 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Les Corts
NH Barcelona Les Corts
NH Barcelona Les Corts
#263 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Hotel Medium Prisma
#349 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#148 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Les Corts
NH Collection Constanza
NH Collection Constanza
#80 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,761 reviews
Les Corts
NH Barcelona Entenza
NH Barcelona Entenza
#299 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Derby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Derby

Property: Hotel Derby
Address: Loreto, 21, 08029 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#105 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#142 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#175 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#197 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Derby 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four-star hotel located next to Barcelona's Diagonal commercial and business area and just 10 minutes away from the Sants AVE station.Because of the peace and tranquillity of its location, its connection with the rest of the city and the internal distribution of its guest rooms, Hotel Derby is one of the best options for accommodation in Barcelona, whether you are travelling for business or pleasure.Located on an almost completely pedestrian street, Hotel Derby has 115 guest rooms, 3 function rooms and the Epsom Restaurant for groups.Services115 guest rooms: 17 single rooms, 92 double rooms and 6 junior suite roomsEpsom Scotch BarEpsom Restaurant for groupsThe Times coffee shopBreakfast buffet24-hour room service and mini-barBusiness centreWi-Fi in all areasFunction rooms and spaces for eventsLaundry and ironing serviceSmall dogs allowed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Derby Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Derby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derby Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Derby Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing