We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderfull Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Derby

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Derby
Ranked #292 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Wonderfull Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

I spent 4 days in Hotel Derby Barcelona. I had a wonderfull time there. The room and terasse were ecxelent. The staff at the hotel is always ready to help - they are kind and helpfull. The hotel is located very central to the center off the city. You can easily walk to the Rambla and still the hotel is located in a very save and quiet street. I'll for sure come back some day.

Room Tip: Choose a Jounior suite - you won't regret it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Hotel Derby, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear Hotel Guest,

It is our pleasure to accomodate your experiences here in Barcelona and very pleased to read your comments. We await for your next arrival in the wonderful city of Barcelona!

Thank you very much

Javier Moreno
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    271
    131
    40
    22
See reviews for
89
301
28
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is a reasonably priced hotel (if it is really a 4-star hotel as it claims), but we find it rather inconveniently located as it is a good 15min or so walk to the nearest metro station. The street is quiet too so it could be tricky if you plan to simply walk out of the hotel and stumble upon a nice eatery or cafe to hang out. We asked for a non-smoking room but from our room we could still smell cigarette smoke at night sometimes, not sure if it was coming from neighbouring rooms or from the streets though. The bed was ok but it squeaked a little but overall the room was comfy for 2 nights. Also, we could do with an extra pillow. The water pressure of the shower was ok though when we turned up the heat/volume the pipe started to make some loud noise. Overall, this hotel is ideal if you prefer quiet streets and good value while staying in central Barcelona.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xinyi18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Hotel Derby, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear Hotel Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments. We have taken into consideration your points(1. cigarette smoke, 2. squeaky bed, and 3. water pressure) and implemented tasks to fix the issues. We hope that in the future, if you and your family/friends do visit Barcelona again, that you would give us another opportunity to give a better memorable experience.

Thank you again

Javier Moreno
Front desk manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vejle, Denmark
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

Spent 3 days end july 2012 with family. Nothing to remark on the rooms, they are ok -and housekept as expected. Hotel placed in a quiet sidestreet and not to be confused with the sisterhotel Grand Derby opposite. Location excellent - you can walk to the subway in 15 minutes or take a taxi, they are not expensive. Staff not overly responsive but you will get service if you ask. One point - here in the hot summerdays- it was not exactly clear if you could use the swimmingpool in the Grand Derby, we were told to ask in their reception - but managed to live without a swim, instead trip to great citybeaches. Recommended for famillys on citybreaks

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Hotel Derby, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Hotel Derby. I am so sorry to read that your assigned room did not comply with your expectations and I take good note on your comments, although, I do not have any comment registered during your stay.


Kind Regards
Javier Moreno Front desk manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

A good location to stay at, it's not too close to the noisy city center. The train station is about 15mins walk away, and gets you to city easily. Hotel is situated in a nice and safe neighborhood with a few good restaurants. Rooms are comfortable, but service of the hotel staff are average. Overall, this is a good hotel to stay in, in terms of comfort, pricing, and location.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elssyteo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Decent hotel a decent location about a 20 min walk to La Rambla and 5-10 mins to the nearest subway station, uncomfortable beds. Clean kinda off the main strip for tourists, but then it was a reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bimbimbap_and_Donnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Hotel Derby, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Hotel Derby. After staying with us, your feedback is just so important for us. I am glad you have enjoyed every single details of your stay and thanks again.

Looking forward to welcome you back soon, please feel free to contact us direct us direct in order to organise all the details.

kind regards,

Javier Moreno
Front desk manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

Walked into the Derby to be "welcomed" by a gentleman at the check-in desk with a chinese tattoo at the side of his neck. He needed to reply to a text message on his personal phone and other matters on his walkie-talkie before even saying hola. He proceeded to check us in, and while checking us in he looked at something on his computer screen and said "whoops", which made us terribly worried and nervous that perhaps there has been a mistake in our booking.

After feeling unwelcome, we proceeded up to our room to realise that our "double" room was in fact two singe beds pushed together. The TV was awful - only had one working English speaking channel (CNN news). The bathroom was the worst by far. The skirting boards were falling off, and the bath didn't really function. The plug wouldn't work, and when having a shower the shower door was useless at blocking the flow of water to the bathroom floor. Mostly we'd come out of the shower, worried about slipping on the soaking wet floor. The internet connection isn't the best, extremely slow and although it states that there is "free wifi," it is only free for 90 minutes and not all day as you would think. Asked for a room on one of the top floors, but the view was hardly breathtaking and involved looking into someones apartments.

Although these are points for improvement, the cleaning staff were very friendly and the place was definitely clean. The location was satisfactory as you can get a metro into the centre, although next time i would consider staying somewhere closer to a metro or closer to the centre of the city. The metro was hard to find the first time, but as soon as we found it, it was handy enough. If you are traveling from the airport, get the RENFE to estacio de sants, then get a metro to Hospital clinic and find yourselves from there. On the website it states it is a 15 min walk from estacio de sants, this is untrue.

There is no pool in the Derby, although you can go across the road to the Gran Derby and use theirs. It is located between two tall buildings, which block the light to the pool area so it isn't the best place to sunbathe if you want to chill out. If you want to go, I would suggest going between 12 and 3 when the sun is highest in the sky and its likely that you won't be sitting in the shadows. As for the pool, it is very small and waist deep. Also, not a very private area as an apartment block of locals overlooks the pool, and they tend to stare at you from time to time.

I would suggest to avoid the buffet breakfast. Ordered eggs and sausages which were vile - the eggs were raw and the sausages were boiled. The croissants had to fill the void.

Overall, it was only satisfactory and I wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: Don't stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davybrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Hotel Derby, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
I hereby thank you for your email with
relation to your stay in our hotel.
First we wish to apologize to you any inconvenience
we have caused.

We feel very disappointed to read the email in which we
reported your experience with the service offered by our hotel.
Naturally, you expect the staff of our company, we provide the best possible service.

Please contemplate the situation that relates in his writing as a
isolated incident, and we can confirm that this is not
feature of the service that our company wants to keep on top of it all: friendly service, reliable and responsible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

I thought this hotel was great for my stay in Barcelona and will def stay here again. For us it was great not being right in the middle of the busy centre (as we found that to busy) yet it was only a 25 minute walk away. There were resturants/shops nearby which we found were cheaper than the centre. It was near camp Nou which was good if your planning to visit there.
Staff were welcoming, helpful and friendly. The use of the swimming pool was great too, ok so its not a big pool but for a hotel in the city to have a pool to use after a hot day sight seeing was ideal. One of the best hotels I have visited this year. Thanks to the staff at the Derby Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ememsansan33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DireccionDerbyHotels, Director de Recepción at Hotel Derby, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a fabulous contribution. We are glad to hear that another guest was overall happy with his stay at the Derby.
We are really pleased to know that you were so happy with our hotel.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in your next visit to our beatiful city.
Warm regards.

Javier Moreno
Frontdesk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Hotel Gran Derby Suites
#149 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Les Corts
NH Barcelona Les Corts
NH Barcelona Les Corts
#268 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Hotel Medium Prisma
#352 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#140 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
Les Corts
NH Collection Constanza
NH Collection Constanza
#77 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,805 reviews
Eixample
Sunotel Junior
Sunotel Junior
#354 of 521 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Derby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Derby

Property: Hotel Derby
Address: Loreto, 21, 08029 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#105 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#142 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#175 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#197 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Derby 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four-star hotel located next to Barcelona's Diagonal commercial and business area and just 10 minutes away from the Sants AVE station.Because of the peace and tranquillity of its location, its connection with the rest of the city and the internal distribution of its guest rooms, Hotel Derby is one of the best options for accommodation in Barcelona, whether you are travelling for business or pleasure.Located on an almost completely pedestrian street, Hotel Derby has 115 guest rooms, 3 function rooms and the Epsom Restaurant for groups.Services115 guest rooms: 17 single rooms, 92 double rooms and 6 junior suite roomsEpsom Scotch BarEpsom Restaurant for groupsThe Times coffee shopBreakfast buffet24-hour room service and mini-barBusiness centreWi-Fi in all areasFunction rooms and spaces for eventsLaundry and ironing serviceSmall dogs allowed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Derby Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Derby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derby Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Derby Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing