We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
NH Collection Barcelona Gran Hotel Calderon
Ranked #81 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great location and good value”
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We are regular users of this hotel, conveniently located close to the Rambla, the Paseo de Gracia and the Rambla de Cataluña. Over the years the hotel service and room quality were consistent. We will continue to use the hotel for our week-end breaks.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hvprva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    891
    799
    159
    47
    24
See reviews for
341
731
72
449
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Stayed on a business trip, for me the hotel offered everything i need for a short visit. Comfy beads room ( 329 ) very comfortable, two beads. Breakfast was european, very nice. Staff in the lobby always friendly always eager to help me out. Fantastic restaurants with in 10 mins. Will sureley return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Icelanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level 6 Contributor
408 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Located in the heart of Barcelona.

Very close from Paseo de la Gracia (the nicest avenue in Barcelona) with plenty Gaudi Buildings and walking distance of a couple of minutes from Paseo de las Ramblas, the coolest avenue in Barcelona.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Licey7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

A good central location near the Plaza Catalunya. Easy connection for buses to and from the airport. Rooms tastefully decorated although not what one would expect from a 4 star hotel. My bathroom was large but had hairs in the bath on arrival. My chambermaid was also reluctant to put new shampoo or shower gel. I had to constantly ask for more. The reception staff were efficient but not particularly friendly. The gym on the top floor was very disappointing with very little in way of aparatus. The sauna was clean and large enough for 2 or 3 people. The swimming pool although not that big, has a great view over the city. The whole pool area was kept very clean and the lady in charge, Pepa, was very helpful and friendly but speaks very little English. There is also a small vending machine selling soft drinks near her desk. Just down the street on the corner is a very good tapas bar called Ciudad Condal which is well worth a visit but always very busy and you usually have to wait for a table if you wish to eat on the terrace.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chistorra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The best part about this hotel is its location. I loved the line of restaurants / cafés just in front of this hotel. The rooms are nice and comfortable. There was free wifi in the hotel which was an added bonus. The staff too was very courteous. Overall it is value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Puhup_Verma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Stayed here one night before deciding to move to Room Mate Pau which was more to my liking. This is an average hotel that has little character, in a so-so location. I had a big business room but the sitting area and bathroom was dark and separated from the bedroom by a corridor, a weird design. Bedroom was quiet, comfortable enough and overlooks the street.The hotel seemed popular with groups of young tourists and families with teenagers from the US and UK. When I visited the small rooftop pool, it was entirely occupied by one such group of young adults. Right outside the hotel are al fresco restaurants in the middle of the wide road, but the food there was below average. The hotel front desk service was perfuntory with no effort at a smile or friendliness. After half a day I decided to cut short my stay and move closer to Placa Catalunya and La Rambla.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UWA_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Locarno, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

I travelled to Barcelona in August when the prices already turned low-season and the package seemed very suitable and cheap for us. We chose NH Calderon as the structure and rooms looked modern and comfortable, with all the necessary facilities and, most of all, its location is perfect. 5 minutes walking from La Rambla and with a metro station on the parallel street.
Actually the room (standard double) was a bit small but, as we spent the whole days visiting sightseeing and nights partying and clubbing, it was just a place for resting after the long walks.
The fridge and the air conditioner didn't work so good, the were powerful during the night and very low during the day.
The rooftop swimming pool is pretty small and the chairs weren't enough, but the view from there is fantastic.
We tried the breakfast once but there is not a wide choice at all, just the typical English Breakfast buffet with the addition of some Spanish pastries and fruit.
I would recommend this hotel for couples and small groups of friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
NH Collection Barcelona Podium
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Eixample
Hotel Claris
Hotel Claris
#64 of 513 in Barcelona
1,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#14 of 513 in Barcelona
908 reviews
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Eixample
Hotel Catalonia Passeig de Gracia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Collection Barcelona Gran Hotel Calderon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Barcelona Gran Hotel Calderon

Property: NH Collection Barcelona Gran Hotel Calderon
Address: Rambla Catalunya, 26, 08007 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly NH Calderon)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#55 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#62 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#110 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#133 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Collection Barcelona Gran Hotel Calderon 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Barcelona's city center, the NH Collection Barcelona Gran Hotel Calderón hotel is surrounded by everything that makes the city so hot! Restaurants, shopping, culture and businesses are all right at our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your NH Collection Barcelona Gran Hotel Calderon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Calderon Barcelona
Nh Calderon Hotel Barcelona
Nh Hotels Barcelona
NH Collection Barcelona Gran Hotel Calderon Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing