We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would love to stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
NH Collection Barcelona Gran Hotel Calderon
Ranked #80 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Would love to stay here again”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The best part about this hotel is its location. I loved the line of restaurants / cafés just in front of this hotel. The rooms are nice and comfortable. There was free wifi in the hotel which was an added bonus. The staff too was very courteous. Overall it is value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Puhup_Verma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    872
    794
    159
    46
    22
See reviews for
334
717
70
446
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Stayed here one night before deciding to move to Room Mate Pau which was more to my liking. This is an average hotel that has little character, in a so-so location. I had a big business room but the sitting area and bathroom was dark and separated from the bedroom by a corridor, a weird design. Bedroom was quiet, comfortable enough and overlooks the street.The hotel seemed popular with groups of young tourists and families with teenagers from the US and UK. When I visited the small rooftop pool, it was entirely occupied by one such group of young adults. Right outside the hotel are al fresco restaurants in the middle of the wide road, but the food there was below average. The hotel front desk service was perfuntory with no effort at a smile or friendliness. After half a day I decided to cut short my stay and move closer to Placa Catalunya and La Rambla.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UWA_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Locarno, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

I travelled to Barcelona in August when the prices already turned low-season and the package seemed very suitable and cheap for us. We chose NH Calderon as the structure and rooms looked modern and comfortable, with all the necessary facilities and, most of all, its location is perfect. 5 minutes walking from La Rambla and with a metro station on the parallel street.
Actually the room (standard double) was a bit small but, as we spent the whole days visiting sightseeing and nights partying and clubbing, it was just a place for resting after the long walks.
The fridge and the air conditioner didn't work so good, the were powerful during the night and very low during the day.
The rooftop swimming pool is pretty small and the chairs weren't enough, but the view from there is fantastic.
We tried the breakfast once but there is not a wide choice at all, just the typical English Breakfast buffet with the addition of some Spanish pastries and fruit.
I would recommend this hotel for couples and small groups of friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

The location is perfect for walking pretty much anywhere in Barcelona. I'm a big walker and likely covered 25km over the 2 days I was there.

Priceline had sold me on a few things on this hotel that were not true. They mentioned: 1) Free breakfast (not true....but the hotel graciously honored this....although it did cause significant confusion) 2) Free parking (not true, but not an issue as I didn't need to park) 3) Rooftop pool (True, but as not heated, it's closed outside the summer months).

They did have free internet, though. Each password lasted 24 hours, so I needed to collect new passwords from reception.

The breakfast was good with a variety of fruit, bread, cheese, yogurts, spreads, eggs, meats, pastries, juice, coffee etc. We got it for free, but it would otherwise be 24 euros/person/day. It would have been worth 18 Euros.

The staff was friendly; the place was clean.

The bedding was not to my liking. There was a white top cover that didn't seem like it got washed enough. Then it had one of those cheap hotel blankets (which I personally hate). The single pillow was sufficient for me, but I know that many folks would have needed to call housekeeping for an additional pillow.

The place was fine. I'd likely not stay there again as I'd probably want to try something else, but it's a perfectly reasonable place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeattlePH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

The location was great, the hotel was just OK.
Positives: Clean, large bathroom, well-stocked
Negatives: Small room (probably OK by European standards), strange bathroom setup, the WC was at the corner with hardly any legroom, staff not friendly, wifi is free but you need to keep getting a code everyday (codes work for 24 hours), there is a fitness room but tiny with no weights.
Again the location though could not have been better. It is right by Plaza Catalunya so close to the action down there but is in Eixample, which is quieter and nicer. Easy walk to everything.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chicago3206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

First of all the location - very close to Plaza Catalunya, right on the Rambla Catalunya (with a vast range of restaurants), round the corner from Paseo de Gracia (shopping avenue). Just perfect if you are visiting the city or if you are, as I was, lucky enough to have business meetings in Barcelona center. The building is not the most attractive in the area (a bit too 80s and clashing with the beautiful modernist buildings in the Ramblas...) and the lobby is rather small in contrast with the hotel size (I would imagine this could cause issues when big groups are checking out...). The room though was of good size, well appointed, with all amenities you would expect from a 4* hotel. Only the TV could result a bit small but aside from that I had a very comfortable stay and I would go back to this hotel. I would recommend not to take breakfast though (or breakfast included rates) as in the Ramblas you can have excellent fairs for a third of the price you would pay at the hotels.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WilfDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kortenberg, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Double doors and windows makes sure you do not have any disturbance from being in the city centre.
The breakfast is beyond normal.
Everything else is just very good.
Did not find the pool though (but I did not pursue in my search as November is not really a swimming season).

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
NH Collection Barcelona Podium
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#14 of 512 in Barcelona
894 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Claris
Hotel Claris
#64 of 512 in Barcelona
1,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Eixample
Hotel Catalonia Passeig de Gracia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Collection Barcelona Gran Hotel Calderon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Barcelona Gran Hotel Calderon

Property: NH Collection Barcelona Gran Hotel Calderon
Address: Rambla Catalunya, 26, 08007 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly NH Calderon)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#55 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#62 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#110 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#133 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — NH Collection Barcelona Gran Hotel Calderon 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Barcelona's city center, the NH Collection Barcelona Gran Hotel Calderón hotel is surrounded by everything that makes the city so hot! Restaurants, shopping, culture and businesses are all right at our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Collection Barcelona Gran Hotel Calderon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Calderon Barcelona
Nh Calderon Hotel Barcelona
Nh Hotels Barcelona
NH Collection Barcelona Gran Hotel Calderon Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing